We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town and almost worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Out of town and almost worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

newer 5yr old property with accomdting staff; larger rooms with adequate A/C; and good beds. Very nice view of the volcano when you could see it - the clouds obscured it at night. Humidity is a nice word if you like a tropical rain forest. This is a very nice p[oeperty with helpful and prompt staff. Would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    252
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
277
387
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great place to rest, the view to the Volcano is spectacular. The rooms are quite comfortable, and the gardens so nice.
The hot springs are so relaxing, sitting there enjoying a pina colada at 8 pm! That´s life!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

A simply perfect place to stay and experience! All of the staff was the most welcoming and friendly I have ever experienced. From welcome drinks at check-in to handshakes and hugs upon departure, each employee was genuinely warm, helpful, considerate, caring and strived to make my stay the ultimate best. I stayed for three nights in late November and frankly had the best room and view on the property. It was quiet and private and the room was extremely clean and well cared for each day. The huge sliding glass doors and private patio offered a perfect place to take in the breath taking views of the volcano. Breakfast, which was included, was wonderful with a perfect view of the volcano and open air seating making you feel a part of nature. Make sure you book a spa treatment as it is the most relaxing and serene area on the property. The property shuttle was always only a phone call away with no wait time and nice drivers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the restaurant and spa, this way you can walk to both and you will not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived when it was dark so we didnt know what to expect really?! When we woke up we saw an amazing view of Volcan Arenal from our rooms huge window!! The grounds are gorgeous, the pool area too and the hot pool with the natural spring water was super especially with the swim up bar and Eddy the night bartender! The rooms are like individual cabins, large sized with a patio area to enjoy the beautiful outdoors, the bathroom is very neat with a separate shower area with skylight! Wi Fi worked great! Breakfast there was good fair amount to choose from.We did eat dinner at the restaraunt La Saca also tastey! The staff through out our stay was kind and helpful! Close to get to the Arenal Volcano Park as well.

Room Tip: 230 gorgeous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in late November. The room was beautiful, with a large bathroom and shower. However, the tile in the shower was very slippery and I almost fell. There were two rocking chairs set just outside our room. We really enjoyed the warm water pool, warmed by the Arenal Volcano. Unfortunately it was too cloudy to see the volcano. The breakfast here was included and was OK, and the dinner was just so-so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of Nov. The room is well decorated and nice. I like the plants in the bathroom. As it is duplex cabin, it is very quiet. The ground is beautiful. I think people with kids would love the place a lot, as there is room for kids to run around. My son loves seeing the bats flying around at dusk. He also enjoyed the hot spring swimming pool. The food in the restaurant is very good too.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms in 200+ numbers. They are in the back of the hotel ground and have more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel in Arenal is in a great location slightly set back from the road over a rough road of about 500 metres.
The rooms are in two-roomed villas in tropical gardens and are a good size and attractively furnished. The natural hot spring is great after a day's sightseeing.
The view of the volcano is great from most rooms. Note that contrary to many brochures about the area, the volcano has not erupted for 2 years - although it could happen at any time.
Service was great, helpful and friendly. Restaurant was also very good for dinner - and quite reasonable for the area. Breakfast was not as good as we hoped.
A nice touch was that the maid made sculptures out of the clean towels on the bed each day (swans, pigs, etc). She was quite an artist, and a good welcome after being out all day,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.