We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Arenal, and nice view of the Volcano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Merida, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Arenal, and nice view of the Volcano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed the Last June 2014, and I was really surprised about the Hotel.
The complex is surrounded by the nature and the view of the Volcano Arenal is incredible.
Hotel staff is very kind and they always find the best way to help when you need something.
Food at the Restaurant is really good and very tasting. The Hotel has its own Hot Springs, and these are great to enjoy during the night if you are busy during the day. Hotel is very large and you need to walk a little from your room to get to the restaurant, but hotel staff can take you there if its raining or if you ask them to take you there. The complex is really beautiful, very peaceful and the views are amazing. Rooms are super big and super clean. This is really nice to enjoy the nature.

Room Tip: Rooms are very large and beautiful. Ask for the ones with a good view of the Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    306
    63
    11
    7
See reviews for
329
470
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The grounds of the Arenal Manoa are filled with lovingly maintained vegetation. If only the visitors, would receive even part of this care and attention. The staff generally seemed indifferent to my need for say water to drink or decent food. On my anniversary, we made a reservation at the restaurant, there were only two diners in the whole place. My husband's steak looked like a hamburger patty. My fish was not cooked as described on the menu. When I asked questions, the waiter did not know enough English to answer them. I got sick from the food. The breakfast buffet featured runny eggs and greasy sausage. The room didn't have an alarm clock, which made being timely for tours challenging. The drinks at the bar were full of artificial drink mix, which is strange considering how much delicious fruit is grown right there.
I would never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The view of the volcano is amazing from any terrace of the hotel. Rooms are set cabin type so there is a lot of space in between rooms, there is a nice terrace with huge windows facing the volcano so you can see it all day long if you want.
The rooms are basic but very spacious, super clean and sorrounded by beautiful and well cared gardens. There is a fridge that comes very handy for water bottles and sodas (get your water The restaurant was decent, a little overpriced to be in Costa Rica ( entrees 20- 25 dollars) but food is good. During dinner time when the restaurant is crowded may take a while to get served.
Staff is extremely nice, they are happy all the time and willing to help. It has different pools so it never gets really crowded when you are swimming, has hot tubs which are great and relaxing.
Town is 10 mins away with a taxi toll of 15 to 20 dls each way but is worth going out for dinner. There is a frog garden walking distance from the hotel and they offer night walks through the rainforest to see frogs, that was super cool, same ticket is good for morning walks as well.
We were a group of 10 and we all enjoyed our stay there. Please consider that July is rainy season and by that i mean you will be wet no matter what. Excursions dont stop, be sure you are prepared with boots, raincoat and set your expectations to have fun despite the rain.
Note that 10% gratuity is already included in every meal ticket.

Room Tip: Rooms 235, 234, 236 and 237 are the furthest away from front desk. They are very quiet and nobody o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Cons:
We stayed here for three nights in room 234 which is the farthest from the front desk. After really long excursions each day with hiking and waterfall repelling the last thing I wanted to do was walk through the pitch dark for 20 minutes uphill with vicious Mosquitos to my room! If you ask for a lift from the golf cart drivers that ride away they expect a tip so my suggestion is free shuttles to and from the room especially at night. Also the hotel restaurant was not good but they have a captive audience as the nearest town is about $15 each way and has way better food choices! Lastly the rooms were pretty basic with pretty hard beds but that is pretty common all over Costa Rica

Pros
Breakfast is included brunch and very very good! Loved the omelet a and pancakes and perfect before an all day excursion! The hot springs was great and again so good on hurting body parts after coming back in the evening! Also the front staff were very friendly and accommodating and spoke very good English. I felt they really cared about each customer!

Overall if you go ask for a room close to the front desk and try to eat dinner in the town or better yet go to tabacon for their dinner buffet and hot springs! Amazing!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wonderful hotel in which each room is a part of a two room bungalow. The rooms are large and comfy, but the pillows were too firm for our taste. The hotel grounds are immaculate. There is a hot pool, regular pool, hot tub, two poolside bars, and a huge restaurant where the buffet breakfast is served. From anywhere on the property, you get a fantastic view of the Arenal Volcano.

The buffet breakfast was good and plentiful, but the dinner meals were overpriced and pretty tasteless. The wait staff were not very attentive, friendly, or good at their jobs either. The unfortunate thing is that if you don't have a car, you are pretty well captive, as it is 10 km to La Fortuna (a $12 trip each way). If you do go into La Fortuna, you can get the same meals for much less that actually taste good. If you do eat dinner at the hotel, we recommend eating dinner poolside. The food is much better and more reasonably priced.

The rest of the staff at the Arenal Manoa were fantastic, and bent over backward to ensure that you had anything and everything you could possible need.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattsburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The rooms are separate bungalows with only one other room with the entrance on the other side. So you never see people near your door. I was with a Caravan tour and you really didn't see other people unless you wanted to. The hot pools are fantastic. The landscaping is beautiful. If you have a problem walking, they will drive you wherever you want to go on the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a great stay here. ..very busy with horse riding, a hike and a trip to the hot springs. The system for making sure that guests have information on trips and get to where they need is very slick and professional.
The rooms are very comfortable with a massive bed and a comfy sofa. The bathroom was spotless and very recently decorated. Each suite is part of a block of three but the entrances are cleverly designed to ensure privacy. Once the clouds cleared we had a fantastic view of the volcano.
The site covers a wide area and there is a free transport service but we didn't use that so that we had a five minute walk to the reception.
The pool was beautifully warm and had handy changing rooms.
We ate breakfast and lunch at the hotel and the quality of the food was variable. Breakfast was good. I particularly recommend the freshly fried eggs...that egg lady is so skilled...not one break! The lunch was a bit microwaved. I had the chicken fajita and the peppers were really overcooked and it all tasted of soy sauce. The following day I had a waldorf salad that was completely drowned in mayonnaise. I didn't eat that at all. My husband had better luck. His vegetarian casada was really tasty and he had a grilled vegetable salad that was really good too.
I wonder if the evening meals would have been good? Tbh we were happy to go out after the lunch experience. It might be that this hotel knows that its customers are busy hiking and visiting local attractions, trips that include dinner. What the hotel does is give guests a really comfortable space to relax in after a long day.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.