We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful all the way around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge to your Saves list
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 21, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful all the way around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place is breathtaking day and night! I was very pleased at every turn. The views, management, the nature trail, the food, simply everything is wonderful about this place. I really cant wait to return to Costa Rica and to this place:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    37
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here on my recent honeymoon. Location is great within the arrenal area to access all the local attractions. Grounds are a beautiful little nature preserve, and each room is its own little cabin with a private parking space-very nice if you want to time to feel alone with the sounds of the jungle. Service was excellent - the man running the place even took the time to draw us a map to rio Celeste national park for a day trip we were planning!

Be aware that it is an Eco-lodge concept place, which means no AC and rooms that are not completely bug-proof. Neither of these things became an issue during our stay.

Overall, a very pretty place to stay for a good value if you plan to be filling most of your day with adventures around the area!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We traveled to Arenal over Thanksgiving 2011, so the rainy season was just ending. The cabin we had was larger than we needed, we had the 2 bedroom with the tiny kitchenette, which we did not use, but nice to have the frig and counter to sit at. We loved being in the jungle, such a unique experience being able to hike on their trails at your leisure. We did the bird watch tour and the frog hike, loved the frog hike! The bird tour was fine, but we saw more birds eating breakfast sitting outside and others just on the grounds of the Oasis. Nice people and a fun experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My friend and I stay there for 1 night and it was really nice. The cabin was surrended by nature and I was really clean, the bed was big and cozy. We took the night frog tour and it was more than amazing ! I would recommend this place to everybody

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbell river
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I with our 4 and 6 year old boys stayed at Arenal Oasis the first week of March 2012. The cabins were cozy and clean. The grounds are well kept and tidy. There is a lovely nature trail that is self guided and has a butterfly garden and several stops along the way where you can see snakes, lizards, frogs and spiders in glass tanks. We would have liked to do the night walk but I felt that $80 usd was out of our price range to take our family of 4. It would have been nice to have a family discount offered. Breakfast was include and was ok, not very hot, but the varity of birds surrounding us as we ate made it very pleasant. If you go during the first weekend of March be prepared for the very loud festival in town. We chose this place for a peacful and quiet location and were not disappointed until about 10pm when the music started in town (which was about 3 km away). The music was so loud it felt like it was in the next room! Not anything the owners can do about it, but just be aware that if you don't want to take part in the festivities you will be exposed to a long night if noise regardless.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We loved this spot - close to town (a little tough to find the first night) but quiet and with the most welcoming and helpful staff. It's clean and very well-maintained - good shower, good mattress. A charming touch: the towels were folded into a different shape each day that our cabin was cleaned (a snail one day, a heart another...). Don't miss the evening frog walk! I was amazed at how much wildlife we saw, and our guide was very informative - it helped me to appreciate so much more deeply all the wildlife around us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I want to encourage anyone visiting La Fortuna and the Arenal Volcano region of Costa Rica to sign up for a Jungle Night Walk at the Arenal Oasis. Arenal Oasis is an eco-lodge and wildlife sanctuary—privately run by the Rojas Bonilla family—that offers affordable (20.00 USD) 3-hour walks through the rainforest at night. Tours are run by a trained naturalist, and you’ll see things on these walks that will take your breath away.

I decided to do the Night Walk on my last night in Fortuna, and it was a perfect way to end a fabulous vacation. Our guide, Inti, was not only knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area, but his enthusiasm for interpreting and sharing his knowledge was infectious. We saw toads, lizards, insects (large praying mantis, walking sticks, leaf-cutter ants, etc.), snakes, spiders, a sleeping toucan, and the glorious red-legged tree frogs, all in their natural environment. While we walked the easy-to-navigate (flat) trails, with water and flashlights provided, we saw more than 26 new species we had not seen in the two weeks spent in the country.

Although we saw no mammals, Inti pointed out the rooting sounds of a nearby armadillo on the ground, and the sound of dropping fruit signaled to him that a mammal was foraging around above us in the canopy. And Inti also showed us a roost in large tropical leaves that tent bats had recently used for daytime sleeping.

In addition to animals seen in the wild, Arenal Oasis has display cases that feature other species held captive. Looking at hairy tarantulas and poisonous pit vipers, behind the safety of glass, at night, was eerie and exciting.

When I do return to La Fortuna, I hope to be able to spend a night or two at the Arenal Oasis eco-lodge. I believe there are 7 cabins there, and a small restaurant on-site. For me, access to the property and its wild nature would be a huge draw. (We also saw three bird species we had not seen before the afternoon we went on the tour, before the sun went down.)

In hiking the rainforest, most tourists do not venture out at night, when the jungle comes most alive. Don’t miss the opportunity to experience a nature hike like this. Having someone tell us what species made the various calls and noises we heard out there in the dark was a thrill, as was the opportunity to see colorful tree frogs straddling branches a few feet away from our face. We’ll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge

Address: PO Box 21, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful place is the results of several years of conservation, allowing to a different species of animal a new home; at the beginning of the 80's was a big cattle field and now it is a paradise for Sloths, Mexican Anteater, Gray Fox, Ocelots, howler Monkeys, Toucans, Manakines, Hummingbirds, Turkeys, Tree Frogs, Glass Frogs and Poison Dart Frogs, Snakes, Lizards and much more...Accomplishing this rich natural environment, the Rojas Bonilla family created some cabins out in the woods, restaurant and one thematic trail of a several stations all along the refuge, where the visitors get a speech about natural history of the species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Oasis Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.