We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unparalleled view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campo Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Campo Verde
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unparalleled view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I just got back from a week in CR and our first stop in the country was Arenal. I was very happy with all of our accommodations, but Camp Verde was my favorite! Our bungalow was spacious, clean and comfortable. It was made out of a beautiful wood and each place has a sweet little porch area you can comfortably watch the sun set from. Also all the units are nicely separated from each other so you don’t feel like you’re on top of other guests. Though if you have your pick, go for bungalow #11 as it is in front of all the rest so nothing blocks your view of the volcano.

Breakfasts were basic but good, and again, the view is spectacular.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

You are a few minutes outside of town, but if you have a car that's not a bad thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    88
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
63
115
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience. The room was very nice with beautiful wood ceilings. The staff were very helpful during our stay. We had an outstanding view of the volcano from our room. The thing that made the experience outstanding was the fact that they contacted me the day after we checked out to let me know I had forgotten my computer charger and they're mailing if to my next destination! You can't beat that! Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at Hoetl Campo Verde with 2 adults and 2 13 year old boys. Had a great experience - nice clean room with a beautiful view of the volcano. Staff was great at helping us with a airline luggage problem. Location was great - outside of the bustle of town but close enough to get at all the sights. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was delightful. Would definitely stay there again on any subsequent visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros:
- Excellent views of the volcano
- Great breakfast
- Staff tries to be helpful

Cons:
- AC in our room didn't work, the staff tried to fix it and got us an additional fan. It was still hot until the maintenance was done the next day. They couldn't switch our room since the hotel was oversold
- Ants in our room! If Day 1 didn't have a functioning AC, Day 2 had ants in our room! Imagine coming back to your hotel after a tiring day and seeing ants all over the floor! Again, the staff tried to get rid of them
- Wifi doesn't work too well

Overall.... Disappointed staying here after reading the stellar reviews.
We asked the owner for a partial refund based on the above and we received a $10/day compensation.... it was an all or nothing offer. I'm sorry, but $20 doesn't make up for a hot room or ants! Had La Fortuna not been completely sold out of other hotels, we would have moved out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you have a car and want to stay a little outside of town where it's quieter.... this is your place! Beautiful views of the volcano, very spacious rooms, comfortable beds, clean accommodations, and air conditioning... what more could you want? This place was perfect. We had booked all of our tours and really only needed a quiet and inexpensive place to stay and we found it here. The volcano views were great. Nothing more to say except that you won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed for 4 days in Hotel Campo Verde with my 17 year old son. As others have said, the location and the view are unparalleled. In fact, this was one of those cases where the photo from our room that we took to send back to mom was not nearly as good as the actual view. The room was clean and more than adequate. But I have to give 5 STARS and special thanks to the hotel staff, who went above and beyond. The night before our departure, we key twisted off in the room safe, leaving our passports and most of our money beyond reach. The outlook wasn't brilliant -- the town's locksmith wasn't available until AFTER our flight the next morning. So the hotel's handyman went to work for two hours that night. I thought to myself -- "No way!" But then he came back early the next morning and went to work. Again, I thought to myself -- "No way!" But after a couple hours he emitted a grunt of satisfaction and our valuables were liberated in time for us to have a leisurely breakfast and get to the airport on time. I was told by another Costa Rican that this is a Tico thing -- once a Tico gets started, you can't stop him. In any event, I think we had some responsibility for the affair. Although I would argue the key was a bit flimsy, there is no doubt we were too firm with it. I offered to help pay for the safe that was now in 100 twisted, pathetic pieces on the floor of our unit, but the hotel staff took full responsibility and was even genuinely apologetic for our mishap. With that kind of experience, I can't give Hotel Campo Verde anything less than 5 stars. Tip: the room safes can be operated with key or with combination -- use the combination instead of the key.

Room Tip: If you want a to-die-for view, you can't go wrong with Unit 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

With the most magnificent volcano views, spacious rooms, free wi-fi, breakfast included in the (very sensible) rate and super friendly staff, this place is worth staying at. Quiet, clean, comfortable, really, you can ask for nothing else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.