We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Part of a great Caravan tour across Costa Rica. 2 nights in a spacious bungalow. Large property on a hill side near volcano. Beautiful facilities. Volcano only smoking, wouldn't want to be there when very active - basically on the lower slope of the volcano! Service good, food good. For older folks, the walk between buildings or pool or whatever may be difficult. if have a car, no problem. Howler monkeys in area sounded like dogs barking!

Room Tip: Get a bungalow near the facility you"ll use most; pool, restaurant, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    262
    51
    9
    5
See reviews for
289
398
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Average Bungalows on very large property more for tour groups. The hot springs are more like a pool and I have to question whether the water is really from any springs. Good breakfast included better rates and accomadations close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ndakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

* Great Hotel.
* Very relaxing.
* Unbelievable view of the Arenal Volcano.
* Waking up to a great view of the volcano with your coffee is priceless.
* One of the top 10 bathrooms in the hundreds of hotels we have stayed in worldwide.
* There is a bonus. The volcano heated warm water pool at happy hour!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the far back side. Higher up with a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was the first hotel I've stayed at while in Costa Rica, in the Arenal Area, and I would only want to stay here! It is like a little heaven nearer to the rainforest. It's quiet, secluded, you have your own little villa (connected to another room) with a cute porch with rocking chairs and a table. The rooms are spacious with a large bathroom and cool shower. Coffee maker, fridge, safe, free wifi. The restaurant is excellent too. The service in both the hotel/front desk and the restaurant was excellent. The food was great. It's so nice to have the hot springs right there and available for your use whenever you please.

There are tons of wildlife around the grounds, which are perfectly manicured, but landscaped. Villas can be pretty far from the front desk and can be a chore if it is raining. But they do offer rides.

It's outside of downtown La Fortuna and there is a pretty long private road to get there, so you need to catch a cab/ride to get to other places. The front desk is ALWAYS helpful with assisting you with finding transportation or booking your activities.

The only thing I would change is the lighting in the rooms. I'm not sure if the type of lighting in the room is to save energy or the type of bulbs that do not attract the local bats (I know we have those on our football fields at home), but it is very dim in the rooms once the sun is set. Right now (November) it's pretty much down after 5pm.

Anyway, this was an excellent hotel and it is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My fiance and i went for a getaway weekend and stayed in room 202. View of the Arenal volcano was amazing! Pictures look like postcards. The hotel property is beautiful and is great property to relax and take in the beautiful scenery. Great breakfast with everything you would would ever want! Cant wait to go back...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My daughter and I were very pleased with our room and location of room. We were near a creek that ran through property and had a great view of the volcano. Customer service was awesome. They helped arrange all our excursions, get us a taxi to go into La Fortuna. Not much rain, we loved all the pools, & jacuzzi. The thermal pool was great it had a swim up bar and the water was extremely warm and felt good. We called and asked for an iron, they brought us the ironing board too. Room was always cleaned well. The only thing we didn't like was the restaurant, it was a little pricey and not that great. Breakfast was buffet and it was good, but I would suggest going elsewhere for dinner. Computers were available for you. The rocking chairs was a nice touch on the nice patio.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #205, really liked our view, #203, #204 might be a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the beautiful property itself and the views from the rooms. Full-on unobstructed views of the volcano through floor to ceiling glass doors. Amazing! This was room 208. There were no other buildings in front of us - just the volcano and the river. The room is very nice and spacious. All the amenities in the room. Loved the patio with the rocking chair outside. We had a car so getting around the resort was not a problem.

Everything else was fairly average. The swimming pool was average (normal temperature one). The hot springs swimming pool area could use a remodel. We only ate breakfast in the restaurant - no other meals. Breakfast is included. It was good and included made to order omelets. However, the staff at breakfast were more interested in talking with each other than actually attending to guests. So the service really lacked.

Front desk service was very good. We had a 50% off rate from normal rate of around $160. So it was a very good value for us. I doubt that I would pay full rate however.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.