We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Location - Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Not much to add from what others have said. The location for views is great. That is, if it's not raining or otherwise cloudy. Seeing the top of Arenal Volcano did not take place during our stay. We did enjoy the grounds and the warm pool. It could have been cleaner though. The breakfast was fine, but like others have said, it's really the same day to day. If one is driving, finding the property can be tricky as there is not that much signage. The staff all seemed friendly and my wife love the massage she received at the Spa from Marcia. We did find that since we had a car this hotel offers parking at the door to your unit, which considering all the rain that fell while we were there was helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and I found our meals to be well prepared at a decent price. We at out twice just down the road at a great Soda named Las Delicias. The food was terrific and very inexpensive. The owner of his wife ran the place and made our visits there all the more fun, since they did not speak English. We enjoyed our visit to Hanging Bridges and a hike at Arenal National Park. One other note. Although the rooms are spacious, there is little insulation between rooms and we could easily hear the other couple sharing our two suite bungalow.

Room Tip: We had a unit in the 200 room area Make sure you have your patio away from a road and not looking ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    262
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
289
398
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hotel grounds are beautiful. Our room had a huge sliding glass door that faced the volcano. Everything was very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that I thought the lunch and dinner menus were very limited and pricey. The fact that you had to pay $12 each way to get into La Fortuna for more meal options made those meals pricey too. A minor complaint, really, but something to consider. The cleaning crew made fun little sculptures w/ our bedding every cleaning. It was fun to open the door and find what was waiting for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Hotel Manoa is a strikingly beautiful place with little bungalows and duplex type bungalows built into a hillside in the jungle. It is a huge property (really huge) and beautifully landscaped. Our view was spectacular. The fact that the property is so large is kind of a problem unless you are in good shape. Being older, I had to call for a shuttle to take me to the restaurant and to the front desk. The free breakfast was outstanding with loads of delicious fresh fruit, pastries and omelets. The restaurant at night was over priced and not nearly as good as at breakfast. The hotel is probably 5 miles from the town of La Fortuna so just going to the super market or out to eat requires a taxi. One thing I did that I recommend to everyone is to order a sim card from ICE and use a world phone (unlocked) so you can call taxis, etc. The wifi at the hotel didn't work very well and was very slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a great value, gorgeous hotel in the Arenal Area (we got our booking on a special rate through Expedia). The rooms are spacious and luxurious, as are the bathrooms. Having access to the hot spring pool at night with the swim up bar and bar snacks til 10 pm was an amazing way to end every night (after exhausting days filled with hiking etc).

The people/staff are very friendly and accommodating to make you trip bookings etc.

We had a rental car which I think is imperative in this area, as things are rather spread out. The hotel is about only a 10 minute drive into town (La Fortuna), and a little further maybe 20-30 minutes to the volcano, ziplining etc. Driving around felt very safe, even at night for dinner.

We traveled to other properties in the area including Tabacon (which we did on a night/day pass to use the facilities). Tabacon was gorgeous however drinks and snacks were double the price at Arenal Manoa which made me very happy we had chose Manoa as a home base. Great place to come back to each night for $6 margaritas.

The daily breakfast buffet included in the rate was good and filling, with varied choices, including healthy options such as fruit and yogurt, as well as rice and beans, and stations to make you omelets or french toast/pancakes. We only went to the restaurant one night but the food was pretty good. I actually preferred the nachos we had at the pool side!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a direct view of the volcano, without a road in front of us. We were in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

What more can you ask for? We had a wonderful stay here. The road to the hotel from the main road is rocky, but our rental car was a small suv and it was fine. Our room was large, we had a small patio area with two rocking chairs and a small table, and we had a view of the volcano. The property is very safe. We had clothes and bathing suits to rinse and dry and we left them outside and it was fine. We walked over to the pools and had drinks at the bar. Very relaxing! We stayed here during our honeymoon and it was very honeymoon-esque, which it should be for the price!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed there three nights, with a wonderful view of the volcano from our room, and the flowers were so beautiful on the grounds! Was intrigued by the container garden in the bathroom... Perhaps because was there in November, it was not very crowded.

The staff were excellent at helping us find things to do, even if it involved going off the usual path. Because we were usually out till later we ate dinner there which while pricey was also delicious, and the wait staff were very accomodating on the evening we came in after serving had stopped.

I noticed some comments on the plainess of the rooms, but given the gorgeous grounds and the pools (the jacuzzi off to the side of the big pools was totally ours alone on the one afternoon we were there), I only used the room to sleep and the beds were quite nice. I appreciated the tile floors, the room had a Mediterranean feel, rather than Hilton plush.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great stay for relaxation. Resort is very quiet and peaceful. View of the volcano is extraordinary. The grounds are very well done and the staff is first rate. The rooms are good and the bathrooms are odd, but large and functional. A very good place to enjoy the pleasures of Arenal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.