We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean hotel with great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista del Cerro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vista del Cerro to your Saves list
Hotel Vista del Cerro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely, clean hotel with great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Stayed three days and was very impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. The pool was a bonus and breakfast was very good also.
The hotel is located outside of la Fortuna which is great because it is quiet and has a very affordable good quality soda across the street.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    66
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
38
75
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St-sauveur, Québec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

A place to visit all around, we are in a good hand with Mélania.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We stayed 3 days at the hotel. The owner - Melania is an angel! She recoommended us some good trips (Cano Negor) and she drove us to a place we wanted to visit in La Fortuna with her husband! We couldn't believe that! She just came and offered it to us like that and than they drove us back as well! We were travelling with our 20 months old daughter and Melania had great attitude towards her! The room was comfortable, great swimming pool, beautiful view, great breakfast and no noise coming from the main street! Great quality place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

The hotel was clean, rooms basic but ok. However, it is about 10-15 minutes walk from the La Fortuna city center (we came with a bus) and it is next to the main road, so there was quite difficult to sleep.
The main things to see are quite away, so either you organize trips via local agencies or you have to rent a car (we used Adobe, who as the only one offered a one day rental. typically, the other companies asks for 2-3 days minimum).
The price was fair and included a good breakfast served in the soday right next to the hotel. The staff was helpful and we arranged tickets through them to travel to Monteverde.
I would next time use their offer for tickets to hot springs. They offered in including a dinner for a very good price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

lovely helpful staff! clean rooms with great view of the volcano. theres a great soda across the road that does delicious food and a supermarket to the left. 2km out of La Fortuna worried me a bit before we arrived but we made the best choice it was lovely

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

In general, my experience was similar to other reviewers; it's a great price with adequate rooms, GREAT staff, and a bit out of town. There are a couple of specifics I'd like to add...

The hotel is cash only, so make sure you bring some extra $. They are very good with arranging tours and giving info (without padding the pill). The rooms have a motel 6 feel to them. The rooms were immaculate. The shower was above-average for C.R. There were many tv stations (incl. U.S. shows) if that's important to you. Free phone calls to the U.S. too! They were very good with emails.

There's a hummingbird feeder and hummingbirds do occasion the hotel.

It's about a 20-minute walk (slightly downhill) into town. It's quick. A cab ride from town costs about 1200 colones (about 2.50 usd). A cab into town costs a little more.

I thought the free breakfast was very good.

The hotel can arrange for private transportation from sjo at a steep price ($120 usd), but it was cheaper than other private transports. If your plane lands mid-late afternoon, it's pretty much the only way to avoid spending a night in San Jose. The $ spent gives you an extra day at Fortuna.

I'm a light sleeper, but the road noise wasn't a problem except for the night where every motorcycle in C.R. passed by the hotel (it was Fiesta Saturday). The walls are thin and noisy neighbors can be a problem (ditto Fiesta Saturday). The only real noise problem was the damn rooster which crowed at all hours of the night (hopefully he'll be someone's dinner soon).

Btw, pretty much everyone has a view of Arenal in Fortuna...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I booked this Hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and it delivered as I was hoping. The location for the Hotel is great, not right in La Fortuna but not too far away and not too far from a lot of the attractions. You have a great view of the Volcano when it is not covered in cloud but unfortunately while we were there, there wasn't any lava flow! Having the breakfast included in the price makes it even better value and the breakfasts are good. It is situated on a main road which can be a bit noisy at night. There is a supermarket over the road for supplies and they have a lovely pool area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Address: 2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista del Cerro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.