We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the night hike but do not sleep here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arenal Oasis to your Saves list
Arenal Oasis
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   PO Box 21, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
middletown
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Go for the night hike but do not sleep here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have to first start off by saying that the family who owns this little place are wonderfully nice. They are really trying to make this an eco friendly lodge. The grounds are great and the cause is worth while. With that said, the cabin we stayed in was so inundated with mold and mildew that we had to leave after our first night and cancel the rest of our stay there (luckily for us we had just come from arenal green down the road and they had room for us to stay the rest of our trip). The mold and mildew was so bad that we could not breath, we got no sleep and my lungs filled up with fluid from just being in the room for less than 8 hours. The walls were covered and there was absolutly no ventilation and the windows are locked shut. The fan that will blow mold onto you while you try to sleep is a bonus. We have stayed in dense rainforest before and have never experienced anything like this. Do the night walk it was wonderful. Sorry to say, unless they can get this under control, for health reasons do not stay here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the cabin on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    31
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012 via mobile

A very friendly, organised and Eco-friendly resort. The cabins are discreetly distributed in the forested area and the rooms are very well kept and clean. The restaurant, a simple structure, serves good simple dinner and a breakfast where you can watch a wide variety of birds come to feeding tables. The lodge is well located to visit Arenal Volcano and the activities on offer in the area. They are well connected with links and tours to the parks and pursuits. One of the highlights of the lodge is a night walk to search for all manner of creatures! On my walk I saw glass frogs, red eyed tree frogs (virtually guaranteed as they have an area of small ponds in their grounds) and a small snake eating frogs eggs. The guide I used (Inti) was excellent and really knew what he was looking for and where to find it.

A lodge to relax, enjoy and soak up a little of Costa Rican hospitality and nature.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Arenal Oasis in August of this year and enjoyed it very much! The staff was warm and welcoming. Our cabin was clean, quiet and through the large back window, we had a great view of plants, hummingbirds, and leaf cutter ants. Every morning we enjoyed breakfast while watching the colorful assortment of birds eating nearby the pavilion. At night, we sat on the front porch of the cabin and listened to the wildlife.

We took the guided night walk tour through the rainforest on the property. Our guide was very informative and helped us to locate many native plants and animals. We even got to see two red-eyed tree frogs! We also took a leisurely walk through rainforest during the day in addition to a visit to their butterfly sanctuary.

From Arenal Oasis, we were able to walk to the La Fortuna waterfall as well as the downtown area. The walk to either location is long, but doable.

Room Tip: Those looking for two beds, the cabin closest to the office was fantastic. It was isolated from all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We spent 3 nights here in September 2011 and it definitely wasn't enough! We absolutely adored this hotel, the owners, and all the staff. The birdwatching was fantastic and we loved eating breakfast and dinner al fresco in the covered restaurant. Breakfast with the birds is great, watching the chachalacas, tanagers, euphonias, and honeycreepers coming in for the fruit that is put out. They even have a well-worn bird book sitting out at the restaurant so you can look up what you see. Taking a nice quiet walk around the trail on the property led to many more bird sightings, as well as bats and frogs. The night frog walk (its really in the early evening) is great - Inti was a spectacular guide, very fun and knowledgable and speaks excellent English. Andres (son of owner Rosa [who is also a delight]) helped us spot toucans high up in the trees by the reception area, as well as various other birds. Everyone here is so nice, so down-to-earth, and so gracious - it was our favorite place to stay when coupled with the great birdwatching and the frog tour. The hosts also will help set you up on tours that interest you (the Cano Negro river trip was excellent for wildlife viewing!) This fine little hotel comprised of individual cabins is highly recommended if you like quiet locations that are dark at night and have a mellow atmosphere. Simply the best!

Room Tip: Small cabin behind the reception area is great for birdwatching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the cozy little cottages of Arenal Oasis in September 2011 and we loved every minute of it! The cottages are sparkle clean in the heart of nature and very private. There is a nice trail on the site where you can walk and enjoy nature (and a neat butterfly farm) at your own pace at any time of day/night. Breakfast is included and every morning, we were greeted by 3 terrific people working in the kitchen and serving us great food while we admired all the birds around the kitchen terrasse. You can stay put and relax on site and eat dinner ate the terrasse if you wish. Or, you can order food or take a quick cab and visit the surroundings at about 15 minutes from the lodge.

Thank you Andrez for your kindest attentions during our stay and thanks to your wonderful family!

Claire and Marc from Canada xox

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My fiance was staying here with a friend during her visit of the Arenal volcano and she loved it. She loved the setting of the cabins, their cleanliness and the friendliness of the people running the place. We wanted to stay here when I visited but unfortunately it was full. We ended up on the same street at Cerro Chatto "Eco" Lodge, believing it would be a similar place, and were deeply disappointed by it (see my review of that).
I wish we could have stayed here and if we come back to this area we will make sure to make early reservations Arenal Oasis.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

My friend and I had a wonderful time staying here. The cabins are simple but clean and very pleasant, and the family that runs is very nice. Lots of natural beauty, not at all crowded, a good place for some quality quiet time. Or as a base for day-long jaunts into the surrounding area. The unique attraction of Arenal Oasis is the eco-sensitive series of native frog ponds they've developed, which are fun to explore by day, but also in their night-time guided tours. Beautiful, painted frogs of all colors! Close by are hot springs, the Arenal volcano, a great park with hanging bridges hiking trails, a beautiful waterfall, and swimming inside the crater of an extinct volcano. Arenal Oasis is a very good place for natural beauty, an unhurried pace, friendly people.
Here's one suggestion: for an additional place to eat, with great local food, try Hotel Flores, a 10-minute walk away back on the main road. It's a good compliment to the meals at Arenal Oasis, for some added variety.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arenal Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Oasis

Address: PO Box 21, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenal Oasis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful place is the results of several years of conservation, allowing to a different species of animal a new home; at the beginning of the 80’s was a big cattle field and now it is a paradise for Sloths, Mexican Anteater, Gray Fox, Ocelots, howler Monkeys, Toucans, Manakines, Hummingbirds, Turkeys, Tree Frogs, Glass Frogs and Poison Dart Frogs, Snakes, Lizards and much more...Accomplishing this rich natural environment, the Rojas Bonilla family created some cabins out in the woods, restaurant and one thematic trail of a several stations all along the refuge, where the visitors get a speech about natural history of the species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Oasis Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Oasis Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arenal Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.