We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Pelham, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Manoa for 5 nights and I couldn't be more happy. The service and rooms were great and the views were amazing. We booked several different excursions through the hotel and they all went off without a hitch. Everything was so organized. Getting a cab to go into town was easy and safe. I have been to a few different places and Costa Rica is the only place I have felt safe enough to leave the resort. The cuisine was delicious everywhere we went including the hotel food. We ate in the hotel once but ended up venturing out the other days we were here. I can't say enough good things about this place. I will most definitely come back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in 240 had an awesome view, but looks like most rooms had just as good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    302
    59
    11
    7
See reviews for
325
463
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our two-night stay at the Arenal Manoa was a delight. The property consists of charming two-unit units spread over lovely grounds. The rooms are spotless and seem to all have a great view of the volcano if the weather cooperates. The flowers, greenery and birds, as well as the spacing between the units, make for a lovely, peaceful atmosphere. This is not a loud, lovely resort but a peaceful place to relax after a day of hiking or exploring. There is a small traditional pool with a great bar and attentive bartender, as well as a hot pool fed by volcano-heated water. The breakfast is buffet-style with wonderful fresh fruit. Try the cheese; it is made at the "finca" or farm that is also owned by the family that runs the hotel. We found the service excellent... many thanks to Jorge and Natalia!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed 3 nights during Easter Week in Room 210. The room was nice and big, and we had outstanding views of the volcano, which we luckily saw every single day. Maybe due to the holiday, there were many families at the resort when we were there. The rooms are “duplex” style – 2 rooms per building. We are a family of 4, and had I known this, I might have spent the extra money to book two rooms. It would have been nice to have both sides of the “duplex”. Unfortunately, the walls between the 2 rooms are paper thin, and the family on the other side had a young child who screamed and cried every night. That was very unfortunate.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. We enjoyed sitting on our terrace and seeing tons of birds and other wildlife. We even saw toucans in the trees one evening. Every evening, the white egrets fly in to roost in one of the trees by the pond – a lovely sight!

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast buffet had lots of options.

The hotel is a bit far from town. We had a car, so this wasn’t a problem for us, but is something people should consider when planning their stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The property is spread out over a large area with accommodations in two unit houses. Ours consisted of large bedroom and large bath with smaller outdoor porch with view of the volcano. We thought that the staff went out of their way to make things easy, whether getting in and back from town, using the facilities or just lounging at the swim up bar. I nice place to come back to after a day hiking, rafting, etc. Nice, friendly people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here at the end of February for 3 days. Grounds were gorgeous but we are young (26) and most of the other guests staying were quite older. There was rarely anyone at the pool, or anywhere else on the premises, which some might consider nice and relaxing but it was almost too quiet. We like when there are people to socialize with on vacation. We had one tour package while we were the, the lost canyoning with desafio tours, and it was so much fun. We made friends with two other couples who were on our tour and and were able to meet up with them later that night in town. It seem that most of the people who stayed at the resort go on tours every day and I guess that is why the resort is so desolate. The resort has its own farm which you can take a tour of which my fiancee was resistant to going on but in the end he had a good time. You can see a bunch of animals and the guide is really knowledgeable and so friendly. The rooms were spacious, clean and well kept. The porch was nice to sit out on and the breakfast was good. All in all this was a nice place to stay but if you are looking for a lively place with people to interact with this is not it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very nice and helpful staff. Nice restaurant. Large room, large bathroom, coffee and mini-fridge.
It was raining while were there, so we did not see the top of the volcano, but our room had a gorgeous view of the bottom and the clouds. It is near the hanging bridges which is worth doing and Ecoglide ziplines.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic place. Beautiful lush tropical grounds, large rooms, AC,patio with view of Volcano. Great swim up bar with 2 for 1 tropical drinks. Open air restaurant served delicious food. Staff very friendly, made up room beautifully with fresh flowers daily. Need taxi to get to town $12.

Room Tip: If you are in the # 100 rooms,closer to volcano and reception, the# 200 rooms closer to pool dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.