We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome dog friendly hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kokoro Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$65 (USD)
Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome dog friendly hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were so lucky to come across Kokoro while searching for a pet-friendly hotel in the La Fortuna area. The best part about this place is the private cabinas, hands down. Each room is a separate small house set on a hill overlooking Volcano Arenal. The rooms are huge with super comfy beds and beautiful wood furniture. Our room had a flat screen TV and large refrigerator too. Not to mention AC, which was new and worked perfectly (a rarity in CR). The bathroom is also very spacious, the shower had great pressure and hot water and there was plenty of space to move around. The overall feel was that everything was relatively new and well-maintained, and very clean.

The staff was really helpful and gave great recommendations re: restaurants and excursions. Breakfast was included and held in a lovely open-air dining room. We were curious as to why this place readily accepts pets (we couldn't find any other hotels in the area that advertised), but they were super nice about it and said all we needed to do was bring a bed for him. We were traveling in low season so didn't see many other guests and no other dogs, but the grounds of the hotel are expansive and we had a great time walking around and exploring the gardens. And there's a pool & hot springs!

For the price this place is a steal -- I've traveled all around Costa Rica, with and without a dog, and the amenities/size/privacy offered can't be beat. We will absolutely stay here again next time we visit Arenal, as should you if you're passing through the area with a dog!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    129
    42
    14
    8
See reviews for
133
236
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Kokoro for two nights on a belated honeymoon. We were taken to the hotel at the advice of a cab driver who picked us up from a lesser hotel that did not meet our expectations. We were immediately greeted by a friendly, helpful staff who eagerly showed us our room and the exquisite property. We spent our first evening lounging in the beautiful pool area, which we had all to ourselves. The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in an open air patio surrounded by colorful tropical flowers.
The staff was helpful in discussing recreation options with us, but it did not feel like they were being overly pushy in order to get a commission, which is something that we felt almost everywhere else we stayed in Costa Rica. In the end, we found our stay at Kokoro to be refreshing, in both the surroundings, the lodgings, and the staff with which we dealt. You can't beat the views of the volcano; waking up to a misty Arenal right outside our door was an unforgettable experience.
Another plus: the hotel has a very pleasant common area outfitted with rustic furniture, coffee and tea, other drink options, a guitar, and games. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed spending time in this space after dinner (we went to town for dinner, it is a quick and cheap cab ride.) It is so worth it to be a bit outside La Fortuna if you are looking for quiet, wildlife, and respite.
Our experience at Kokoro balanced some of the less positive experiences we had in Costa Rica; Kokoro serves as an outstanding example of a gem-like small hotel that is run immaculately by friendly owners and management. If we go back to Costa Rica, we will return to Kokoro, but we will definitely stay longer than two nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was very impressed with the Kokoro Resort. The guest rooms are huge and have 4 large windows with tinted glass each on different walls. I liked the eco-design and use of timber. My room had a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV, fridge, how-water shower. The resort's gardens are beautiful, with a nice cool water pool plus of course the volcanic hot-springs for a nice warm soak.

The management and staff went above and beyond – couldn't have been nicer. I was very impressed with the standard of hospitality.

The only constructive criticisms I'd make are to suggest they put insect wire on the bathroom windows to help keep mosquitoes at bay, and perhaps to extend the range of the free Wi-Fi beyond the lobby to include the guest rooms.

For the rate I paid, I found the resort to be very good value for money. I booked directly with them via their website.

Would I stay again? Definitely! First chance I get!

Room Tip: From what I could tell, all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Kokoro for 3 nights over the holidays. The grounds are lush and beautifully landscaped. The pool and hot springs were lovely. Fernando at the front desk was a rock star. Friendly, helpful and resourceful. All of his local recommendations were spot-on. Michael was good too. The family that owns and runs the property were actively involved with all aspects of the property. Our cabin was good, but fell short of 5-star accommodations. Perhaps it's because the rainy season was just finishing up, but our room had a slight musty smell. Towels and wet clothes never quite dried out. The mattress was too soft and gave me a sore back. It's a nice place to stay, but best to know that it's a bit rustic going in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed this beautifully landscaped hotel with its individual cabins, swimming pool and its own hot springs. It is a very large property magnificently landscaped and maintained. There is a friendly lobby where there is a community like feeling with Fernando behind the desk, always helpful and serving also as a concierege. A very large breakfast is included with the room. Our room was spacious with two comfortable queen beds. I recommend this hotel without reservation

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at Kokoro for 3 nights. The grounds were beautiful and very well kept. The pool was sparkling and the room was huge and spotless. I can not say enough about Fernando and Micheal. Both went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. They knew lots about the area and answered all of our questions, yet we never felt pressured to book tours through them. The breakfast was delicious each morning. The best part was having hot springs right on the property. I am so glad we chose Kokoro. I highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at Kokoro for two nights and everything was smooth from check-in to check-out. Fernando was great, he seemed knowledgeable although he was new to the area and very helpful. We were traveling with a child and the breakfast buffet was more than sufficient even to cater to a picky eater. The staff even agreed to make us some plain scrambled eggs when they were not on the buffet table that day.
My one comment was that the staff offered to ferry us to town since we were not renting a car and while we profusely thanked them thinking they were going out of their way, we learned at checkout that they charged $8.00 per ride. No big deal, it was cheaper than a red cab, but they should have been forthcoming when offering the ride.
Other than that, the rooms were great, the bathrooms spacious, and we had a huge room that would probably fit a family of 5. Our cabin also had a great view of the volcano. The grounds are beautiful, the hot springs were relaxing and did not really smell of sulfur that much.
The breakfast was satisfying and the views were great. The cab rides were convenient into town, cost about $10-$12. The staff even gave us a ride to the local airport for a natureair flight on the day we checkout and charged us a modest $15 for it. Overall, great experience!
Tip: You have to ask the staff to clean the room/change towels. The day we asked for towels, they made the beds but forgot the towels. Nothing we couldn't fix with a short walk to the front desk, but worthwhile to keep in mind since they call themselves eco-friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms are really detatched Cabinas, we stayed at Cana Dulche, room 4 and that was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km After the Church on the Right Hand Side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kokoro Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.