We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning gardens, but poor service and food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning gardens, but poor service and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Receptionists welcoming and friendly, particularly Juan. Magnificent gardens with view of cloud covered volcano. Spotted many species of birds, even though it rained half the time that we were there. Lovely hot pool and jacuzzi.
Poor service and food in restaurant and bar. Watch out for 'happy hour' as wine isn't included and you both have to order the same drinks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    253
    52
    9
    5
See reviews for
276
386
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are nice and well appointed. Our room faced the volcano with a lush tropical landscape!! The property is so quiet and relaxing. Loved the hot spring pool and hot tub with a pool side bar. Great Pina Coladas by the way, go for happy hour - $4 each! The staff are very friendly and helpful and the shuttle is quick. The restaurant is nice but nothing to write home about. The breakfast buffet is plentiful, go for the made to order omelette station - its the way to go. We stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: Stayed in the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The grounds are exceptional, well kept, if layed out a bit like a smart suburban housing estate. If you can cope with indifferent food, poor service, and having your fellow diners at dinner sporting shorts,trainers, tattoos, and even a baseball cap this might be the place for you. The pools and
Hot spring are nice and at the bar there they have a Happy Hour with certain drinks/cocktails on a two for one deal. One was Gordon's Gin and Tonic and another gin based drink billed as being Gordon's, but the Gin used was an inferior local one some 25% less strong. The barman said they didn't do Gordon's but it was written large on the menu. O ne felt duped.
The restaurant albeit with a view to the volcano is uncomfortable and characterless. Breakfast is unexciting and the worst experienced in Costa Rica. Service is very poor, the napkins are polyester, and perhaps matches the expectations of the clientele. One lunchtime when the restaurant was not busy we had to ask to be provided with a menu and were then only offered one copy so could not select simultaneously; we had to ask for napkins, salt and pepper, and when we ordered two beers the bottles and two glass tankards were just clunked on the table with no suggestion they might be poured. I asked if my wife might have a glass for she would prefer not to be drinking from a thick tankard.
The rooms are large with two standard size double beds, mostly as semi-detached bungalows. There is no chair and insufficient hooks to hang things and storage for clothes is only just adequate. The light levels are poor making it not east to read in bed, and the switches not easily accessible without getting out of bed.
The large bathroom has a shower at one end with a large leafed plant dividing. While the room itself was kept well clean this plant was filthy it,s great leaves deep in dust in which one could write names. Sound transmission between the neighbouring bathrooms was better than I would have wished, not wishing to hear the passionate activities of our neighbours or their TV. It was good that the rooms have free wi-fi connection albeit not very fast.
This is a tourist hotel , in pleasing grounds with good views let down by it's restaurant and staff who seem untrained with no concept of how to provide service.. Perhaps it was worse because we had just come from Villa Blanca nr San Ramon which was exceptional in terms of both food, surroundings and service.
I would not recommend this hotel to my friends although clearly it suits some people very well. Each to his own.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very professional and clean. It exceeded our expectations for the price range we were in. The landscaping was gorgeous with beautiful walking paths, a nearby stream, and more flowers than any other hotel we stayed at. It was the only hotel we stayed at (out of 4 during our entire trip) that had comfortable beds!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The hotel is situated on a road between La Fortuna and Lake Arenal along with many other hotels of similar or better quality. The grounds are well manicured providing many of the 66 spread out villas with wonderful views of the volcano. Our room had 12' wide sliding glass doors from which we could constantly view the volcano. I was told, however, that we were lucky since there are only 77 days per year where you can totally view the volcano. The hotel has 2 swimming pools (one has a swim up bar), a hot spring mini pool, wifi and a good restaurant. Breakfasts are served buffet style with a sufficient selection while the dinner menu had a nice variety. We recommend the Mediterranean salad with rice, shrimp and octopus. The reception desk clerk, Juan, was very friendly. I must add, however, three negatives of the hotel. First, the hotel does not offer any free shuttles into town and the taxi fare into town, La Fortuna, costs $12 one way. There's not much to see in town. Second, make sure not to lose the pool towel card they give you on check in since they will charge you $25 for a lost card. We know since we lost the card at the hot springs and had to pay the troll the toll. The towel itself was not worth $25 new. Petty and annoying for a "high class" hotel. Third, the distances on the grounds of the hotel are great. Sometimes it would have been nice to have a roving golf cart type shuttle and we say that even though we are runners and the hotel indicates you can contact them for a ride.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a fabulous view of the volcano but many others do as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here with my significant other. The checkin was very professional, grounds are amazing, service is wonderful. Great view of the volcano, and although you need a car, positioned well between Fortuna and the park. Pools are wonderful, and happy hour is buy one, get one free even though the menu doesn't say that!! You also get a free mask at the spa if you stay there for 3 nights - services were fantastic.

Room Tip: The low 200s were the best I think - Close to the restaurant and smaller pools, with a excellent vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I traveled with a group of 6 and we all loved our stay at Arenal Manoa Hotel and Spa. The grounds are gorgeous and the views are spectacular. The view from our patio was a postcard image of the volcano surrounded by lush vegetation. The rooms were spacious and clean.

The breakfast was delicious (I did not eat other meals there) and offered everything that one might want. Also, gorgeous views were provided at the restaurant as well.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our needs. They made great recommendations with regard to things to do in the area. Overall, no complaints from me or the rest of my crew! We would all stay there again in a heartbeat!

SLS

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.