We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, very conveniently located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely property, very conveniently located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely bungalows distributed around a truly beautiful property. We had a great view of Arenal Volcano from our secluded, private patio. It was a wonderful place to start and end each day of our time there. Breakfast was excellent and the facilities, like the pool were excellent. The only down side were very compliant staff who was good at saying, "we will send someone," and no one arrives - I broke a glass on our patio and called to get a broom to clean it up. Twice I was told they would take care of it, and the third time (after a personal visit to the front desk), it was cleaned up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    593
    260
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
288
395
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in February. The view of the volcano was beautiful, rooms were clean, and the grounds were beautiful. The restaurant was pretty good, not great, but the staff at the restaurant were amazing. I would definitely go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just returned from two weeks in Costa Rica. We stayed at four different properties, and this was by far our favorite. The grounds are amazing - beautifully maintained with acres and acres of walking trails. The "rooms" are single story bungalows, two units per building. The bedroom portion is quite large, with two queen size beds and a dressing area. The bathroom is huge, with a magnificent walk-in, rock-lined shower. Each bungalow has a private patio with two rocking chairs, where you can sit in the mornings and evenings and gaze at the Arenal Volcano. There are two swimming pools on the property, one with cold (air temp) water and the other with warm water. We headed for the warm water pool every night after a busy day of sight-seeing, and it was so relaxing! There is a restaurant on site and it is a wonderful place for breakfast. There is an extensive buffet with fresh fruits, cereals, breads, juices, yogurts, and also an omelet bar where you can order omelets made to your specific request. Try to get a table on the veranda of the restaurant which overlooks the river below.
Now - my only negative. Do not eat dinner here. We had the worst meal on our entire trip here. Service was slow and the food was terrible. My husband could not even cut his steak. My fettuccine with shrimp had 6 tiny, itty-bitty brine shrimp and was smothered in onions - I couldn't even eat it. We were with several other couples, and no one enjoyed their meal. The next night we went into town and ate at Don Rufino Restaurante - best meal on the trip. Do not miss eating here if you are in La Fortuna. Other than dinner at the on site restaurant, this is a fabulous place to stay and our only regret is that we didn't book it for a longer period. I would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was here 2 nights in February with Carvan tour! loved the property! loved the service at the desk, loved the pools! loved the view out my patio window of the volcano! loved the landscaping, the hotel is spread out on many acres, so you get excercise walking to the pools, restaurant, front desk, if you are not comfortable walking, they will come pick you up for free in a van. I found the food to be good, clean, with a nice view, wait staff, all over costa rica struggle with service, it wasn't horrible, but it lacks compared to us standards, The rooms were large with nice large bathrooms, I was able to get a hot shower ( not always in some places in costa rica) clean room, a little fridge with ice cubes even! loved that, free computers and internet in the lobby, so nice for me to be able to connect as I didn't have phone service down there, nor did I want to haul my laptop around. ended up taking a taxi from town and shared the taxi, it was $10, reasonable, lots of nice shopping, little eateries in town with view of volcano. I loved this property! upon departure, I even tipped the young man at the front desk. Room maid did some cute thing with the bath towel and bed cover :) yes, she got a tip as well. Highly recommend this hotel. Wish the cool pool didn't close at 6, the heated pool was open till 10

Room Tip: I think they are all nice, no water view here, mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the friendly greeting we received upon arrival, we were impressed with this property. The grounds are meticulously maintained with lovely foliage and flowers throughout. Most accomodations here including ours consisted of only a two unit dwelling with perfect view of the volcano. The buffet breakfast in the lovely open air dining hall was delicious and also overlooked the volcano. The rooms were spotlessly clean. Sonya from the housekeeping staff should be commended. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 240 and 241 and both had perfect views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel was, don't let the driveway fool you, this is a top notch hotel with a very good restaurant and spectacular views. My only regret is that we didn't stay here longer. We booked some nights out on the Pacific coast, but with the pool and hot springs, I wish we had just stayed here instead. This was the best stay we had in Costa Rica, and there is so much to do in the Arenal area that I would recommend three days here at a minimum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Arenal Manoa is a decent property, with pleasant rooms and adequate food. If you are easily impressed, you will love this place! Our room did not include a chair (there were two outside) nor an alarm clock (they managed to forget our wake-up call, and all they said was "we screwed up" - not really very helpful IMHO.) meals are acceptable, but hardly memorable. other than one or two waitstaff, we felt that service was grudging: we don't believe we should have to flag down a waiter to ask for a refill of our water, or a second golf-ball sized dinner roll, and the food was very ordinary. several dishes were so over-salted that they had to be sent back - and should have never been served in the first place.
once again, if you are easily impressed, go for the $20 dinner buffet, but otherwise we recommend ordering from the menu. we understand that this is the only hotel in the area which charges $20 per person for a shuttle ride to the nearby town; we suggest you look into this for yourselves.

you share a two-unit building with another traveler; walls are paper-thin.

Room Tip: rooms are probably fairly consistent. there are two pools (hot and cold) and one restaurant; the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.