We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it be better than this?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could it be better than this?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is the most beautifully laid out resort I have ever experienced. The rooms are set up as duplexes with large sliding glass doors facing the volcano, and what a view we had! Spectacular! Our room was large and very attractively decorated, the facilities included hot springs pools as well as regular pools, a beautiful dining room with a very helpful wait staff and good food, almost immediate service if you needed a ride somewhere on the facilities or wanted a taxi to go into town. Our only problem was water pressure when our neighbors (also our family) were showering. (That may have been influenced by the fact that we were there in the dry season.) It will be hard for any place to top Arenal Manoa.

Room Tip: Some of the duplexes had their view of the volcano blocked by the rooms across the road from them. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    306
    62
    11
    7
See reviews for
328
470
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hubbard, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

stayed here 3-21-2014 through 3-24-2014. Grounds of the place are very nice and well kept. We had 2 junior suites- rooms were adjoining but walls are thin so you can hear everything through the bathroom walls if you don't know who is next to you when you check in, you will by the time you leave. Rooms were clean and well kept. Front counter staff were helpful and spoke English well but they were the only ones. The rest of the staff spoke very little English-would have been helpful as we didn't speak Spanish. Thing that bugged us the most was they weren't very friendly at all, waiters in the hotel restaurant especially. Breakfast was included in the plan we had but wasn't very appetizing to the typical American family, was hard to even get a refill of coffee. Got food poisoning on next to last day of vacation and knew it had to be from the hotel restaurant as we only ate there for that day- think it was from the Caesar salad which had chicken and shrimp in it. .grounds were spread out so walking especially at night was close to impossible because of the lack of lighting on the grounds= they do offer rides in their vans but it's more waiting on them. Overall it is very pretty to look at, but once your in I think you will change your mind. Would not recommend this hotel. Views of the volcano were nice but didn't make up for everything else negative. Nice pool

Room Tip: choose a room without another one attached as walls are thin
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

As soon as we arrived, we turned to the window of our rooms and had a spectacular view of Arenal Volcano, just topped with wisps of clouds! We sat on the patio and soaked it in. Then we had dinner in the excellent open-air restaurant, surrounded by gardens and birds. Our rooms were large and clean and had garden bathrooms. The cleaning staff even left a creative bath towel animal on the bed each morning. The grounds are immaculate and full of tropical plants and animals. The pools are pristine. The staff willingly accommodates requests. The breakfast buffet is really special. And we used the location as a springboard for a zipline adventure, a boat trip down the Rio Frio, and an excursion into the town of La Fortuna, where we had a lovely dinner and a visit with the company who planned our entire Costa Rican adventure, Pura Vida Tours. There was much more to do--wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

What a surprise to find this beautiful, well-apportioned hotel and spa within sight of the Arenal Volcano. Well-maintained grounds with abundant foliage and beautiful flowers were apparent throughout the property. The rooms were very spacious with a large bathroom. Very clean. Wonderful food in the terrace type dining room with a view of Arenal Volcano.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charly Rhone France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

it is a very wonderful hotel . a paradis on the earth !! in the bed it is funny to see the volcan ! .I hope to return again in this hotel . Walk on the volcan and on the bridges in the trees is very exciting

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was a really wonderful hotel. Each room is actually a duplex cabin, and a large sliding glass doors gives spectacular views of Arenal Volcano. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and that attracts local birds of all kinds. (We saw toucans on our last morning.) The pool is very inviting, and afternoon happy hour at the pool is indeed welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel has beautiful views of the Arenal volcano throughout the grounds! Staff were friendly, suites were well kept, and the food options provided the chance to try local foods or stick to the US basics. The pool area and hot springs were wonderful, especially on sunny days with clear views of Arenal. If you want to venture out in the area, most destinations/activities are within a 10-20 minute drive. The grounds were spaced out enough to give you ample privacy. We would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.