We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property with paper thin walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice property with paper thin walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on New Year's. New Year's buffet dinner was moderately priced and rather mediocre. Otherwise, reasonably priced bungalows with excellent buffet breakfast included. Each bungalow is comprised of two large studio units with relatively poor sound insulation between them. Very friendly and competent service at front desk, which can organize various tours for you. Location requires either cab service or a car rental unless you are with an organized tour. Phenomenal view of Arenal volcano right out of your front window. Your cannot find accommodations any closer to the volcano than the hotel. Several pools on the property, including hot springs. Restaurant on property is open all day and is reasonably priced, serves good variety of mostly well prepared dishes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    324
    66
    14
    7
See reviews for
355
510
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was delightful to stay at this hotel. The volcano view from rooms 220 and 221 was perfect! The rooms were very modern with comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms, and keyless doors and safes. The best part of this hotel was the friendly and helpful staff, by far the best of any hotel that I have ever stayed at. The hotel also has a nice heated pool and hot tub, as well as an unheated pool. The breakfasts were wonderful as well, including pancakes, omelettes, and smoothies made to order. Like the other hotels in this area, this hotel is not within walking distance of any shops or restaurants, so you must take a short cab ride to get to La Fortuna, which is the closest town. The front desk can arrange cab rides for you, both coming and going, and you can charge the cost to your room, which is $12 each way. This is a nice service, because you don't have to worry about paying your driver, except for any tip you want to offer. The front desk also can arrange for any tours of the area that you want to take. I highly recommend this hotel, especially for its customer service and nice, quiet, and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This placed rocked! I had read all sorts of conflicting reports on where the best rooms are located. We choose Volcano side way in the back and could not have been happier. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was excellent. Our only complaint was about a waiter during breakfast. The food was fine and self-serve. The coffee was at the mercy of the wait staff and they could sometime be hard to find. I try to be easy going and understanding when staff are busy but if you make me wait early in the morning for my coffee (or refill) I tend to get grumpy. They should hire someone for breakfast who has only one job, make sure the guests have as much coffee as they want.

Room Tip: If it is clear, like when we visited in May make sure you can see the Volcano from bed. It is a wor...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean, neat, professional, orderly, all the best things in this top of the line resort in Arenal. We made the mistake of going in high season (no choice, school vacation dictates) and the place is overrun with Americans (my daughter met a classmate there!) - but if you're looking for a luxurious and calm oasis with your own private bungalow, look no further.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good place with friendly staff and nice pools to relax by. Good as a base to explore the Arenal area.

Only complaint was missed housekeeping one day - were out of the room all morning until 1pm and the room hasn't been cleaned upon return. Offered to do later, but by this time we needed to use the room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at Manoa from Dec. 30-Jan.2nd. All of the staff were very friendly. The reception staff were always very helpful with anything that we needed. They even assisted us with calling the property manager of the next location where we were staying in Manuel Antonio! We forgot to bring a corkscrew and someone was at our door within minutes to open the bottle for us.

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and well maintained. The buildings were spread out so you should be prepared to walk a little or take the shuttle depending on where you are located. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day and they had a decent assortment of food for most everyone's liking. We also ate New Year's dinner there and it was beautifully decorated and the food was very good.

The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes from La Fortuna. The road has a few curves but is not a difficult drive to town. It is also located about 15-20 minutes from Arenal Hanging Bridges, Sky Trek, Arenal Volcano Park and the Arenal Observatory Lodge. The road to Sky Trek, the Volcano and the Observatory is unpaved and bumpy which might make your drive a little longer. I highly suggest getting a GPS if you plan on driving in Costa Rica. We had no problems getting anywhere with the GPS.

If I had to give a negative comment, it would be that the walls in the bathroom were a little thin and you could hear the people in the room next door. We just kept the bathroom door closed and that seemed to solve the problem.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 230 which had a tropical view (no other units visible)of the volcano. Rooms 231-2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at hotel Manoa. It is has excellent rooms, really clean to a high standard each with its own patio area and the restaurant food was also good. The gardens are beautiful with many flowers and a wide selection of bird life. The volcano is in view once clouds clear in the morning although this has been dormant since 2010. There are many tours/activities available in the area which if taken up individually were in our opinion very expensive. However if you hire a car, approx $60 per day, you can cut these costs significantly and go at your own pace and driving is really easy throughout Costa Rica. The hotel has its own hot spring water swimming pools which are extremely good to relax in by the bar in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,562 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 69 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,431 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 822 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Corin
Hotel Royal Corin
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.