We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kokoro Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Kokoro hotel and fell in love with the place.  The whole atmosphere and surrounding are very relaxing and we were madeto feel like at home. The food was delicious and our room was very clean and spacious. We enjoyed hot springs under full moon. Special thanks to Natalie who went beyond her duties and gave us advises of where to go and helped us dealing with some personal staff, to other staff members who were always helpful and taking care of anything we asked. And Felico and his family did all their best to make our stay unforgettable. 

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    106
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
119
203
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just a short drive from town, and is the perfect starting point for the numerous activities in the area. It offers a fantastic view of the volcano from your private cabana. The rooms are basic, but spacious, and are all done in natural wood giving you that "rustic" feel. Fernando and his staff are excellent, and can't do enough for you. This hotel offers great value as breakfast was included in the price. Highly recommend it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just wanted to add our voices to the chorus here -- this place is a lush paradise indeed, but what makes it a truly amazing experience is the staff, especially Fernando, who gave us the warmest of welcomes the night we dragged in after a 6 hour drive in torrential downpours, and Felico, who rescued our car from a crisis with a smile. Add the hot springs, delicious meals, comfortable cabins, and fantastic views of Volcan Arenal, and we're definitely coming back. Thanks so much for such a wonderful stay! - Jenny & Cory.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Cute cabins very large rooms and bathrooms. Lobby is open air and serves as bar, too. beautiful view of Arenal volcano. Staff is excellent. we loved Natalie. Natural hot mineral pool was so relaxing. Giant regular pool as well. Good breakfasts. Hotel's taxi driver was very good on time and picked us up in La fortuna when we asked. This place had many hummingbirds and a sloth. It was spectacular! You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This a nice hotel, a bit far from town, so forget about walking there. The view of the volcan is superb. The room was OK, but there were several open spaces that would let in not only mosquitoes, but also lizzards and some spiders, so if you dont mind that, it is perfectly OK. Wi fi signal is very weak also. The thermal water and swiming pools were very OK also. The breakfast very simple and basic, but tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A big thank you to all the team of this hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights with our baby and a couple of friends. The staff has been very helpful with the baby and so friendly to all of us. Thanks again for this great service.
We also loved the place, its garden, the hot/cold natural pools and the view from the breakfast/dining room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place and I would definitely recommend it! The friendly and helpful staff were amazing. I truly can't say enough complimentary things about them. The breakfast was very good. The room was simple but roomy and the views were spectacular. It was easy to get to and short drive to the major attractions in the area. I enjoyed the hot springs and pool. In response to someone's earlier comment about not flushing toilet paper- this is pretty standard throughout the region so to me it was a nonissue.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kokoro Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.