We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service at a wonderful location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top notch service at a wonderful location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous trip to Costa Rica. Arenal Manoa was the first hotel we stayed at and we were warmly welcomed by the staff. Juan was very helpful in planning our excursions and making are stay as comfortable as possible. During one of the excursions we had lost our bag. The tour company had brought it to the hotel and the friendly staff member of the Arenal Manoa, Carlos, had knocked on our door and personally delivered it to us!
The food was excellent and the view of the volcano breath taking! Thank you, Arenal Manoa for an enjoyable stay and wonderful welcome to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    303
    59
    11
    7
See reviews for
325
463
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

What a pleasant surprise! The rooms and grounds were impeccable, and the staff was so unbelievably courteous, kind and professional, we were blown away. A great ending to a wonderful honeymoon in a spectacular country!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The service here is superb. The reception staff especially will help you a lot. If you are into wildlife and birding, forget the park, its the hotel grounds you want to roam. Hummingbirds, vultures, kites, armadillos etc. Also, the hot spring pool is amazing. Only advice is do not eat dinner there, leaves much to desire. Otherwise, do go enjoy and relax!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel really deserves a 4.5 out of 5 if I was able to give that. The hotel is a series of private bungalows, each with a great view of the volcano. Breakfast is included with the hotel rate and was the best breakfast we had when traveling around Costa Rica - omelets, tons of fresh fruit, and local Costa Rican dishes - while looking over the jungle and volcano. Front desk staff was very helpful and made great recommendations (go to Tabacon hot springs!) and even arranged drop off/pick up from our room when we had our suitcases. We also spent an afternoon drinking at the pool bar and our bartender was fantastic.

Two cons:
The giant sliding door was left open all day (made for an impressive entrance given the view and perfect temperature) so there were a number of bugs in the room that took a few days to remove. Of course, we were in the jungle and had anticipated this so it didn't bother us too much!

Logistics when making arrangements wasn't always easy. For example, my wife went to the spa to get a massage but they required her to walk to the front desk (about .5 mile walk) to make the appointment then walk back once that was done.

Room Tip: Request a room near the restaurant - better views and more convenient in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel has great service and the facilities are nice with beautifully manicured grounds and thermal springs. Very family oriented so lots of kids. Concierge service was excellent! Keys deactivated frequently which was a pain but they replaced them quickly. Restaurant is good for breakfast which is included. Dinner is a little pricey and food is average.

Room Tip: Can hear through the walls the next unit so if possible share a villa with someone you know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just got back from 10 days in Costa Rica. This hotel was our first stop and it was absolutely wonderful. After a long day of travel, it was so great to find the service folks at the front desk so hospitable and friendly. The rooms in our private bungalow were spacious and clean and it was an absolute delight to wake up in the morning and be greeted by a private patio, garden and clear view of Arenal when we opened our shades. It felt like Arenal was right in our backyard. The grounds are very beautiful, lush foliage. gardens of flowers, birds and paved paths to walk everywhere. There is creek running the property which is very soothing and even a farm to visit. The dining area is beautiful and open, and the food was plentiful and delicious, with great vegetarian options. We had the best breakfast here over all the other places we visited. Our room (228) location was perfect--close to the dining area and pool, and a short walk (5-7 minutes) to the front desk and hot tub. We stayed here for three nights without a car and it was no problem, as we took various tours. The kids took advantage of the pools--which were wonderful and I took advantage of the spa--the massage was delightful. This is a great place to stay and I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is great. The rooms are modern, clean beautiful and the food was excellent. View the volcano from your room! The spa in town was a day of relaxation in the warm springs. Tow (minor) negatives. The hotel is located a bit out of town so, if you're not with a tour, you'll need to take a cab into town. The odd thing about the room was there were no chairs in it. We asked some other guests and noticed the same thing about the lack of chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Volcano side that offers a good view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.