We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, affordable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great, affordable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel at the beginning of May and it definitely exceeded our expectations. When we first arrived in our room we realized that we had an amazing view of the volcano from the giant window in our room. We could have spent countless hours staring out of our window because the view was that great. The hotel also has a regular pool and hot springs pool, which was more than enough for us. We decided not to venture and pay to go to the other hot springs in the area, so I don't know how it would compare to the others. The breakfast was included and excellent, but I can't speak to how the other meals are since we drove into town every day to try other restaurants. All in all, the staff was excellent and very helpful in planning our excursions. The price was better than other hotels that we researched, and I can't say that I really have anything negative to say about this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a volcano view, it is breathtaking. However, the view is sometimes obstruct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    228
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
258
361
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We got such a great deal on our room that I figured that it couldn't be as nice as the photos looked--but it was!

Our room was spacious, clean, private, and updated. Every room has a great view of the volcano. It was so nice to sit on the patio and listen to the birds and look at the view.

The included breakfast was expansive and really tasty, with an omelette station in addition to the hot buffet. Couldn't ask for more!

The grounds are very well maintained and nicely landscaped, and the staff was very friendly. All around, it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms were pretty private, but room 210 at the back of the property seems especially set awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel at the end of April and it was simply beautiful! First of all, I will say this is not an ordinary hotel it is a heavenly retreat! The rooms are spaciously positioned apart from each other so you hardly ever see your neighbors unless you've decided to take a stroll around the property which is a must! It's just you, nature, a few howler monkeys :) and the beauty of Arenal! Every morning we woke up to the amazing views of Volcano Arenal from our patio, the sounds of nature, and two mornings in the the distance we were greeted by a few howler monkeys up in the trees. The grounds of the hotel were kept so clean and very well landscaped! I had read some "so-so" reviews of restuarant here but we thouroughly enjoyed every breakfast (which was included). We had a wide variety of fresh fruits, freshly made omelettes, pastries, gallo pinto, yogurt, etc every morning during our stay. The distance from the town of La Fortuna was a little far to walk but we just took a taxi into town whenever we wanted explore. The front desk as well as the wait staff in the restaurant were extrememly friendly throughout our stay. They even treated us to some wonderful chocolate dipped fruit for our anniversary which was delicious and much appreciated!! :) We would definitely return here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Arenal Manoa for 2 nights as part of a Caravan tour. This is a spectacular property, located almost at the foot of the Arenal Volcano. Every room has an amazing view of the mountain, and the lush greenery that surrounds it. The facilities are great, with beautiful pools, featuring swim up bars(!). Food is excellent, and the restaurant also has great views of the mountain and property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is great, is very beautiful. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The food is good, We eat at the pool bars. The Bartenders Eddy and Mario are nice people and very friendly. The room is good, don't leave the door open is you don't want bugs in your room. We book the tours from the hotel and we have a great time. Try the Rio Celeste tour is Amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved the Arenal Manoa with its wonderful view of Arenal Volcano. Our room, 214, was large and comfortable and had a perfect view of the mountain from our secluded patio. Dozens of different birds flitted among the numerous plants just off our patio. They had two pools; one pool was geothermal heated and one was “cool”. Both were delightful. The food was very good although somewhat pricey and, surprise, their pizza was amazing! We considered taking a taxi into La Fortuna due to the high prices at the restaurant but the high cost of a taxi rendered that meaningless. Nonetheless, we will gladly stay here again if we return to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rooms were well laid out, huge and clean. There was air conditioning and TV as well as a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker.

I loved that my room was close to the restaurant, pool and lobby. My other friends had quite a hike up to their rooms (I had 237). The bathroom was very open and muggy as the AC did not work its way in there but that was okay as you had one wall full of sliding glass doors (facing the volcano) AND a patio with 2 rocking chairs where you could sit and enjoy the fresh air and views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the restaurant/pool so you do not have such a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.