We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Experience at the Foot of the Volcano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Family Experience at the Foot of the Volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently spent three nights at the Arenal Manoa Hotel in Costa Rica. We took our family of ten--six adults, two pre-teen granddaughters and four- and two-years-old grandsons to this beautiful hotel. The hotel sits at the foot of the Arenal Volcano and the views are spectacular throughout the large expanse of the resort.. The hotel consists of several beautiful villas off of winding brick roads. Our villa was well-appointed, immaculate, and comfortable. The hotel staff was exceptional from the moment we checked in to the moment we left. They worked hard to meet our needs. They were friendly and very efficient. The restaurant staff was also great and the food was as well. We especially enjoyed the pools, one of which was filled with cool water and the other with hot spring water from the volcano. Our pool bartender was especially helpful in learning about the local area. The hotel staff helped us in signing up for a variety of excursions in the area including zip-lining and motoring on ATVs. My daughters and I also enjoyed a free 15-minute facial, which was more than we expected. If we weren't leaving the next day we would have signed up for more spa services. When it came time to leave, none of us wanted to go. We cannot wait to return to this hotel resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view of the volcano from the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    253
    52
    9
    5
See reviews for
276
386
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very pretty property with nice sized comfortable rooms and huge bathrooms. The staff are all super nice and there if you need. You can feel very isolated walking the grounds which is nice and then can gather at the swim up bar hot spring pool and enjoy happy hour cocktails with the other guests
They helped us pan and book all our excursions
Food is very good but more fancy options than simple and priced accordingly- not cheap
Overall a wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Costa Rica's MonteVerde area is full of surprises. Sounds you've never heard, animals you've never seen, and food you've never tasted. The staff is super-friendly and will go out of their way to take care of you. Eduardo Castro was our 'Night Walk' nature guide and he was fabulous. We saw so much more with him as our guide than we would have seen on our own! Eduardo really knows his stuff and brought the forest to life for our kids. Transportation on-site is fast and very helpful too. Two thumbs up!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived here after dark, a snafu at the car rental agency put us behind schedule. The drive was in the fog on Costa Rican roads. What a relief that our GPS brought us right to the hotel. Welcome drinks at check-in. We grabbed appetizers at the restaurant for a late dinner. They were fantastic! We were in room 139, the view of the volcano was great, except for the block of rooms in front of us I'm sure they have rooms on the edge of the resort that have a fantastic view of the volcano, but I'm not sure which ones they are. We had strong wifi, a tv and a mini fridge in our room. The skylight and plants in the bathroom made it feel extra tropical. The walk to the breakfast (included) was close and there was wildlife and nature everywhere. The grounds are stunning. The breakfast was good and you could have eggs made to order, but the buffet was fine with me. The great pool (and pool bar) have a fantastic view of the volcano as well. You can order food and drinks at the pool bar. We didn't take advantage of the hot springs at the resort, but that's a good reason for a return trip.

Room Tip: See if you can have a room on the edge of the resort facing the volcano. That way the roof of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the type of the hotel that I will always compliment. Nothing, absolutely nothing to complain of. This is a paradise garden in the area of La Fortuna. The staff is always very helpful, the rooms are very clean and provide everything you need. My wife tried the spa and she was very pleased. Breakfast is included with your stay and is one of the best I tried in Costa Rica. The property has two pools - one with cold and one with hot mineral water. The owners are local family and their care of the property is admirable. This is the perfect place for families with children, couples, groups, you name it. One of the best things is the value you get for your money. The hotel is very affordable. No, I am not one of the staff members trying to write awesome review :) I've been twice to Costa Rica and both times I stayed in this hotel. I can not imagine going on vacation there and not staying at Arenal Manoa. All rooms have view of the volcano and they are the same. Good internet connection, good TV's, very nice bathrooms with garden in them (you need to see that). Also it's close to dining in La Fortuna, to shopping and all activities Arenal has to offer. Really, if I say anything negative about this place I will be a liar.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with the same view of the volcano. Only difference will be if you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Guide's rooms could be improved, for large crowds, breakfast is slow, they should reinforce the omelette station during this time, people waited on line more than 15 minutes
The grounds are spectacular!!!
Great birding!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Best resort ever! Rooms are clean, private, little cabin-types, with large sliding glass doors, rocking chairs on patio, and great views of the Arenal volcano. Bathrooms are the most beautiful i have been in..bright, tropical...large...makes you feel like you are outside...Food is great at the restaurant with beautiful views. Staff is so nice. I would recommend this hotel 1000%!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with room number around 135. This will put you in the center of the resort. Otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.