We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our three nights at this secluded and very quiet 4 star resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“We loved our three nights at this secluded and very quiet 4 star resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The resort is outside of La Fortuna and has a very warm and welcoming staff that thankfully spoke better English than we did Spanish. The rooms are in pairs, all have incredible views of the Arenal Volcano, and the property and landscaping are situated on the property so that, with the exception of the attached room, they are secluded from the other rooms. We were vacationing with friends so the room next door was no issue for us, although we could hear them talking if our bathroom door was not closed.

The grounds are nicely landscaped and maintained and filled with tons of small yellow and blue birds, hummingbirds, egrets and other birds at the pond, and at night the rainforest came alive with the sounds of crickets, frogs and other bugs. We used Deet and had no problems with bites.

A buffet breakfast was included and had an omelet station, pancakes, three fruits, bread and muffins, gallo pinto (rice, beans, cilantro and onions, very tasty), an egg dish, a breakfast meat (sausage, bacon), cereal, oatmeal, GREAT coffee, tea, milk, juice, nothing extraordinary but we thought it was a perfect vacation breakfast. The restaurant, which is open air and sits over a scenic little pond, at lunch and dinner had mostly Italian themed and some local dishes, prices ranging from $9 to $20 per dish. Drinks were American priced, $7.50 cocktails, $3.50 beers, wine of varying prices. Nothing too expensive, the food was good, not great, but no particular complaints from any of us. Atmosphere and service made it nice!

Due to a local on a motorcycle hitting the side of our car (long story), we had to spend the entirety of a day at the resort waiting for another car, but enjoyed the pools and restaurant throughout the day. While I fretted at the room, everyone else enjoyed the swimming pools which have swim up bars and hot tubs, and a hot spring pool with a swim up bar as well. The staff also assisted us with setting up excursions the day we arrived.

The only real complaint by either couple was the plastic cover over a vent in the bathroom. When the skies unleashed more rain than we have in all of Nevada in a single year, the sound of the rain hitting the plastic woke me up at around 2 am. I thought the air conditioning had malfunctioned and couldn’t figure out how to turn it off. After about three minutes my wife figured out the rain was hitting the plastic cover, and the next day my friend related the exact same experience!

We paid $170 per room night on Hotwire. The only 5 star we've stayed at was the Four Seasons on Lanai, for which we did not pay the ~$350 per night! For us, then, 4 stars is VERY good. We loved it here, our complaints were minor at best, and we would wholeheartedly recommend it to others who want adventure around La Fortuna and Arenal, but comfort and silence at their resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    270
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
296
418
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful vacation to Costa Rica which included 4 nights at this wonderful hotel. The staff was friendly and responsive, the bungalow rooms had fabulous showers, the massage at the spa was top notch. Each room has a deck that has an incredible view of the volcano. The pool was refreshing and Mario, the bartender at the swim up bar kept the cold beers flowing.

The location is near the Arenal Volcano which provided easy access to zip-lining and hiking.
Hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is stunning. The grounds are beautiful! Our room over looked the Volcano, the hills and the river, breathtaking. Our Casita was well equipped with plants growing in the bathroom! Nice large balcony, 2 big double beds and very clean and spacious. The swimming pool and hot springs are so nice. We spent most the time at the pool as the view was so nice and the pool so relaxing with a lovely swim up bar where you could order lunch from. The staff here are very friendly and happy to give lots of advice where to go and what to do in and around the town of La Fortuna. Breakfast had many options with omelette, smoothies and French toast and pancakes. Great Locations just $10 cab ride into town. I would highly recommend this hotel to couples, families etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stunning volcano views I could see without even having to get out of bed! The pools are spectacular, with swim-up bars and surrounded with beautiful plants and exotic birds and butterflies! I was travelling on a "Road Scholar" tour with my parents (who are in their 80's) and they also were very impressed. They said it was the most "posh" hotel they had ever stayed at on such a tour. (They are used to more "economical" accommodations.) Although they didn't need it, the hotel does offer a free shuttle service within the resort for those who find walking difficult. The food was good although the fish always seems better than the beef in Costa Rica. The breakfast buffet was the best with lots of fresh tropical fruits and Costa Rican coffee! YUM! I wish we could have stayed there at least another week!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up the hill (farthest away from reception) have the best views and are closer to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Costa Rica. Arenal Manoa was the first hotel we stayed at and we were warmly welcomed by the staff. Juan was very helpful in planning our excursions and making are stay as comfortable as possible. During one of the excursions we had lost our bag. The tour company had brought it to the hotel and the friendly staff member of the Arenal Manoa, Carlos, had knocked on our door and personally delivered it to us!
The food was excellent and the view of the volcano breath taking! Thank you, Arenal Manoa for an enjoyable stay and wonderful welcome to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! The rooms and grounds were impeccable, and the staff was so unbelievably courteous, kind and professional, we were blown away. A great ending to a wonderful honeymoon in a spectacular country!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The service here is superb. The reception staff especially will help you a lot. If you are into wildlife and birding, forget the park, its the hotel grounds you want to roam. Hummingbirds, vultures, kites, armadillos etc. Also, the hot spring pool is amazing. Only advice is do not eat dinner there, leaves much to desire. Otherwise, do go enjoy and relax!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.