We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places to stay in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to stay in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the type of the hotel that I will always compliment. Nothing, absolutely nothing to complain of. This is a paradise garden in the area of La Fortuna. The staff is always very helpful, the rooms are very clean and provide everything you need. My wife tried the spa and she was very pleased. Breakfast is included with your stay and is one of the best I tried in Costa Rica. The property has two pools - one with cold and one with hot mineral water. The owners are local family and their care of the property is admirable. This is the perfect place for families with children, couples, groups, you name it. One of the best things is the value you get for your money. The hotel is very affordable. No, I am not one of the staff members trying to write awesome review :) I've been twice to Costa Rica and both times I stayed in this hotel. I can not imagine going on vacation there and not staying at Arenal Manoa. All rooms have view of the volcano and they are the same. Good internet connection, good TV's, very nice bathrooms with garden in them (you need to see that). Also it's close to dining in La Fortuna, to shopping and all activities Arenal has to offer. Really, if I say anything negative about this place I will be a liar.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with the same view of the volcano. Only difference will be if you want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    264
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
405
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Guide's rooms could be improved, for large crowds, breakfast is slow, they should reinforce the omelette station during this time, people waited on line more than 15 minutes
The grounds are spectacular!!!
Great birding!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Best resort ever! Rooms are clean, private, little cabin-types, with large sliding glass doors, rocking chairs on patio, and great views of the Arenal volcano. Bathrooms are the most beautiful i have been in..bright, tropical...large...makes you feel like you are outside...Food is great at the restaurant with beautiful views. Staff is so nice. I would recommend this hotel 1000%!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one with room number around 135. This will put you in the center of the resort. Otherwise yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wesley hills, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

beautiful rooms with beautiful views, friendly staff, well kept and secure property. I couldn't ask for anything more. highly recommend! from check in to check out, everything went smoothly and the staff was super friendly and accommodating. food was great, great location, and the best part was the amazing views. perfect in every way

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Manoa (before continuing on to Manuel Antonio) and both my wife and I were thoroughly impressed. Pictures do no justice to the rooms or the environment. Our junior suite was clean and tidy and had an incredible view of the volcano. The bed was very comfortable. The best part... the people. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We loved both he "cold" pool and the hot spring fed pool (swim-up bar at both). The grounds are so lush and green, it was nice just to walk around the hotel grounds. I would highly recommend for couple or families. A great place to combine both an adventure and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent 3 night here. We had two rooms with 4 people so we actually were in our own building. Had amazing views of the volcano and it really feels like your in the middle of the wildlife. I had the Chilean Sea bass and Chilean wine at the resturant which were amazing. The grounds were really nice and included a hot and cold pool with hot tubs. The one down side is that there is no nightlife whatsoever. Also, kind of buggy but it is Costa Rica. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The views from our room were absolutely amazing!! We stayed in room 205 and were here for 4 days of our honeymoon. The staff was incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about the area in general and were able to recommend great tours! The pools were both very clean and had swim up bars with great service. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were always clean gave the luxury of feeling like you were sleeping in the great outdoors with air conditioning. Whenever you get a clear view of the volcano be sure to take a picture because it doesn't always stay that way! The food was great and the breakfast buffet was always full, fresh and tasty! All in all, I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and would stay again. You really get to enjoy the luxury of the small, quiet hotel feeling versus the larger, commercialized resorts.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 200s seem to have a more clear view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.