We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Family of five stayed in 2 Junior Suite rooms. The hotel is actually individual duplexes with porches. Each positioned so there is a stunning view of the volcano out the large glass windows. The rooms are nicely decorated. The bathrooms are ridicuously large. The staff was amazing. Extremely helpful and personable. Everyone loved the restuarant. I thought it was average and pricey but it is a resort restaurant. The pool was very nice with gorgeous views. There is a hot spring there but I never made it there. My daughter enjoyed it though. If you are looking for peaceful and private this is a great place to stay. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I don"t believe there is a room with a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    579
    252
    50
    8
    5
See reviews for
277
386
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Arenal Manoa is a beautiful resort with an amazing view of the Arenal Volcano. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the rooms are are quite nice as well. I enjoyed almost everything about the resort except a few things. The hot tub by the pool was not very hot and the hot springs by the reception were not very hot either. So I feel that could be improved. And as well the restaurant menu was over- priced. But the service in the restaurant was excellent and the food was quite tasty. The staff at reception were very helpful and accommodating as well

Room Tip: When booking a hotel room ask for a room with a view to the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Relaxing and peacefull enviroment to stay. Agreable and competitive customer service.
Our suggestions pay attention to details, we expect to hear more about Manoa Hotel in he near future.

Best regards,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

After a week on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica, our family of 12 scheduled two nights at Manoa Hotel & Spa to view the volcano and experience the La Fortuna area. Everyone was amazed to wake up and see from their bed the magnificent Arenal volcano performing for their enjoyment. The rooms were large and comfortable. The restaurant and food were great. There are many tours and activities to enjoy, as well as just relaxing in the hot springs pools.
Several family members scheduled spa appointments and were more than pleased. A massage from Erick is worth a trip to Costa Rica. A lovely place, well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

Great place to spend a few days. Stunning setting marred only by mediocre beds and overpriced restaurant. Still, recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Absolutely loved this place. You feel so private with all the windows open to take in the great view of the volcano. So cute! Loved the tree in the bathroom. All of the staff were wonderful and attentive. The hot springs pool were just what we needed after a long travel day. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: All are view oriented. Maybe up the hill near the restaurant? Or down near springs?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the Manoa for three nights, but wished we had booked a longer stay. This hotel was our third hotel in our Costa Rica trip. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are really clean. They have a nice hot springs pool on the property along with a hot tub and a regular pool. The pictures do not do it justice it is just such a pretty place. The view of the volcano from your bungalow is just WOW!!! The staff is very attentive and they have shuttles to move you around the grounds if needed, but the grounds are fairly easy to walk.

The rooms have a mini fridge and a safe for your use. We are a family of four and had no problems with room space so i consider the rooms a large size. They also have a nice porch with two rocking chairs facing the volcano. The included breakfast is good and convinient but can get repetative after a few days.

The hotel entrance is located about ten minutes from La Fortuna, then add an extra four to five minutes down a bumpy road to the office. Not to bad of a drive for Costa Rica. There is a small grocery store between La Fortuna and the hotel. Tip: We bought a foldable cooler at sams and would get ice from the hotel and fill it with cold drinks. Saved us alot of money and the kids always had a cold drink nearby.

The hotel is close to many attractions. We went to the hanging bridges, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna Waterfall and to the Springs Hotel hot springs. The entrance to The Springs hotel is only a five minute drive from the Manoa, but the office from the turn off is a long 10 minute drive(Scary), but worth it.

Loved the Manoa and Costa Rica. Already planning a return visite for next year. Tip: You get a 15% discount on the room rate if you charge it on your American Express but you need to let them know when making your reservation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.