We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kokoro Arenal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Family stayed here two nights in April and loved it. It was our first time in the area and hadn't pre-booked any activities so we needed a lot of help figuring out which ones to do. The reception desk guys were amazingly welcoming, knowledgeable, and patient as we asked them question after question after question. For our canopy tour, we didn't feel like they were steering us to one company versus another; with their help we picked the right fit for us, and they handled all the reservations and pickup logistics (most of the staff seem to be bilingual).

We loved our standalone cabin. Fit four people comfortably with everything we needed. The included breakfast was good, as was the not-included dinner. Free coffee all day. We also enjoyed the pool and hot springs. Lots of birds visible everywhere on the property (we saw tanagers, great kiskadees, and gray-headed chachalacas, and apparently missed out on the toucans).

Since we decided not to rent a car, and the hotel is well outside walking distance from town, we were also enormously grateful for their EXCELLENT recommendation of an unofficial taxi driver named Randall, whom we used all three days. Randall was very friendly, charged us a very fair price (MUCH cheaper than the official taxis), and was happy to come pick us up whenever we wanted, including very early in the morning. He doesn't speak much English, but as long as you can tell him where to pick you up and drop you off, I highly recommend him, as unlike most drivers you can be confident he will not try to rip you off. His number is 8762-8730.

Thank you Fernando, Felico, Alonso, Amanda, and Todd!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    93
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
111
187
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My friends and I only had the opportunity to stay here one night but it was well worth it! Friendly staff and very well appointed rooms (with a great view from the patio!), Great value here and a very quick drive to Arenal. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Cabina #5 has more than enough space for 4 and offers a stunning sunrise view of Arenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Kokoro was by far the best hotel I've ever stayed at (even better than any 5 star resort) because of the entire experience! The people are what makes it the best! They go above and beyond to make your stay feel comfortable and like you are family. They help you book tours and have great recommendations for what to do and see. The location is gorgeous! The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. No complaints. I loved every minute of it! If you want a memorable vacation, this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, the ground are amazing, the food is delicious I love the fact that is owned by a family that are so nice and welcoming I highly recommend this hotel to anyone! And if you stop in Fortuna you will notice that the prices for hotels r not as cheap but worth what ur payin for here at this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, Ca.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This lodge has it all! Great rooms at affordable prices. Located on an amazing piece of property with tons of animals! Great for families. When in La Fortuna, you have to ask for a tour with Giovanni. He is a local tour guide who knows when and where to find any animals! His tour is just amazing! And very affordable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We just returned from an incredible 10 day Costa Rica trip (Arenal, Monteverde, Manuel Antonio) planned through Catalina at CR Referrals (highly recommended). We are a family of 3 including our adult daughter. We were looking for nice but not extravagant hotels with a spacious room to accommodate the 3 of us. Plus an additional challenge of Easter week and limited availability.

We were very happy with the Kokoro. It is definitely not the most luxurious hotel in the Arenal area but we loved the casual, low key, comfortable, welcoming feeling.

We had a 6 hour flight delay into the San Jose airport and then a 3 hour transfer to Arenal, finally arriving at the Kokoro at 1am, to find Felico and Fernando waiting for us with smiling faces and warm welcomes! Ahh, now the wonderful vacation could begin!

They showed us to room #3, aptly named "Pura Vida." Our room had a view of the volcano, was immaculate, and very spacious with two double beds and a twin bed. The bathroom was large, well lit and had a huge shower. The whole property is beautifully landscaped. We found all of the staff to be very friendly, especially Felico the owners' son. We enjoyed sitting by the pool with the beautiful view of the volcano. Breakfast was a small buffet offering eggs, pinto gallo, fruit, plantains. Wifi did not work in our room but worked fine in the lobby and we liked hanging out there anyway. It's true, they don't have a bar but will serve you a beer in the lobby/lounge.

We did spend a lot of money on taxis. It might be worth looking into renting a car while in La Fortuna.

During our two days in the area we did:
-Kayaking in Lake Arenal with Desafio Adventures
-La Fortuna Waterfall on our own
-Proyecto Asis Volunteering Tour (www.proyectoasis.com) - highly recommended
-Dinner: Altamira, Nayara Resort
Felico at our hotel Kokoro recommended this for our last night in Arenal. The Nayara shuttle picked us up - they are located very close to the Kokoro. The Nayara is very lovely and Jonathan at the hotel front desk was very friendly and took good care of us for dinner. A classical guitarist was playing, the service was excellent and the dinner delicious.
$79 with tip

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

From the second we arrived the treatment was five star. The cabins are rustic but very clean. This is a family run hotel so there is a personal service that you get here that you won't get a larger resort.
Todd, Amanda and Felico were extremely helpful in planning our excursions which made them ever more enjoyable.
The breakfast and the hot springs were also incredible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: La Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kokoro Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.