We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My family stayed at the Arenal Manoa for 3 days the last week of July 2014. Since it was the rainy season, we only saw the volcano a couple of times- once at 5:50AM and once in the afternoon. We did not like the restaurant at the hotel although it was convenient. The staff spoke little English, and it was expensive for the food you received. The reception staff went out of their way to help us when we had 2 excursions planned at the same time. Marco at the front desk called both companies and straightened out the "snafu" while we went to grab some lunch. We had been a little early arriving, but he got our room ready for us to freshen up before we left for the excursion. The laundry service was expensive at $3.00 per shirt and $3.50 for shorts, but it was necessary to get the "ziplining dirt" out of my white shirt before it set in. The shirt came back looking new. The grounds are spread out, but the landscape is lush. Anyone can call for a ride to get around the property if desired. The wait is only a couple of minutes, and this really helps in the rain!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem private. We had a view of the volcano from our bed (when the volcano could be se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCedeno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure meet your travel expectations thansk for visit us ... Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    270
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
296
418
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed the Last June 2014, and I was really surprised about the Hotel.
The complex is surrounded by the nature and the view of the Volcano Arenal is incredible.
Hotel staff is very kind and they always find the best way to help when you need something.
Food at the Restaurant is really good and very tasting. The Hotel has its own Hot Springs, and these are great to enjoy during the night if you are busy during the day. Hotel is very large and you need to walk a little from your room to get to the restaurant, but hotel staff can take you there if its raining or if you ask them to take you there. The complex is really beautiful, very peaceful and the views are amazing. Rooms are super big and super clean. This is really nice to enjoy the nature.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large and beautiful. Ask for the ones with a good view of the Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The grounds of the Arenal Manoa are filled with lovingly maintained vegetation. If only the visitors, would receive even part of this care and attention. The staff generally seemed indifferent to my need for say water to drink or decent food. On my anniversary, we made a reservation at the restaurant, there were only two diners in the whole place. My husband's steak looked like a hamburger patty. My fish was not cooked as described on the menu. When I asked questions, the waiter did not know enough English to answer them. I got sick from the food. The breakfast buffet featured runny eggs and greasy sausage. The room didn't have an alarm clock, which made being timely for tours challenging. The drinks at the bar were full of artificial drink mix, which is strange considering how much delicious fruit is grown right there.
I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The view of the volcano is amazing from any terrace of the hotel. Rooms are set cabin type so there is a lot of space in between rooms, there is a nice terrace with huge windows facing the volcano so you can see it all day long if you want.
The rooms are basic but very spacious, super clean and sorrounded by beautiful and well cared gardens. There is a fridge that comes very handy for water bottles and sodas (get your water The restaurant was decent, a little overpriced to be in Costa Rica ( entrees 20- 25 dollars) but food is good. During dinner time when the restaurant is crowded may take a while to get served.
Staff is extremely nice, they are happy all the time and willing to help. It has different pools so it never gets really crowded when you are swimming, has hot tubs which are great and relaxing.
Town is 10 mins away with a taxi toll of 15 to 20 dls each way but is worth going out for dinner. There is a frog garden walking distance from the hotel and they offer night walks through the rainforest to see frogs, that was super cool, same ticket is good for morning walks as well.
We were a group of 10 and we all enjoyed our stay there. Please consider that July is rainy season and by that i mean you will be wet no matter what. Excursions dont stop, be sure you are prepared with boots, raincoat and set your expectations to have fun despite the rain.
Note that 10% gratuity is already included in every meal ticket.

Room Tip: Rooms 235, 234, 236 and 237 are the furthest away from front desk. They are very quiet and nobody o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Cons:
We stayed here for three nights in room 234 which is the farthest from the front desk. After really long excursions each day with hiking and waterfall repelling the last thing I wanted to do was walk through the pitch dark for 20 minutes uphill with vicious Mosquitos to my room! If you ask for a lift from the golf cart drivers that ride away they expect a tip so my suggestion is free shuttles to and from the room especially at night. Also the hotel restaurant was not good but they have a captive audience as the nearest town is about $15 each way and has way better food choices! Lastly the rooms were pretty basic with pretty hard beds but that is pretty common all over Costa Rica

Pros
Breakfast is included brunch and very very good! Loved the omelet a and pancakes and perfect before an all day excursion! The hot springs was great and again so good on hurting body parts after coming back in the evening! Also the front staff were very friendly and accommodating and spoke very good English. I felt they really cared about each customer!

Overall if you go ask for a room close to the front desk and try to eat dinner in the town or better yet go to tabacon for their dinner buffet and hot springs! Amazing!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wonderful hotel in which each room is a part of a two room bungalow. The rooms are large and comfy, but the pillows were too firm for our taste. The hotel grounds are immaculate. There is a hot pool, regular pool, hot tub, two poolside bars, and a huge restaurant where the buffet breakfast is served. From anywhere on the property, you get a fantastic view of the Arenal Volcano.

The buffet breakfast was good and plentiful, but the dinner meals were overpriced and pretty tasteless. The wait staff were not very attentive, friendly, or good at their jobs either. The unfortunate thing is that if you don't have a car, you are pretty well captive, as it is 10 km to La Fortuna (a $12 trip each way). If you do go into La Fortuna, you can get the same meals for much less that actually taste good. If you do eat dinner at the hotel, we recommend eating dinner poolside. The food is much better and more reasonably priced.

The rest of the staff at the Arenal Manoa were fantastic, and bent over backward to ensure that you had anything and everything you could possible need.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The rooms are separate bungalows with only one other room with the entrance on the other side. So you never see people near your door. I was with a Caravan tour and you really didn't see other people unless you wanted to. The hot pools are fantastic. The landscaping is beautiful. If you have a problem walking, they will drive you wherever you want to go on the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.