We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Nice amenities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Nice amenities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here with my significant other. The checkin was very professional, grounds are amazing, service is wonderful. Great view of the volcano, and although you need a car, positioned well between Fortuna and the park. Pools are wonderful, and happy hour is buy one, get one free even though the menu doesn't say that!! You also get a free mask at the spa if you stay there for 3 nights - services were fantastic.

Room Tip: The low 200s were the best I think - Close to the restaurant and smaller pools, with a excellent vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    264
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
405
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I traveled with a group of 6 and we all loved our stay at Arenal Manoa Hotel and Spa. The grounds are gorgeous and the views are spectacular. The view from our patio was a postcard image of the volcano surrounded by lush vegetation. The rooms were spacious and clean.

The breakfast was delicious (I did not eat other meals there) and offered everything that one might want. Also, gorgeous views were provided at the restaurant as well.

The staff was very friendly and helpful with all of our needs. They made great recommendations with regard to things to do in the area. Overall, no complaints from me or the rest of my crew! We would all stay there again in a heartbeat!

SLS

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Arenal Manoa. Beautiful grounds; clean comfortable rooms; great food; spectacular views and super friendly staff all made for a wonderful stay. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The room was big, clean and had comfortable beds. Lots of beautiful colorful birds, atmosphere was relaxing. The breakfast included was buffet style with delicious fruits and costa rican food. They even had options for freshly made vegetable/fruit smoothies and cook to order eggs.
We enjoyed the hot springs pool and the swim up bar.
My husband really liiked the mahi mahi for dinner , and we loved the desserts.
Cons: the rough/ bumpy road from the main road, although smooth ride somehow when in a taxi .
The worms that come in at night because of the big gap between the door and the floor, they have readily remedy it though with "bug off" sprayed on the floor by the door. I don't understand why they wouldn't just provided every room with a plug to seal the door.
Erick who works there is very helpful and nice to us, he drives the shuttle that takes us to and from our room when needed, and he helped with the "bugs problem."

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good location but the hotel is set quite far book from the main road. The rroms are a little dated and all seemed to have 2 double beds. Very noisy overnight. The shower rooms were excellent and the food for breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 2 nights here while on a tour of Costa Rica. Each room has it's own little porch and each room looks at the majestic Arenal Volcano. The grounds as stunning and I would recommend taking the time to walk around and see all the different flora. There are 3 pools and a fabulous Spa, which we, unfortunately did not have the time to take advantage of. The rooms are extremely clean and the bathrooms amazing, with a huge walk in shower which also includes real plants!
The restaurant sits among lush green foliage and serves very good food. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Our room was directly off one of the paths leading to the restaurant. If I were to chose again I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just finished our stay here and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband and I came for a belated anniversary trip. I'm super picky when it comes to clean and these rooms were! We went on a canoe safari (day trip) that was awesome! We also went on an ATV excursion. I recommend to skip that and save some money. Hiking to Fortuna falls and Celeste falls was work but so worth it! Feb. is the perfect time or year to visit. The climate is mild, beginning of the dry season. Not too hot and not too cold.... Just right!
Here's a list of my pros and cons.

Pros: cleanliness, room comfort, (even though pretty basic) promptness to requests, views, hot springs, pools and gorgeous property, proximity to area landmarks and attractions (even though we had a car) the hotel staff and locals. Eco-conscience, with recycle bins outside each room door. And the coffee, Costa Rican coffee! ( I swear it tastes like there's chocolate in it!) I also loved sitting at at breakfast watching the variety of beautiful birds. Breakfast was inclusive for us and was good. There were some variations to it to keep it interesting.

Cons: at check in we were given a list of do's and don'ts (mostly pertaining to the use of towels). What I absolutely thought was absurd and did not like was the paper I had to sign stating if I left any body fluids on the bed I would be charged! WHAT????? I'm sure they've seen it all but I found it to be a bit insulting and not very welcoming at all!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.