We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but staff was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista del Cerro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vista del Cerro to your Saves list
Hotel Vista del Cerro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Whiting Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Basic but staff was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The place was clean. the a/c and cable worked. Water pressure was a little off and you need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner as well as a wash cloth if you use one. But all that said. Jenny was great. My friend lost her wallet with her id, money and atm card on our first day there. Jenny pursued this for us and we got everything back the next day including all the money. She saved our vacation.
The breakfast option next door was good too. There is a small pool and Jacuzzi also on the property. We liked the fact that we could walk to town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    66
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
38
75
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and I was very pleased with the cleanliness. Breakfast was delicious. Front desk was always helpful and spoke English.
Loud in the mornings because of the road but quiet during sleep hours. Pool was awesome! Overall, pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Quite by accident I came to Vista Del Cerro as the hotel I was suppose to stay at must have had had every marching band with amplified speakers surrounding it & I wanted quiet. What a wonderful place! It's family run & they were all so gracious, friendly & accomodating! I was so grateful to have discovered it. And because it was so nice I returned several times while in the area to the same treatment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean. Front desk was helpful in arranging tours. Internet worked great near the front. Breakfast was good. Was a long walk to town. Great view of Arenal. Refreshing pool. Only complaint is intermittent hot water.




  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and left feeling this was just an 'average' hotel. If you're looking for a clean place to sleep with hot water to shower, this hotel is an option, but may not be the best option for the price.

Location: About a mile or more away from La Fortuna town. Not a far distance if you have a car, but is a solid 20-25 minute walk.

Accommodations: Air conditioning and free wifi was the highlight for us. Other than that, the bed was OK and the room was average.

Owner/Manager: Jenny was nice but did not seem very knowlegdeable of the available tours in the area. Perhaps her limited English and our limited Spanish affected our communication channel, but we didn't feel she was a good resource for us to learn about the area and attractions available. She also did not go above and beyond to make us feel comfortable there.

Overall, average hotel, and we did not leave very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, family of 3. Friendly staff, clean rooms, hot shower. Breakfast incl at the restaurant next door, limited menu but very good and friendly. Pool and patio were enjoyed, although it was a little cool when we were there. Arenal cleared only a few times for a picture. A short drive to La Fortuna and hot spring attractions in the area. Great wood working studio down the street, lowest priced, good quality wood souvenirs - salad bowls etc. Very nice location, great value, quiet when we were there. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice location, very clean well-kept facility and grounds. The front desk personnel were very friendly and extremely helpful in providing assistance, information and recommendations. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Address: 2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista del Cerro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.