We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
PR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is great, is very beautiful. The staff are excellent and very helpful. The food is good, We eat at the pool bars. The Bartenders Eddy and Mario are nice people and very friendly. The room is good, don't leave the door open is you don't want bugs in your room. We book the tours from the hotel and we have a great time. Try the Rio Celeste tour is Amazing!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    337
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
368
518
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved the Arenal Manoa with its wonderful view of Arenal Volcano. Our room, 214, was large and comfortable and had a perfect view of the mountain from our secluded patio. Dozens of different birds flitted among the numerous plants just off our patio. They had two pools; one pool was geothermal heated and one was “cool”. Both were delightful. The food was very good although somewhat pricey and, surprise, their pizza was amazing! We considered taking a taxi into La Fortuna due to the high prices at the restaurant but the high cost of a taxi rendered that meaningless. Nonetheless, we will gladly stay here again if we return to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rooms were well laid out, huge and clean. There was air conditioning and TV as well as a mini fridge and tea/coffee maker.

I loved that my room was close to the restaurant, pool and lobby. My other friends had quite a hike up to their rooms (I had 237). The bathroom was very open and muggy as the AC did not work its way in there but that was okay as you had one wall full of sliding glass doors (facing the volcano) AND a patio with 2 rocking chairs where you could sit and enjoy the fresh air and views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the restaurant/pool so you do not have such a hike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

OMG Volcano Views from basically everywhere on the property. There is a "hot springs" pool that is lovely -- no need to pay to go to Tabacon. The view from our villa -- 218 -- was so spectacular it was hard to leave the room to go exploring. Grounds are immaculate -- flowers and birds everywhere. Feels like Eden with stunniing views of Arenal -- the volcano recedes in photos -- its actually much more impressive in person. Booked directly through hotel via email and got a great rate for 4 -- $130 a night. Bathrooms are large and clean, but not luxurious. Rent a car and explore! The Lost Iguana Gift Shop is a must -- its near the end of the road out past the dam for Lake Arenal. They carry beautiful crafts from all over Costa Rica that you actually want to buy and we almost took a detour back through Arenal on the way back to San Jose to pick up a few things we thought we'd find elsewhere but didn't. We rode Alberto's Horses to the la Fortuna waterfall and loved it! THE most gentle, well cared for and sure footed trail horses I've ever encountered. Pure Trek Canyon Tours for waterfall rappelling is right around the corner from the hotel and its worth every penny! If I could do it anyone can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and before that we stayed at Tabacon for two nights. I wish we had stayed at Arenal Manoa the whole time! I absolutely loved this place. There are small buildings on the hillside that have only two rooms side by side in them, so they are very private and quiet. Each room has picture window sliding glass door going to a private patio with an amazing view of the volcano. We were lucky and had pretty clear skies for our stay. I could have sat on the patio with a delicious cup of coffee (can make it in your room) and watched the clouds pass over the volcano all day. We also saw monkeys, lizards, and birds outside our room. Hummingbirds visited the flowered bushes around our patio. The rooms were very large, beds were comfortable, and bathroom was really nice. The grounds are large and very pretty. There is a shuttle that comes right away when you call the desk to pick you up if you like, or you can walk to the lobby or restaurant if you want, which we did most of the time. It is nice to walk around and look at the little pond, waterfall, various trees, etc. They have an operating farm on the property too which you take a free tour of. We saw a couple Oropendolas on the walk to the farm. They also have a spa on location if you are so inclined. They have a thermal pool and a regular pool - both have bars, food, and views of the volcano with the regular one being the best view. We ate breakfast (included), one lunch, and one dinner at the hotel during our stay. The breakfast buffet is great with the typical food and an omelet bar. Lunch was good and not as expensive as some hotels, but still more than you will pay in town. Dinner was also good. I think you can get better meals in town, but if you don't feel like going out, it is not a bad choice. They will arrange tours for you at the front desk. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is only about 10 minutes driving from downtown. If I am ever back in La Fortuna, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 204 is amazing. It sits right above the spa and pond, so there is no room or road in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Hotel was very nice. Having only two rooms to a building made it more enjoyable. The view of the volcano from the porch of our room was fabulous! All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel to other travelers,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Lots of nice things about this hotel, some not so nice. First, if it's a clear day, you'll get a great view of the volcano -- see the picture, which was taken from our hotel room. Each room is in a 2-room bungalow, so there are few neighbors to make noise -- but the walls between the two rooms are paper thin. The bungalow layout means that the hotel grounds are very spread out. If you are near the restaurant and the traditional pool, you have a 10 minute walk to reception and the thermal springs pool. However, there is a free shuttle service. They recently replaced their beds, but the new beds are way too hard to be comfortable. Warning -- the air conditioning is on a remote control, so don't look for a wall switch. The restaurant is pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#3 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.