We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay, with a real hot spring!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kokoro Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Poway, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay, with a real hot spring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'll start with the only criticism I can come up with: If you want to see the volcano from inside your room, ask about which room you'll have, as the extensive gardening can cover some rooms' external views. However, that one criticism leads to my first complement: The grounds here are wonderful! Lots of variety of fruit trees (banana, orange, star fruit, and even cocoa!) and tropical plants that are manicured to look both natural and clean at the same time. The staff is very helpful with accurate, useful recommendations. The rooms are clean, and the beds are great. The highlight are the hot spring pools. The water is NOT clear, but that's how it actually comes out of the ground. It's important to remember that if you stay here, you won't need to spend money going to another place's hot springs. The water's very hot, but the staff can mix in some cold spring water to get the temperature right. The water is turned on at 2:30 every day, since I assume the water supply may be limited from their well. The cabins' construction has a few gaps near the rooflines, but we never had a problem with mosquitoes coming in or the air conditioning getting out. Lastly, the staff as a passion for this place, and is expanding their lodging options to offer even more variety. A very satisfying stay!

Room Tip: Choose one of the newer rooms towards the north side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    96
    32
    9
    6
See reviews for
112
192
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here booked by Eliot Greenspan of Costa Rica Custom Tours. We would never have found it in our own. Beautifully landscaped grounds with so many beautiful flowers, birds chirping every where, very nice Refreshing beautiful pool, and separate small but adequate hot springs on the premises . Our tour guides even found monkeys asleep in the trees at the entrance! Nice full Breakfast with fresh tropical fruits, eggs, American or Costa Rican style. Good coffee. Very peaceful. Very relaxing! I Fi in the lobby. Rooms very large and thankfully had AC to help cool and dry out the humidity. The only minus is its not close to town so you have to take a taxi to town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Kokoro has captured exactly the concept we was expecting for Costa Rica.

In thes hotel you get espectacular volcano view, great natural gardens, and the thermal place.

They was so kind people even when we are the only couple of spanish spoken visitors at that time we feel "like in home".

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I quickly glanced over the 1-star reviews and couldn't help but laugh. They couldn't be more inaccurate. Kokoro has been great. The staff are so friendly. They went out of there way to pick up appetizers/tapas from the city for us when a driver was making a city run. They packed us breakfast when we accidentally slept in and did not let our shuttle leave without us. They made calls to a local ATV place where I thought I ha misplaced a family gift (my Leatherman knife).

The only cons are for cleanliness because the tub was a little dingy, 8/10 cleanliness. I could still probably eat off of it. Also, the walls are paper thin which doesn't bother me, but I can see how it might bother some people.

This place will be recommended to all my friends. I almost forgot, they have various fruit trees on the property and we were picking lines and adding them to our drinks in the smaller/intimate hot springs they have here.

Doug Haigh & Kelly Haigh (newlyweds)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Both me and my friend enjoyed our stay at Kokoro, the hotel itself in a lovely quiet setting, hotel room is nice and comfy, breakfast is fantastic. Dinner is excellent!

Most of all, hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful, and very attentive.

I would recommend anyone who visit Arenal volcano area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff is amazing (hi Michael and Fernando). They act like it is not even work to help you - it is a pleasure. They were great about arranging taxis, tours and even helping us order dinner delivery. The open air reception/sitting area and dining areas are great. I generally don't like pools, but the setting here i so beautiful, full of flowers and birds (they put out fruit to attract them) that it is a pleasure just to sit there. The grounds are beautiful with many exotic flowers.

The breakfasts are very nice. Each room has its own little porch, we went during the rainy season, so i spent a couple of hours a day just sitting on our porch and watching birds and reading. We staying in 12, which is quiet and has a very big, tiled bathroom; i think it was a very good unit. Stay away from 4-7 (i think), which are by the reception area and get traffic noise when cars pull up. To get to the volcano was a $20 cab ride each way and $8-10 each way into La Fortuna, so that can add up, but all of the tours pick you up at the hotel.

Only negatives were: on the day i picked to sit by the pool and relax, they had a guy power washing the stone steps the whole day (this is necessary for safety, but it was annoying to have the noise the whole day). There is also sometimes grass cutting, etc, but that is going to be true anywhere and is necessary. The room itself was fairly plain, but comfy and functional. It had a fridge, was very clean. it was dark, but they brought an extra lamp when we asked.

All in all, i would definitely stay here again if we came back. I would actually give it a 4.7.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I've been to Costa Rica just two times and both times, we've stayed here. It's not pretentious like some other hotels. I like the "mom & pop" style hotels. You're in the middle of the jungle with birds, bugs and thunder sounds all around you. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings, large bathrooms and decent sized beds. It's perfect for couples, families and large groups. They have all the amenities you need. Although, they don't have a full time wait staff on site during low season, you can get food delivered to the hotel. The town is only a few minutes away. The natural hot spring is awesome too. Don't let the murky water fool you; it's all natural, straight from the volcano. I'm not sure if it's the magical minerals but you really do feel good afterwards. I passed out after each dip in the spring. :P

The massages were also wonderful. They're done outside in a gazebo. I've never had a massage out in the open before, but the sounds of nature actually helped me relax even more.

The staff were always friendly and willing to help. The complimentary breakfast is always good and plentiful. This is my spot. In fact, I love this place so much that I'm going to get married here. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kokoro Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.