We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, great pools, large room, view of volcano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great pools, large room, view of volcano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

What more can you ask for? We had a wonderful stay here. The road to the hotel from the main road is rocky, but our rental car was a small suv and it was fine. Our room was large, we had a small patio area with two rocking chairs and a small table, and we had a view of the volcano. The property is very safe. We had clothes and bathing suits to rinse and dry and we left them outside and it was fine. We walked over to the pools and had drinks at the bar. Very relaxing! We stayed here during our honeymoon and it was very honeymoon-esque, which it should be for the price!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    228
    50
    9
    5
See reviews for
257
361
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed there three nights, with a wonderful view of the volcano from our room, and the flowers were so beautiful on the grounds! Was intrigued by the container garden in the bathroom... Perhaps because was there in November, it was not very crowded.

The staff were excellent at helping us find things to do, even if it involved going off the usual path. Because we were usually out till later we ate dinner there which while pricey was also delicious, and the wait staff were very accomodating on the evening we came in after serving had stopped.

I noticed some comments on the plainess of the rooms, but given the gorgeous grounds and the pools (the jacuzzi off to the side of the big pools was totally ours alone on the one afternoon we were there), I only used the room to sleep and the beds were quite nice. I appreciated the tile floors, the room had a Mediterranean feel, rather than Hilton plush.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great stay for relaxation. Resort is very quiet and peaceful. View of the volcano is extraordinary. The grounds are very well done and the staff is first rate. The rooms are good and the bathrooms are odd, but large and functional. A very good place to enjoy the pleasures of Arenal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous! The rooms are large, clean and fine though hardly luxurious, a little plain. It would help to have a chair or two to sit on in the room, as opposed to only on the room patio. The hot water pool area is nice, albeit a little smaller than expected: one mid-sized waist-neck depth pool, one whirlpool, and one ankle-depth pool, purpose of which I am unsure. The spa is meh. Though good massage technicians, airy spa rooms are a little chilly, oils were cold, and rather than hot cloths to remove facial creams, dry tissues. Also, no discussion ahead of time regarding desires, probably due to language barrier. Reception desk staff is very helpful and friendly. The pool bar and restaurant staff not as friendly. Plan your visit according to seasons because when the weather is rain, as is common, there is not a lot to do. One complementary feature that all should take advantage of, though I doubt many do, is a tour of the adjacent farm, accessed via a short hike through rain forest. Location is 6km (3.7 miles) from town of La Fortuna which is $20 taxi fare rndtrip. If you want some meal variety, you need to go to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and people are extremely nice.
We met Henri and Virgilio who were our special hosts at the restaurant.
Dinner was excellent.
We also had a good time at the hot spring.
People at the reception are helpful too.
I warmly recommend this place.
MHE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On the second part of a honeymoon trip, we stayed at Hotel Manoa. It provided a good off-point to do more adventurous activities in the region, including ziplining, canyoning, etc. The pools are nice, but relatively small given the number of people who could stay at Hotel Manoa. The meals were very good, but a little expensive. The views of Arenal are great when the clouds disappear. We recommend this hotel for a more relaxing trip that can go into La Fortuna or throughout the region.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I had such an amazing time in Costa Rica and loved this hotel. We had our own little bungalow with a stunning view; breakfast was included and the hotsprings/pool were great. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a list of guided tours that they are more than happy to arrange for you, such as whitewater rafting, ziplining, horseback riding, waterfall rappelling, etc. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.