We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cabin Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Campo Verde to your Saves list
Hotel Campo Verde
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Cabin Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very clean, comfortable, fairly large cabins on a large, secluded property with amazing views of Arenal Volcano. Everyone on staff was accommodating and helpful, although not particularly knowledgeable on all the local activities. I was amazed at the delicious, wholesome, and filling breakfast options available (included in our price.)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    91
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
65
119
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I loved the bungalow setting and the grounds were beautiful! The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. When we were leaving the fog broke over Arenal and we got a great view of the volcano. The hotel is about a 10/15 minute drive into La Fortuna.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was a cute secluded hotel with potentially great views of the arenal volcano. It was rainy and cloudy the whole time we stayed so we didn't get to see it. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. Lots of flowers everywhere. The AC worked very well. Bed was comfy. Shower was hot. The young girl at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. She also made breakfast for us in the morning and it was delish. Would definitely return. There was a nice steakhouse across the street we wanted to check out, but we were only there for the night. Looked really good. The Baldi Hot Springs are a must but the buffet there can be skipped. Wasn't worth the extra $5 a person. The La Fortuna waterfall is awesome. Bring your swimsuit and stay a while. The hike back up can be rough if you are in a hurry.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 9. The view would have been perfect for the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location at a great price. I really loved that there was parking for each guest and the rooms had plenty of space. It's very simple but you aren't spending much time in the rooms anyway. Loved the breakfast every morning, and the very kind staff. The beds were a little hard but nothing terrible. This is a good stop for the more price-conscious traveler, especially if you plan to be out and about most of your stay around the Arenal region.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Cute, intimate place with free-standing cabins nestled right next to the volcano. Very quiet and simple yet thoughtfully laid out and comfortable. Location is great for visiting Tabacon and the Cataratas at Rio La Fortuna.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We loved it here. The location was perfect for us. The room was clean and roomy. The beds could have been more soft however it was one of the est beds we had during our time in Costa. I highly recommend it here. The staff was so friendly and the views were just amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We didn't want to stay at one of the bigger, touristy types of places while we visited Arenal. When we saw this place on-line we knew it was for us. We could sit on our patio and view the volcano which was smack dab in front of us. Although it's currently inactive, many folks don't know this, it's still an awesome sight. It changes so much during the day depending on the cloud cover, the way the sun hits it, whether it's raining or not. It's a very majestic sight and you can certainly view it clearly from Campo Verde. We were greeted with a smile and accommodated the whole time we were there. Our bathroom door was not working when we arrived but was taking care of promptly. There are 3 breakfast choices each day with pancakes on weekends. The grounds are beautiful with beautiful birds and flowers.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and found it large and comfortable. There was neighborhood cat who visited us an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Campo Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.