We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back and Chilled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kokoro Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
“Laid back and Chilled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I and wifey stayed here for 3 nights, we had great time and were very happy. It's pretty close to downtown ($8 by taxi). Michael who works at the reception was very helpful and helped us arrange all the activities and got us a good discounts (Ask Michale for it). "Anita" who own the place was great, very friendly and an amazing cook. She cooked dinner for us one day since we missed breakfast, as we were out in the morning for an activity. Just the personal touch ! made us feel so special. I really enjoyed chilling in their lounge, Good book + nice view + cigar + good coffee...Life is Good ! The bathrooms were clean, but definitely need an upgrade, and they should include more choices in the breakfast. Overall Highly Recommend this place, if you are looking for friendly staff, location and value for money !

Room Tip: Name your price, they will work with you to accommodate you. Don't be shy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    92
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
108
187
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We booked for one night but immediatley when we arrived we booked more nights.
The welcome was very personal and warm. The location was beautiful and very relaxed. And it is so nearby everything you want to visit, see or do. But the stay is so relaxing. Thanks Kokoro for a super stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I spent three nights at Kokoro Arenal in September 2013 and loved the entire experience! The owners David and Anita are fantastic and really made you feel like family. On my first night there Anita cooked an exceptionally delicious meal for the guests herself, and really made an effort to get to know everyone. Natalie and Fernando at the front desk were amazing hosts and provided excellent service, in addition to being lovely to chat with. As a solo traveller I felt very welcome.

The property was also gorgeous. My cabina was well-appointed and spotlessly clean, and the hot springs and volcano views on the property were great. I wish I'd spent more of my vacation here and would recommend it to anyone visiting in the Arenal area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family (husband, children 4 & 8 years old) and I stayed at the Kokoro Hotel for 6 days in July. We had read the reviews on Tripadvisor and I really wanted to love this place. Unfortunately, I can say that we would not stay there again, and we were glad to leave at the end of our stay.
First impression: The first impression of the Kokoro is not the best: a huge container of insecticide sits right by the entrance of the property. Once on the grounds, the property is beautifully landscaped, and very well cared for. The reception was great and we felt welcome.
Our cabin was cabin #1, and again, the first impression was not so great. The cabin is so dark, even during the day with all lights switched on. It really felt like a bat’s cave. That said, the cabin was very clean, and the bed comfortable. Hot water was an issue, and made kids’ showers a nightmare: the water would go from FREEZING cold to BURNING hot every minute or so. We also had a problem with the air conditioning and it took three visits from the maintenance man, and three days to get it fixed. During that time, the cabin was very muggy and uncomfortable, and we were told that the AC unit was fine, and just to not use it.
Another issue was with breakfast. Breakfast is included, and quite tasty. The Koroko will actually even make you some items to order. The only problem is that breakfast is supposed to start at 7:00am, but rarely is ready until 7:15- 7:20. That would not be an issue normally, but most activities (ziplining, ATV, Canyoneering) pick you up at the hotel at around 7:10-7:30, and four days in a row, we could not eat our breakfast before we were picked up.
The pool is beautiful at the hotel. They have a waterfall coming into the water, but it was turned on only one day during our stay. The same applies to the thermal pools, the waterfalls were never turned on.
Overall, would we have stayed only a day or two, I think we would have loved our stay. Yes, the cabin feels like a hot, muggy grotto, but we could have lived with it, as the people working at the reception were so nice and helpful (minus the AC issue). One of the staff also has an ADORABLE puppy she brought to work and the kids loved it (we did too, what a nice dog, and we are cat people!). But all the little issues combined made it so we were actually happy to move on to our next hotel, and we would not recommend to family and friends to stay there, as the minuses outweighed the positives.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent two nights at hotel Kokoro. A good, comfortable room in a beautiful setting with really friendly an helpful staff. The communal area was relaxing and sociable and the hot springs just brilliant - lying in hot mineral water under the stars! The view of the volcano and the wonderful gardens (and great breakfasts!) made this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found this hotel on a whim when we were making last minute changes to our plans. We were pleased to find Kokoro had a cabin available and were willing to accommodate us last minute (with a discount on a family cabin with there being only two of us). We had no idea we were in for an incredible retreat so close to the town. It is quiet and eco natural, everything was built by the family who owns the land. The hot springs and the pool are picture perfect. Each cabin is tucked behind trees so you have privacy no matter where you are. Perfect for both romantic getaways and family vacation! The best part of the experience was the staff - so very accommodating and friendly! We felt like we were part of the family. We did not want to leave!

I highly recommend this lodge! I have already sent my aunt and uncle to stay there and they loved it as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I don't have enough good things to say about Hotel Kokoro. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. They offered great beer and restaurant recommendations, and always went above and beyond to make sure guests were comfortable. (They're also just genuinely nice people - it was great getting to know them)

The room was clean, and after you get used to the humidity (the rain forest is no joke), quite comfortable. Each room (that I saw) was its own little house, and the plants throughout the hotel are absolutely gorgeous. Do not pass up sitting in the hot springs - there are 3 or 4 levels, all varying temperatures, and they are amazing. You get out of the water feeling SO refreshed. The pool area is also nice, but we only spent 1 afternoon there. Overall, the grounds are well-maintained. Everything from the rooms to the front desk lounge/foyer to the pools/hot springs felt very clean.

The dining offered was delicious - one of our favorite meals of the trip. We had breakfast at the hotel each day we stayed, and dinner was offered 1 night we were there. (since it was off-season, there weren't enough hotel guests to support a full meal each night, but we were glad for the chance to explore local cuisine in town).

The location is great - it was about a 5 to 10 minute drive to town one way, and a 5 to 10 minute drive to the La Fortuna Waterfall and hanging bridges the other way. We also were able to hike in the Arenal national park (at the base of the volcano), and I think that was only about a 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#19 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kokoro Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.