We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality & grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Kokoro Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hospitality & grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our family (2 kids under 15) stayed here in July 2014. What stood out the most was how the staff worked from beginning to end to make our experience extremely positive. They constantly went out of their way to assist us and create a positive experience. They were so helpful with issues we were having completely unrelated to our stay there (rental car problems, having forgot our wallet when we went with a tour company, etc). They took any issue/problem and made it into a non-issue. On top of that, their grounds are beautiful, well-cared for, clean and relaxing. The hot springs are tastefully done, and the room we stayed in was spacious, very quiet and clean. We would welcome the opportunity to visit and receive their gracious hospitality again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    99
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
114
194
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our visit to Kokoro could be defined as smooth. we didn't suffer any problem with the hotel. The rooms were clean (but humid the first day.... solved by using the AC for a couple of hours each night) the pool and the hot springs were nice and breakfast was adequate. We stayed at the hotel for two nights and had enough activities to fill out our time (such as visiting the volcano or the town of Arenal)

PROS: Good location (ten minutes away from "downtown" Arenal and 20 from volcano park), Ample rooms and bathrooms , A/C (needed for humidity control), and small but nice hot springs pool.

CONS: Need to take a taxi for going anywhere (Make sure they use the taximeter, 1500 to 2000 Colones and Don't use US Dollars, the change is a rip off).

Summary: i will stay again in the place but you need to be at breakfast at least half an hour before it ends our you will have t ask even for the spoons.

Room Tip: Choose the farthest away from reception area to avoid noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel Kokoro was really nice to stay at. The staff were all very friendly and very willing to help with anything we needed. They booked all our excursions and taxis for us and paid for it so we just had one bill at the end. The grounds were BEAUTIFUL. There was a little forest trail there that was really cool. The room itself was average but it smelled really badly of mildew.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Don't be fooled at how the cabin looks small from the outside. As soon as you walk inside, you'll be surprised at how big and spacious its interior. The ceiling is also high. It has one king size and a twin size bed with big rustic closet, dresser, side table and a small table with chairs. This is a beautiful resort nestled in the forest. You'll hear the sounds of nature especially in the evening. The gardens are amazing, the pool is clean, the reception and restaurant are open concept. The staff are also amazing - very friendly. I also had the chance to chat with the owners and they're very much down to earth people. My 14 year old son loved it here. We've stayed in cabins in Alberta/BC and Kokoro is incomparable. Yes, it is 7 km from La Fortuna town, and you'll need a taxi to get there. But how else can you enjoy the beauty of nature surrounding you? And also, regardless of whether the restaurant is open for lunch or dinner, people will tend to go to the town anyway. At night, I would go for a walk around the property with my flashlight and there is a security guarding the facility. I've stayed in a 5* hotel while in Costa Rica, but the best staff I've ever encountered are in Hotel Kokoro.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Cabins are well designed and had the feel of being in the forest. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Tons of birds around, breakfast was delicious - we also had dinner at their restaurant and it was great! Have to cab it everywhere, but we had tours booked that picked up and dropped off at the hotel. Reception can call for transportation too, so no issues. Had fun conversations with the entire family that owned the place. Great experience and looking forward to coming back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and hoping for more. If only we knew how amazing this place, we would've stayed longer! The rustic cabin and location were perfect getaway from city bustling lifestyle. We needed so badly coming from heavily tourist spot playa tamarindo. The overall service was excellent! They kindly helped & solved our excursion problems. Breakfast was great as well! Forget those continental terrible breakfast from tamarindo. We would love to come back & stay longer next time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

In January 2014 we stayed for two nights at this delightful lodge. Their beautifully landscaped grounds overlook the Arenal Volcano. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The owner Philipe made us a delicious dinner in their lovely open air dining room on our first night there. The cabins are well appointed and private.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kokoro Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.