We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a large property that requires walking or calling a courtesy van. There are one story units with 2 separate rooms. Sound does travel a bit from the 2 separate units where the bathrooms adjoin. The rooms were large and clean as was the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. There is a lovely open dining room with nice views. Breakfast included omelets and plenty of variety of things plus lots of fresh fruits. The only complaint was there was little drawer space. It was a five to ten minute drive to La Fortuna which was about $10 to 12 taxi eat way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    576
    248
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
272
382
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent 4 nights here as part of a package which included 4 breakfasts and 3 dinners. The front desk staff were very nice throughout our stay. Always greeted us and usually by name whenever we entered the lobby. When the volcano comes out from her cloud cover shawl it is amazing. You have front row seats. No matter how many time you see her she makes you stop in awe. The grounds were gorgeous. All the rooms are set up in double bungalows with covered little patios for each room. It has been landscaped in such a way as to give you a bit of privacy while you sit outside and you will want to sit outside and enjoy the local wildlife especially the birds. The restaurant is open aired and has a spectacular view of the volcano. Breakfast is great! Dinner is limited on selections. Tip on the food through out Costa Rica - go for the seafood or chicken. Steak or pork is hit or miss. Be sure to check out BOTH pool areas. Its a little walk but that's Costa Rica and we should all get use to that. Besides its a lovely walk - especially at night when the stars just shine because of the low outdoor lighting the hotel uses. It's magical! Bring a flashlight just for shining down on the pavers which are used through out the grounds and also for spotting the wildlife. The spa was nice. I had a massage combine with a reflexology which should have been 90 min on the table but ended only with an hour but I was still charged for both. That was disappointing but I will not let that reflect on the great time I had there. In other reviews it was mention some water issues in the bathrooms. We did hear drain noises especially at night which we thought were the result of no "stink " pipes (those are the small black pipes up on your roof that no smoke comes out of). The sounds were easily alleviated by simply closing the bathroom door. Remember you are staying in a room which is nicer than most of the homes of the people who work there. Go with the flow, Pura Vida!

Room Tip: The views are best in the 200's especially the beginning and the very beginning of the 100's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with family of 4. Nice 2 room units, all angled for privacy and view of volanco. Great base for adventures in the region. Enjoyed evening happy hour in the thermal pool after exploring during the day. Breakfast buffet, especially the fruit/veg smoothies, was good. Dinner not so interesting, bland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Arenal Manoa Hotel is truly a resort of excellence. The grounds are exceptionally beautiful, with amazing views of the Arenal Volcano, hot springs and cold and hot pools (with bars for extra fun!) and a four star restaurant serving gourmet food at reasonable prices. Our room was part of a small cottage (a duplex arrangement) with an outdoor patio surrounded by lovely tropical shrubs and flowers. And the staff was the most cheerful, helpful and attentive. Best of all for me was the hot stone massage by Sylvia. It was by far the best massage I've ever had. It brought me to tears!! I loved every minute of our stay and highly recommend the Arenal Manoa.

Room Tip: View of the Arenal Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We traveled as 2 couples and spent 3 nights at the Manoa. The people were so gracious in every section - the front desk for booking activities and general questions, the restaurant staff, thank you Henry! We partook in a doubles massage and it was great. The groundsmen were out trimming all the lucious greenery one day and went out of their way to show us different things, bring us fruit from a tree, and they even brought us a little green lizard! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The rooms were exceptionally clean and large with superb views of the volcano, the bathrooms large, with a huge open shower with a palm in the room..We had rooms 218 and 219 that also had the open glass windows obstructed from the street by gorgeous vegetation so you could sit on your patio or wake with superb views
The ENTIRE front office staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at all times, especially Juan Miguel, who called from home to help arrange an excursion when he was unble to reach them the prior day
The buffet was centrally located, the food was exceptional, omelets, french toast and/or pancakes to order, fresh fruit and juices--a varietry every morning
The grounds were beautiful and well kept and easy to walk around. The hot spring pool was warm and the bar very convenient
An excellent place to relax and enjoy the beautiful country and the friendliness of the Costa Rican people

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is a very nice resort. We stayed there for 3 nights and truly enjoyed it. They have 2 pools, one which is so cold, forget it--- and another which is filled with spring water and is very warm and nice. Other than this, don't expect anything else to do on the resort.
Breakfast is very nice, it is a buffet and they'll make you a fresh omelet, pancakes or French toast. The only thing about this resort is that in order to leave it and go to town (La Fortuna) it'll cost you $12 each way.
The staff at the reception is really great. One evening, as my son got burned by the sun we were looking for an aloe plant or some lotion. One of the lady at the reception told us that the hotel had nothing but she would bring her lotion from home the next morning for us to have it before we went on our day trip. And she did bring it. Now that's service:)

Room Tip: If you ask for a room around the 200s, you will likely see more monkeys in front of your room, as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.