We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, amazing location, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, amazing location, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Everything was just perfect. Staff was super helpful, facilities were clean, landscape was amazing. Full view of volcano from our room, from pool area and from restaurant. Pretty much everything was perfect.

There's just one thing I would change: food portions or prices of dishes. Dishes on pool menu are expensive. For 12 USD I got a pepito de res (beef sandwich) which was ridiculously tiny, though flavorful.

Hot springs are awesome and I thought they were perfect. Then I went to Tabacon and realized what I was missing!! So I guess you'll have to complement your stay here with a visit to Tabacon springs!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    270
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
296
418
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent trip! Rooms were cleanly, the view of the volcano was amazing, food excellent, the pool was to die for. The excurisons that we chose were excellent as well. Everyone was amazing. The only downfall was that they have a farm on sight that you can take a free tour of. Not worth it as there were only a few animals but the walk back is amazing but be prepared with proper walking shoes. I literally thought it was next door and wore sandals. Nope its like a 1.5 miles. Just remember the time difference upon arrival and plan accordingly. The town of La Fortuna does not offer much as it a small area so be sure to plan accordingly with your time and tours you may book. Thank you Costa Rican vacations for suggesting this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I booked a three night stay here for our honeymoon in December. We made the reservation 7 months ago and prepaid in full. We received two confirmation emails for our stay. When we arrived, however, we were made aware that the hotel was full and they had booked us into a different hotel and that they were unable to do anything else for us. Despite having intentionally chosen this hotel, received confirmations indicating that no further follow up was needed, and paying in full, we found ourselves staying in an entirely different, much larger hotel, for our visit. The Manoa made no attempt to contact us prior to our visit despite having our contact information, instead, giving us this surprising news as we arrived after a full day of travel. Although the hotel has many positive reviews, without a guarantee that you'll actually be able to stay here, I don't recommend taking the chance. We didn't expect it to happen to us, but it did, and it seems there was nothing we could have done to prevent it. The hotel's lack of regard and reliability was shocking and although we really enjoyed our vacation, I would never consider staying at a place that would do this to guests.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexcede, Gerente at Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
First at all, we would like to apologize with you because for a human mistake we were obligated to move you to other Hotel .
Taking in mind this inevitable situation, fortunately we find an alternative for you to enjoy your vacations in this beautiful area of Costa Rica and tried to compensate you for this last minute change.
The hotel that we offered to you is a four stars with very good service and also with variety of thermal pools. From our part we were trying to do our best in order to offer you a memorable vacations.
Please accept our apologies and thank you very much for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Waking up and looking out a huge window at an enormous volcano is breathtaking. The room was large and the bathroom was amazing (though we'll let you in on a fact that surprised us - many toilets in Costa Rica (including those here) cannot handle toilet paper - there is a trash can by the toilet for such purposes. Quite an adjustment. The food was just okay and the service really was not very good. The pools are beautiful (one regular one, complete with a pool bar, and one fed by a hot spring), and the grounds are lush and well-kept. The rooms (cabins, I suppose you would call them) are spread out, so it can be a walk to get around (though they will pick you up on a cart and take you wherever you want).

Room Tip: We stayed in the 100's for our room and that was reasonably close to the pools and the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

UNFORTUNATELY, we only stayed here for two nights!!! This hotel was amazing and so beautiful. We went over Christmas/New Years break, so I think that's at the beginning of the rainy season? It was very warm, and sunny for most of the day, and then both days we stayed it rained in the afternoon and even at night (but not on New Years Eve - so we had a view of many different towns' fireworks displays!!). They have their own hot springs at this hotel, but we didn't see them and we also didn't make it to the pool :( We really didn't have nearly enough time at this hotel. It's off the beaten path, which makes it very quiet during the day and at night. Each house/unit is designed so there's a HUGE tinted window (ours had a view of the volcano) and you can't see into other people's unit from the street or even the path to the unit because of all of the lush plants that were outside! Really beautiful landscaping. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with extremely friendly people at the front serving us some yummy tropical juice! They told us the kitchen was closing since we arrived late, but they would call them to stay open for us. The staff there loaded our bags onto a shuttle bus, shuttled us to our room, put our bags inside, and then shuttled us to the restaurant! There is a shuttle at this hotel because the grounds are vast. We walked from our unit to the front desk though, and it only took about 5 mins.. and the walk was gorgeous! I really can't recommend this hotel enough and we will definitely be returning someday!

Room Tip: The 200's all have views of the volcano but the 100's don't. I could totally be wrong a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Arenal Manoa for four days and had a wonderful time. The landscaping and atmosphere (many cabins yet felt remote and quiet) among the rolling hills amidst a rain forest area was terrific for the price. Everything was within a short walking distance (spa, pools, dining) so it was large enough to get away but small enough to get around. The views were terrific and each cabin had such great (and beautiful) landscaping around it you felt you had the privacy you would want. The staff was very pleasant and they delivered on the price promised. I loved the bathroom and shower area in our cabin as well. We would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

all in all, very gracious hosts. The staff was always responsive and sensitive to any request

We stayed in rooms 226-227. The view of the volcano from our bed was breath taking. It was a short walk to the pool and to the breakfast area. A great location.

Clean room (for being near a rain forests). Yes, there was the periodic harmless little crawling insect, but you are in a rain forest, so, that is to be expected.

The breakfast buffet is fine. Made to order omlets, plantains, fruit, cerial, bacon, bean & rice, juices and great coffee.

The pools are refreshing. The pool fed by the hot spring is a wonderful way to end the day (and it has a happy hour from 8 to 9 PM to boot)!

Never ate at the hotel. Seemed a bit pricey. Besides, my family of 5 likes to eat at local watering holes to really get a "flavor" for local food, drink and to support the local businesses. So, we went to a lot of Sodas (the Costa Rican version of a cafe or small dinner). Always had a good meal. Even the picky eater in my family always said her meal was delicious.es. Also, the meals are generally cheaper in Sodas.

Room Tip: 200 series rooms seem to have a good view, close to the restraunt for breakfast and to the pool.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.