We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel has great service and the facilities are nice with beautifully manicured grounds and thermal springs. Very family oriented so lots of kids. Concierge service was excellent! Keys deactivated frequently which was a pain but they replaced them quickly. Restaurant is good for breakfast which is included. Dinner is a little pricey and food is average.

Room Tip: Can hear through the walls the next unit so if possible share a villa with someone you know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    297
    59
    11
    7
See reviews for
322
452
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just got back from 10 days in Costa Rica. This hotel was our first stop and it was absolutely wonderful. After a long day of travel, it was so great to find the service folks at the front desk so hospitable and friendly. The rooms in our private bungalow were spacious and clean and it was an absolute delight to wake up in the morning and be greeted by a private patio, garden and clear view of Arenal when we opened our shades. It felt like Arenal was right in our backyard. The grounds are very beautiful, lush foliage. gardens of flowers, birds and paved paths to walk everywhere. There is creek running the property which is very soothing and even a farm to visit. The dining area is beautiful and open, and the food was plentiful and delicious, with great vegetarian options. We had the best breakfast here over all the other places we visited. Our room (228) location was perfect--close to the dining area and pool, and a short walk (5-7 minutes) to the front desk and hot tub. We stayed here for three nights without a car and it was no problem, as we took various tours. The kids took advantage of the pools--which were wonderful and I took advantage of the spa--the massage was delightful. This is a great place to stay and I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is great. The rooms are modern, clean beautiful and the food was excellent. View the volcano from your room! The spa in town was a day of relaxation in the warm springs. Tow (minor) negatives. The hotel is located a bit out of town so, if you're not with a tour, you'll need to take a cab into town. The odd thing about the room was there were no chairs in it. We asked some other guests and noticed the same thing about the lack of chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Volcano side that offers a good view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on New Year's. New Year's buffet dinner was moderately priced and rather mediocre. Otherwise, reasonably priced bungalows with excellent buffet breakfast included. Each bungalow is comprised of two large studio units with relatively poor sound insulation between them. Very friendly and competent service at front desk, which can organize various tours for you. Location requires either cab service or a car rental unless you are with an organized tour. Phenomenal view of Arenal volcano right out of your front window. Your cannot find accommodations any closer to the volcano than the hotel. Several pools on the property, including hot springs. Restaurant on property is open all day and is reasonably priced, serves good variety of mostly well prepared dishes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was delightful to stay at this hotel. The volcano view from rooms 220 and 221 was perfect! The rooms were very modern with comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, and keyless doors and safes. The best part of this hotel was the friendly and helpful staff, by far the best of any hotel that I have ever stayed at. The hotel also has a nice heated pool and hot tub, as well as an unheated pool. The breakfasts were wonderful as well, including pancakes, omelettes, and smoothies made to order. Like the other hotels in this area, this hotel is not within walking distance of any shops or restaurants, so you must take a short cab ride to get to La Fortuna, which is the closest town. The front desk can arrange cab rides for you, both coming and going, and you can charge the cost to your room, which is $12 each way. This is a nice service, because you don't have to worry about paying your driver, except for any tip you want to offer. The front desk also can arrange for any tours of the area that you want to take. I highly recommend this hotel, especially for its customer service and nice, quiet, and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This placed rocked! I had read all sorts of conflicting reports on where the best rooms are located. We choose Volcano side way in the back and could not have been happier. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was excellent. Our only complaint was about a waiter during breakfast. The food was fine and self-serve. The coffee was at the mercy of the wait staff and they could sometime be hard to find. I try to be easy going and understanding when staff are busy but if you make me wait early in the morning for my coffee (or refill) I tend to get grumpy. They should hire someone for breakfast who has only one job, make sure the guests have as much coffee as they want.

Room Tip: If it is clear, like when we visited in May make sure you can see the Volcano from bed. It is a wor...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean, neat, professional, orderly, all the best things in this top of the line resort in Arenal. We made the mistake of going in high season (no choice, school vacation dictates) and the place is overrun with Americans (my daughter met a classmate there!) - but if you're looking for a luxurious and calm oasis with your own private bungalow, look no further.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.