We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Views and Nice Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super Views and Nice Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed near la Fortuna for 2 days to tour the Arenal volcano area, an experience that is central to enjoying the CR interior. Manoa is not the easiest to find but is a beautiful well kept property that was excellent in most every way. Incredible landscaping and setting, well kept rooms with huge glass sliding doors and even the bathrooms were notable. Food was very good, maybe not the very best on our trip but very close. Friendly staff too. You are a long walk from the road to exploring on foot,. but in 2 days we had no desire to leave other than for our tours.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano. What else would you want?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    306
    63
    11
    7
See reviews for
329
470
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I don't understand why Arenal Manoa is only ranked #19. If I went back I would stay there again!

We stayed in five hotels over the course of ten days in CR, and this was our favorite.

The grounds are expansive and beautiful. There is a shuttle service if you would prefer not to walk from your room to the main reception area. We stayed in room 241, which had a beautiful view of the volcano. The weather was absolutely perfect the first week of March 2014. Each room has its own private patio with beautiful landscaping and sort of a "duplex" feel that makes you feel like you aren't staying in a hotel.

You can see the stars at night and a variety of birds hang out on the grounds.

The breakfast was fine - if you are looking for an American breakfast, don't come to CR. Every morning there was Gallo Pinto, plantains, fresh fruit, toast, coffee, and an egg station, among other things.

We did eat at the pool for lunch both days we were there. The food was actually better than expected given reviews. Our bartender, Mario, even ordered something special for my boyfriend, who doesn't eat meat, as he had eaten the one seafood dish the day before. Mario was fantastic - great service, helped us practice our spanish, and told us where to go for dinner.

We ate at Don Ruffino (more of an eclectic restaurant) and at Soda Viquez (traditional food), which is the BEST and cheapest food we had in CR the whole time we were there. A cab into La Fortuna is only $12 each way, and the hotel will arrange the shuttle for you and charge it to your room, if desired.

Rooms were very clean, there is A/C in the room, and the bathrooms are nice and big. There are two pools at the hotel - a regular pool, and a hot springs pool. The regular pool was extremely clean and had a swim-up bar. They also had beer specials - 2 for 1 at the pool, and was the only hotel whose drink prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for the 200's level rooms - they are in the back of the property and I think, have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place exceeded our expectations. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The view of the volcano from our room was spectacular. We would recommend this place to all ages. The on site restaurant was outstanding. Our 13 year old twins enjoyed both the hot spring and regular pools and pool bars. The hotel uses a local man for shuttle service. The hotel made it very convenient to get to places. Overall this is a great place to stay. Loved every minute of it!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Amazing views of arenal volcano from every room with rocking chairs on each deck to enjoy. The hotel is kind of secluded and the food was frankly not good!! In fact, my girlfriend said it was disgusting but i wouldn't go that far. Clearly the food is not why you come here.

The staff is friendly as I've come to expect from Costaricans. The grounds are lovely too! The spa is not what you would expect from a "hotel and spa".....with mixed reviews (I loved mine, but my friend got bruises from hers!)

The pool sits in front of volcano and has a bar incorporated into it...who can complain??? BUT, when we asked for the jets in the pool to be turned on, gross black stuff started to float around us. Some might say it was sediment from the hot springs ...who knows...we didn't stay in it!!

Room Tip: all rooms have volcano views....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel offered a private bungalow with a beautiful view of the volcano, mostly shrouded in clouds, but still so enjoyable. We also enjoyed the colorful gardens and the different pools this hotel offered. The morning walks around the garden with the volcano in the background were perfect. The staff at the desk was kind, but not overly welcoming. The restaurant offered food for the masses which tasted accordingly, not a nice dining experience at all. The restaurant was packed with an aged crowd and service was stressed and impersonal. Tip: they should give the girl who makes the omelets for breakfast a place where she can see what she is doing. It would also be nice if she would great guests when they say good morning or buenas dias to her .

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I spent 3 nights at the hotel and I didn't wanted to leave at all, the staff, rooms, breakfast , pool and hotel area are amazing, you'll never get better a price/quality ratio on my opinion. The locations is quite good, it's close to the town and not that far from arenal volcano and other attractions.If you are looking to spend a good time and relax, making some time to visit the area, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are better ;) But if you can choose, pick one with the big window facing the vol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Arenal Manoa hotel for two nights in February 2014 and had a lovely time. The room was spacious and comfortable with a great view - it was wonderful to wake up facing the gorgeous Arenal volcano. Such a nice way to start the day! And I also enjoyed exploring the beautiful and well-kept grounds. Great hot spring with swim up bar and breakfast buffet too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.