We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a lovely resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean, neat, professional, orderly, all the best things in this top of the line resort in Arenal. We made the mistake of going in high season (no choice, school vacation dictates) and the place is overrun with Americans (my daughter met a classmate there!) - but if you're looking for a luxurious and calm oasis with your own private bungalow, look no further.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    264
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
290
403
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Good place with friendly staff and nice pools to relax by. Good as a base to explore the Arenal area.

Only complaint was missed housekeeping one day - were out of the room all morning until 1pm and the room hasn't been cleaned upon return. Offered to do later, but by this time we needed to use the room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at Manoa from Dec. 30-Jan.2nd. All of the staff were very friendly. The reception staff were always very helpful with anything that we needed. They even assisted us with calling the property manager of the next location where we were staying in Manuel Antonio! We forgot to bring a corkscrew and someone was at our door within minutes to open the bottle for us.

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and well maintained. The buildings were spread out so you should be prepared to walk a little or take the shuttle depending on where you are located. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day and they had a decent assortment of food for most everyone's liking. We also ate New Year's dinner there and it was beautifully decorated and the food was very good.

The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes from La Fortuna. The road has a few curves but is not a difficult drive to town. It is also located about 15-20 minutes from Arenal Hanging Bridges, Sky Trek, Arenal Volcano Park and the Arenal Observatory Lodge. The road to Sky Trek, the Volcano and the Observatory is unpaved and bumpy which might make your drive a little longer. I highly suggest getting a GPS if you plan on driving in Costa Rica. We had no problems getting anywhere with the GPS.

If I had to give a negative comment, it would be that the walls in the bathroom were a little thin and you could hear the people in the room next door. We just kept the bathroom door closed and that seemed to solve the problem.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 230 which had a tropical view (no other units visible)of the volcano. Rooms 231-2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at hotel Manoa. It is has excellent rooms, really clean to a high standard each with its own patio area and the restaurant food was also good. The gardens are beautiful with many flowers and a wide selection of bird life. The volcano is in view once clouds clear in the morning although this has been dormant since 2010. There are many tours/activities available in the area which if taken up individually were in our opinion very expensive. However if you hire a car, approx $60 per day, you can cut these costs significantly and go at your own pace and driving is really easy throughout Costa Rica. The hotel has its own hot spring water swimming pools which are extremely good to relax in by the bar in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and had an excellent stay. The staff was very friendly and helped us book taxi's and excursions at good prices. The room was clean and comfortable. Note, depending on the time of year you go you may or may not get to see the volcano. We were lucky to see it come out of the clouds briefly on one of the days. When it did the view was incredible. Overall, Arenal Manoa Hotel is a great place to stay while touring the Arenal area. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My fiance and I loved this hotel for the start of our trip in Costa Rica. The only unfortunate part of the visit is that we never got to see the volcano because it was very cloudy and rainy. We didn't expect this because we were there in December, but everything else was a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Positives: This is a stunning property with awesome views of the volcano. We booked through Gate 1 travel and were given a room with the perfect view. Staff was friendly and the place was clean.

Negatives: The walls of our cabin were pretty thin and we were able to hear a lot from the neighbors. The restaurant was not good at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.