We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Views of Arenal Volcano!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campo Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Campo Verde
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Views of Arenal Volcano!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I loved the little houses and patio area. The grounds are very nice and the staff was friendly. It's not close to town but the staff had a relationship with a taxi driver who gave us a good deal on our trips. Not being close to town has more ups than down though so I wouldn't let that influence your choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    88
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
63
114
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Campo Verde is an adorable, rustic hotel close to La Fortuna in Costa Rica. It's close enough to town to be convenient, but far enough away to feel like you are really in natural Costa Rica. The breakfast is decent food, although no variety. Service is attentive, but not overly friendly. The fact that you have your own little hut and patio is great - I did yoga and exercised outside looking at the Volcano each day we were there. And having AC and such a large room and bathroom was definitely a treat after hiking and sightseeing all day in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We came from the Pacific side of Costa Rica and took a little road trip. We booked one night and stayed three. The cabin was beautiful, the view spectacular and they hooked us up with all the right people. It really is Eco-friendly and close to everything but out of the crazy resorts and traffic. The price is excellent, location is great. I loved this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones furthest from the road. Wifi doesn't necessarily work in cabins. Gorgeous vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Before we arrived, I was already in contact with Oneida and Maribel to help me with the tour reservations. They were both very efficient and helpful. When we got there, we were amazed with the view of the Arenal Volcano and the lush green surroundings. The room was very neat and clean. We were able to check in early as well. Breakfast everyday was very well prepared by Maricel and everything was fresh. Be aware that the hotel is 3 hours from SJO airport and shuttle service can get real expensive after hours unless you are renting a car. We really had a great time river rafting, zip lining , hiking the rain forest and hot springs which are close to the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 8 and had unobstructed view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved the tranquility there. The grounds were full of flowers, hummingbirds, tanagers, parrots flying overhead. Great breakfasts. Every suggestion about activities was delightful. There is no restaurant for lunch or evening, so you need a car. However, Que Rico delivers pizza. Rooms are comfortable with AC, safe, fridge, WiFi, cable TV. The rooms are rustic cabins and, if you leave the lights on at night, you will attract bugs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I definitely recommend Hotel Campo Verde if you are staying in La Fortuna! The views of the volcano were amazing, and the Hotel was in between the Hot Springs and the city center making it an excellent location. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel was equipped with a safe, fridge, A/C, Wifi, and a TV. Be aware that you might have a lizard or two sharing the room with you--at least they keep out the bugs!

Room Tip: Ask for a room the farthest away from the road--it gets you the best view of the volcano. Cabin 7 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

There are not enough words to do this lodge justice, it's perfectly idyllic and tranquil setting is just the beginning of a truly wonderful, heavenly holiday. Everything is fantastic, the rooms are spacious, tastefully done and include safe, fridge, safe, AC, comfy beds, TV, WiFi, lots of space to put your stuff,...the whole being halfway between a Swiss chalet and an English cottage, very picturesque. Sometimes places can get too fancy and everything looks like a garish mess, that's not the case here, the view in the early morning and later afternoon around sunset are spectacular, I loved sitting on the porch and looking at the volcano for hours as I was blessed with a clear weather almost all of the time. Also all the units are nicely separated from each other so you don’t feel like you’re on top of other guests. Breakfast is very good as well and the staff very welcoming and helpful (Lisbeth, I'm glad you loved the picture of the volcano!). The grounds are also very beautiful, very green and hilly (you could almost play golf on it!) with gorgeous plantings, butterflies, birds,...
The hotel is a little outside of town so you definitely need a rental car to get around, that's the price to pay for quietness!
Great place to stay and very reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area, if I ever come back to the Arenal National Parc I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.