We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Campo Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Campo Verde
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most peaceful, gorgeous places i ever stayed. The service was great. The breakfast very good (gallo pinto). The wi-fi was a huge plus. I miss the place already. Only downside to campo verde is that our house #8 had a bit of issues with the toilet. Sometimes it took long before the water level reduced. But after all i would really go back one day, but then for more then a day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    85
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
62
111
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Easy reservations & check in. Large cabin with private porch with expansive view of the volcano. Quiet yet convenient location on the main road to park & zip line. Easy choices for breakfast & relaxing with other mellow guests. Easy access to Liberia if you want to buy own groceries to keep in mini fridge. Great place to spread out & decompress!

Room Tip: Stayed in cabin 1 & it was fine!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked a Queen suite through Hotelclub for 2 nights (fully paid) and specified that we would be late arriving. We arrived at this hotel at 7pm and the young lady at the reception told us that the manager had given our room away by mistake. She said not to worry because the manager had already booked us another room at a nearby hotel. We checked and found out that hotel ranks 50 out of 62 on Tripadvisor. We didn't like how they solved the problem by sending us to an inferior hotel. We insisted on getting a better hotel and asked to speak to the manager but the young lady said the manager isn't answering her cell. We tried to contact the Hotelclub 24 hour customer service then found out that there's no contact for Costa Rica. Finally after more than 30 minutes the young lady got a hold of the manager and she offered us another hotel (ranked better but $25 cheaper). After much back and forth we finally got the refund in order to pay the other hotel directly and the owner from the other hotel came to pick us up. We wasted more than an hour because of this hotel’s poor customer service. We only spent time in the reception area but we noticed the old and dingy condition.

Room Tip: Just about all hotels in Aernal Volcanoes offer the nice volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mold made us sick. Hard to sleep because of coughing. Overpriced. Noisy air condition. Breakfast was terrible; ham from a can mixed in egg and not fried properly. Burnt bread. We walked away hungry. I DO NOT recommend this place

Room Tip: Find something else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very relaxing three day stay in bungalow #8 which had a lovely view of the volcano and surrounding countryside. The room was spacious with two queen beds, nice bathroom, coffee maker, safe, fridge, and private porch with two rocking chairs. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
During our stay we hiked the trails of Arenal park (not difficult) and drove to the village of El Castillo (dirt road but very scenic) as well as to Nuevo Arenal (also very scenic).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice cabins in a wonderful location. You can see the volcano (well, this is a lotery in Costa Rica) while sitting in the porche. Simple, clean, friendly staff, great value. Close to many interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

At $80/night, these single detached cottages were both an excellent value, and a very comfortable place to stay. Nothing fancy, but clean, adequate shelving space for clothes, fridge, internet and an adequate breakfast every morning. Park near room. Also reasonably close to town. The staff does act like family - very friendly and accommodating. If you don't want a hotel type setup and enjoy cabin type rooms, you will like Hotel Campo Verde.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;