We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I ended up booking this hotel b/c of the location but I didn't think i would enjoy it very much b/c I didn't like the look of the hotel room. However after staying there, the hotel amenities and the layout of the facilities were top notch and made me completely forget about the room itself.

First, the hot springs pool at the front was convenient and always perfect for unwinding after a day full of local tours/adventures.

Second, the grounds/facilities were very nicely laid out, well kept, and the staff was friendly and attentive. Everyone was helpful and the view of the volcano from the porch was wonderful!

The beds were clean and comfortable. The only recommendation I have is that they need to change the lighting from the bright white light to a softer, warmer light.

Btw, the walls are thin. Be ready for it.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    269
    54
    11
    6
See reviews for
295
417
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Our room here was great. Spacious, with an incredible view of the Arenal Volcano. At least for our first day. The second day the volcano was hidden by clouds. But our stay here was still wonderful. The food was good, and the dining room had great views of the surrounding forest. I really enjoyed the way the hotel was organized. Rooms were scattered in pairs along a main road. It was a very peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in our recent visit to Costa Rica and the hotel overall was really nice. I like the staff which was really friendly and helpful, loved the decoration in the room and the uniqueness of the bathroom design (it has a real tree in there!), but there are some things they need to improve.

We had dinner in the restaurant twice and the food was great, but we all noticed that the portions were kind of small for a regular adult. I'm a small girl and I don't eat a lot, but the amount of skirt steak in my sandwich was not even 2 ounzes, that doesn't compensate paying about $20 per person. In the other hand, the breakfast is complementary and very good.

The other thing that we noticed is that they have to work on the entrance, you have to drive about half a mile away from the main road to get to the hotel entrance, but the road is not paved, which makes it really hard if you're driving a small car like the one we rented for the trip. Also the rooms are individually located, like cabins, but the lighting outdoors is a little poor at night, which might be a little dangerous because there are snakes and frogs in the are. A good thing is that they offer free transportation inside the hotel facilities (the place is huge!)

Overall is a great hotel, very clean and with a wonderful view to the volcano, the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because of the things I pointed out in this review

Room Tip: Choosing a room near the restaurant is convenient if you don't like walking long distances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel, and all the rooms have a view of Arenal Volcano - or they would, if the clouds would clear and the rain would stop! November is supposed to be dry season, but it was late coming this year, as we had torrential downpours several of our 11 days. We saw only clouds the first afternoon, but at breakfast the next morning the clouds cleared for a few minutes, and we could see the top of Mt. Arenal. We had hoped to see the eruptions at night, but no luck. Our room was very nice - 2 queen beds, very spacious and clean, and one of the most elegant bathrooms we've ever seen. We would definitely recommend this hotel, but not in November!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Staff was very friendly. Hotel was very nice with Valcano view. We spend 4 night. Bathroom was vey nice.

Room Tip: all the room have valcano view. open porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sturattraveller
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Though our stay was at the end of the Rainy season we were fortunate enough to enjoy 1 morning of clear skies and AMAZING volcano views right from our bed. In all our travels we have rarely found a hotel with so many employees so focused on service and making you feel welcome (a bellman remembered our entire family by name after the first day and our house keeper upon taking notice of my son's toys in the room) made him and elephant laying on a rock with the towel and a brown blanket! To return to the room and see that with a few of his animal toys positioned around it made his ENTIRE DAY!!!!! Clean hotel, loved the little garden in the bathroom, nice complimentary breakfast ---LOVE The cheese and fresh yogurt daily, hot springs pool was nice after a long day as well. 5 STARS---esp for the PRICE!

Room Tip: If travelling with a family I would recommend getting a junior suite! So much more space and huge ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fanwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

When driving down the unpaved road leading to the hotel I was very skeptical about what I would find. I am so pleasantly surprised by my stay at Arenal Manoa. The staff is incredible and extremely friendly. We got to know all of the waiters and bartenders through daily interactions and pleasantries. Our room had a perfect view of the volcano and we even had monkeys playing in the backyard! The food at the restaurant was very good and the breakfast buffet had a lot of options. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.