We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, hospitality, free international calling, and breakfast for the price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista del Cerro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vista del Cerro to your Saves list
Hotel Vista del Cerro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent room, hospitality, free international calling, and breakfast for the price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

This litle 10 room hotel is an excellent value if you are travelling on a tight budget. The rooms are spotless with hot water, air and TV. The only thing not in the room is a security box, but the staff will secure small items in their safe. The location is close to restaurants, groceries across the street and a short trip to town, Arenal, hot springs and the waterfall. Breakfast next door at the Soda was excellent and you had a choice of Costa Rican or an American style breakfast. Our two children wanted the bacon so we can recommend both as being excellent-included in the room price. We also used the free internet calling to contact our family in Canada which was a real bonus. The road noise when you are outside is noticable but if you are looking for a home base in the area and not expecting resort peacefullness this is the place to stay. It is a great little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    66
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
38
75
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

Yes well all the coments above are true,, I went with my wife and I was simply amazed because the rooms are cleaner then some of the 4 star Hotels I've been too,, It's a family buisness which makes it very warming to be there and the prices are great compared to other volcano hotels that have almost the same view.. Another thing that trigerred me was that the lady, the owner of the hotel sold me all the tours I wanted for a cheaper price then any other tour agency in the area or in San Jose.. I really think she just wanted to have us enjoy our stay and make less on all the great things there is to do instead of making a killing on tourists being that were TOURISTS and we really don't know the real prices.. The little restaurant infront of the hotel is also great,, cheap and good food great gallo pinto the traditional food of Costa Rica so if your ever thinking of going to the volcan arenal this hotel is great and has a great view .. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We are a family of five and travelled on a budget and had a fabulous time. We chose to stay in simple but CLEAN places and Vista del Cerro fit all our needs. I had been to Arenal in 1999 and things have certainly changed. This small family owned hotel made
it even better. My 8 year old grand-daughter spent the evening at the pool which is small but clean. The rooms have 2 full size mattresses and a nice shower in the bathroom.
The breakfast that is offered for a little extra was well worth it .Melania the owner helped us make reservations for horseback riding and hot springs. We drove only a couple of times into La Fortuna. A supermarket is across the street that is convenient for snacks and forgotten personal needs. A great pizzeria (Vagabundo) is also walking distance and the food was fantastic ( A yummy burger too). My family wanted to stay in one place and adventure out on a daily excursion and not move from place to place and Hotel Vista Del Cerro was a great base. Many of the guests picked Hotel Del Cerro based on comments read here on Trip Advisor including me. If you are travelling and want to spend your money on adventure and not on fancy accomadations this is a TRUE VALUE.
Melania my family said they really liked your home and you made us feel welcome and we plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

My wife and I and another couple stayed at this hotel just outside Fortuna. As previous reviews have stated this is an excellant hotel for the money. We paid $48/night which included tax and breakfast at the small restaurant next door. They only accept cash, by the way. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. They both had a/c, as I believe all the rooms do, which worked well. The hot water was ample for our needs. There is a small pool on site. The hot tub wasn't but we never asked whether it could be heated. The hotel is about 1.5 kilometers outside Fortuna on the road to Arenal. There is some road noise because the hotel is on the main road.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Had a great stay at the Hotel Vista del Cerro - highly recommended

We arrived from SJO around 9pm and were greeted by the entire family at reception. Over the course of our stay the staff was consistently excellent - helping us to book tours, calling taxis and in one case even giving us a ride to an ATM in downtown Fortuna.

The hotel was well-maintained and rooms were very clean. Rooms were fairly large with tv, a/c (loud and not very cold), small table and chairs and a small bathroom. The view of the volcano was excellent - although it was cloudy while we were there so we never saw the very top.

The soda (aka small restaurant) next door was a great option for breakfast - we ate there every day. Great way to start the day, and cheap. Also got some cheap beer there at night.

Location is great - kind of on the outskirts of Fortuna but not too far to walk. To be honest, there's not much to do in Fortuna so I was glad we weren't downtown. There is a supermarket across the street which was convenient for snacks/drinks. There was also a nice souvenir shop next door.

It is a basic hotel - few amenities, but if that's what you're looking for I can't imagine a better option. Free internet in the lobby was a plus too. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Melania is a wonderful host and we truly enjoyed staying at the Hotel Vista del Cerro!!! She was so helpful in booking us tours (and saving us money) and clearly cares about her guests.

The breakfast was SO GOOD. My favorite gallo pintos in all of Costa Rica. Melania gives you vouchers to use at the soda just next door, with great service and fantastic cooking. We also "splurged" on fruit smoothies (600 Colones or a little over $1 USD) every morning, my favorite was the papaya.

The decor is simple but very tasteful. The landscaping is beautiful. The rooms are very large and you can view the green side of Arenal from all rooms. The maid service is excellent. We also enjoyed the well maintained and attractive pool area (with the great view of the volcano) to relax between our excursions.

An EXCELLENT value for the money.

I hope we make it to Costa Rica again soon, and when we do, we will definitely be back at the Hotel Vista del Cerro!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

This was our first hotel stay in Costa Rica and in retrospect this small hotel was the best value for our money. The young staff was extremely helpful with ideas for tours. The Internet was free, as was long distance calling. Breakfast was included in the price - served right next door. Grocery store across the street made it possible to have a cold beer when sitting next to the pool. Simple rooms without a lot of extras - but who is inside when you are in Costa Rica! All room windows face the volcano. I had thought that we would walk into town for supper but the main road was busy and we chose to drive the 2-3 km. back into town. Our room was next to a little side road that had some traffic early in the morning, but it wasn't too bad. We spent 2 nights here are would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Address: 2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista del Cerro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.