We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Regina Hotel to your Saves list
Regina Hotel
150 meters west of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

From the moment we walked in the door, the manager Rocio treated us like guests in her own home. The room we had was clean, spacious and bright. The hotel is small and friendly and very conveniently located within walking distance of everything in town. The standout here is definitely the customer service though. Rocio was very knowledgeable about the available excursions and had participated in most of them first hand. She took time with us to plan our week and helped us to discover the many available activities in the area. If you are looking for a pleasant stay in a moderate price range, this is it. We look forward to visiting again in the future!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
29
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicaragua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our family really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The friendly staff were very helpful, patient, and efficient in organizing our daily adventures for the best prices and locations. We liked the location in town which allowed us to view the volcano, visit local restaurants and do some shopping. We definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I reserved this hotel directly on the hotel’s website and reconfirmed the room a few days before departure.
Upon arrival, I was welcomed by Rocio at the front desk, explained the basics and showed to my room. The room was fairly big, clean and very bright. It was furnished with two queen beds, table with stools and a long counter with some kitchen apparel and kitchen sink (which I did not use) and a closet. The bathroom was a bit dark but well kept and everything was working fine. The shower was the typical electric one and there were a few wires sticking out and making me feel a bit nervous (this was before travelling a few more days and realizing it was a regular thing in CR). The room had also airco, a tv (which I didn’t use) and a safe. The room had also a large window with a fantastic view of the volcano.
The hotel is located on the main road, which is a plus for the proximity to bars, restaurants and shops, but, at the same time, a huge drawback due to the very loud traffic noise. I did read about this before leaving and was somewhat prepared (I had earplugs) but have to admit that the noise was continuous during the whole night and louder than expected. The staff was always quite pleasant and ready to answer questions and the room was serviced daily. Breakfast was not included.
I was satisfied with this choice as it offers an excellent price quality ratio but the traffic noise should be really taken into consideration.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

the daily receptionist talks like crazy when you ask her for information and help. generally, she is a very nice person though, I think, she help me make phone calls and arrange for pricing and schedules. she wasn't too pushy. the night attendant was a little dumb. I ask him for the WIFI code and he said he doesn't know. he told me to check with the day attendant.

the hotel is decent compare to the low cost. this is an expensive town, so if you are on a budget this is a good hotel for you. it is more or less clean and accessible to many shops and restaurants in the front. I would not recommend this town at all as it is full of snotty people trying to find adventure and destroying the beautiful rainforest in their quest for adventure.

the events are over rated and over priced. you can do better in Nicaragua as the natural environment is more pristine and the cost is much lower. However, if you must come here and you are on a budget I would recommend this hotel. bon voyage.

Joe T

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Regina was an absolute pleasure.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. Any question we had was answered when we left and we'd always be greeted with a smile when we got back from our adventures. We were even told the good places to eat local food on the cheap, perfect for our budget backpacking adventures.

The room and the private bathroom were clean. The room was made up every day when we got back home. The inclusion of a safe in the room was much appreciated as well. Our room didn't have a view of La Fortuna like some of the other rooms did, but we also paid less because of it.

The staff went out of their way to book us our jeep-boat-jeep to Monteverde at a good price and even got us on a shuttle that was "booked full".

Room Tip: Ask about the local sodas if you want good food on the cheap ($4/meal!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We found this hotel to be a real gem. It is located near to Arenal Volcano. We actually had a wonderful view from our bedroom window on a day when it was very clear. The staff in this hotel are very kind and well informed. They made staying in the hotel a wonderful experience. The Manageress is a very kind and informative person when it comes to suggesting trips. She made arrangements for trips for us, and went out of her way to suggest bird watching sites for my husband. We will go back and stay at this lovely little hotel, and see the people who helped so much to make our trip so enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of the cleanest hotels that I have stayed in in a long time. The room was large, huge bathrooms, and equipped with a refrigerator, safety deposit box, hot shower, nicely folded towels, and comfortable beds. Our front desk agent, Guidget, was extremely nice, professional, and helpful. She even made us coffee each morning.

HOWEVER, the hotel is located directly on the main street of town, and if you get a room in the front (where all but two are located), it is noisy at night until folks stop driving and go to sleep. Then, the BUSES, TRUCKS, and motorcycles, begin at 5:30 am each morning! You'd better have ear plugs or be a very sound sleeper.

The price and location are great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Address: 150 meters west of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#27 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel is centrally located, close to many restaurants, shops, adventures tours, banks, pharmacies, and other services. Each room has: cable TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, safe deposit box, private bathroom with hot water. Some of the rooms offer great views of the Arenal Volcano. We offer travelers safe, private, clean and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.