We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been happier!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Circle Pines, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been happier!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Gorgeous hotel! Friendly staff, impeccably kept grounds, very good food! Far enough back from the road hardly ever heard traffic. Loved the views of the volcano! Wish it was still spewing lava :-( Relatively close to town and lots of other attractions.

Room Tip: the cabanas in the back are the farthest from the road noise they where also in walking distance fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    336
    67
    15
    7
See reviews for
367
515
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel at the beginning of May and it definitely exceeded our expectations. When we first arrived in our room we realized that we had an amazing view of the volcano from the giant window in our room. We could have spent countless hours staring out of our window because the view was that great. The hotel also has a regular pool and hot springs pool, which was more than enough for us. We decided not to venture and pay to go to the other hot springs in the area, so I don't know how it would compare to the others. The breakfast was included and excellent, but I can't speak to how the other meals are since we drove into town every day to try other restaurants. All in all, the staff was excellent and very helpful in planning our excursions. The price was better than other hotels that we researched, and I can't say that I really have anything negative to say about this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a volcano view, it is breathtaking. However, the view is sometimes obstruct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We got such a great deal on our room that I figured that it couldn't be as nice as the photos looked--but it was!

Our room was spacious, clean, private, and updated. Every room has a great view of the volcano. It was so nice to sit on the patio and listen to the birds and look at the view.

The included breakfast was expansive and really tasty, with an omelette station in addition to the hot buffet. Couldn't ask for more!

The grounds are very well maintained and nicely landscaped, and the staff was very friendly. All around, it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms were pretty private, but room 210 at the back of the property seems especially set awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel at the end of April and it was simply beautiful! First of all, I will say this is not an ordinary hotel it is a heavenly retreat! The rooms are spaciously positioned apart from each other so you hardly ever see your neighbors unless you've decided to take a stroll around the property which is a must! It's just you, nature, a few howler monkeys :) and the beauty of Arenal! Every morning we woke up to the amazing views of Volcano Arenal from our patio, the sounds of nature, and two mornings in the the distance we were greeted by a few howler monkeys up in the trees. The grounds of the hotel were kept so clean and very well landscaped! I had read some "so-so" reviews of restuarant here but we thouroughly enjoyed every breakfast (which was included). We had a wide variety of fresh fruits, freshly made omelettes, pastries, gallo pinto, yogurt, etc every morning during our stay. The distance from the town of La Fortuna was a little far to walk but we just took a taxi into town whenever we wanted explore. The front desk as well as the wait staff in the restaurant were extrememly friendly throughout our stay. They even treated us to some wonderful chocolate dipped fruit for our anniversary which was delicious and much appreciated!! :) We would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Arenal Manoa for 2 nights as part of a Caravan tour. This is a spectacular property, located almost at the foot of the Arenal Volcano. Every room has an amazing view of the mountain, and the lush greenery that surrounds it. The facilities are great, with beautiful pools, featuring swim up bars(!). Food is excellent, and the restaurant also has great views of the mountain and property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is great, is very beautiful. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The food is good, We eat at the pool bars. The Bartenders Eddy and Mario are nice people and very friendly. The room is good, don't leave the door open is you don't want bugs in your room. We book the tours from the hotel and we have a great time. Try the Rio Celeste tour is Amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved the Arenal Manoa with its wonderful view of Arenal Volcano. Our room, 214, was large and comfortable and had a perfect view of the mountain from our secluded patio. Dozens of different birds flitted among the numerous plants just off our patio. They had two pools; one pool was geothermal heated and one was “cool”. Both were delightful. The food was very good although somewhat pricey and, surprise, their pizza was amazing! We considered taking a taxi into La Fortuna due to the high prices at the restaurant but the high cost of a taxi rendered that meaningless. Nonetheless, we will gladly stay here again if we return to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,593 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,464 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.