We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little place, incredible value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Regina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regina Hotel
150 meters west of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
STAY 2 NITES, 3RD FREE
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful little place, incredible value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Lonely Planet guide listed this place as "$$", which I thought was out of our budget but we checked it out anyway. Apparently $$ means $35 a night plus tax, to make $39!

It's a little over a block from the La Fortuna town square.

The lobby is beautiful and the staff were courteous, accommodating and helpful.

The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable with high thread count sheets; and with the quiet A/C on low, the humidity dropped so we got a great night's sleep.

There's a bar fridge, a kitchen sink, and a table for two, so you could set up to make sandwiches in your room to save money. The room also has a cable TV and Internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal A, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel with the tripadvisor community. We really appreciate it and it makes us happy to know our customers leave the hotel happy. All your comments help us to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    24
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
26
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I recently traveled to Costa Rica for 10 days over Christmas with my husband and his mother. I booked ALL of our lodging based on Tripadvisor reviews.

I am so, so glad I read the reviews on this place and booked based on those reviews!

Regina Hotel is located in a tiny strip mall on the main road in La Fortuna. Being the main road it get a fair amount of traffic but this is NOT a busy city. All of the rooms are on the second floor above the store front lobby, a massage place, and sushi restaurant. They offer free wifi and a computer in their lobby. We could only use the wifi in the lobby, our room was too far for the router to reach but they were willing to move us to a room that could more easily get the wifi.

Our room was the corner room that looked straight out to was should have been the volcano. We have 2-3 days opportunity to see the volcano but it rained and was super overcast the entire time. This was the biggest downside of this portion of our trip. The room however had a great balcony, kitchenette, two queen beds and a nice bathroom with shower and hot water. It was all very clean and we loved having a mini fridge to save our dinner leftovers and eat them for breakfast. If you are a light sleeper I highly recommend ear plugs. Because the room was on the corner and the building is right on the main road, the cars can be a bit noise especially the motorbikes. I slept with earplugs and was perfectly happy!

The woman at the front desk was super helpful and friendly, as was everyone we felt with at the hotel. My husband even forgot his money belt with passport and cash in the room. They did everything to contact us. Unfortunately our cell phones didn't work and we didn't have internet until e couple days later. But we were able to go back to the hotel a few days later and pick up the passport with all of the cash in the pouch!

For the price this is an amazing deal! We truly enjoyed the hotel! We booked two rooms (one for me and my husband and one for my MIL). Our corner room was slightly bigger so we were able to play some card games on the table in the kitchen area.

We ate at the Chicken restaurant right across the street from the hotel. The food was quite good and the portions were much bigger than expected. The Soda down the street and just off the main road to the right and then on the left was also really good.

Room Tip: The corner room if you don't mind a little street noise at night and if you don't need the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal A, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about us, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The rooms in the Regina Hotel are spacious, comfortable, and clean and come with the extra bonuses of a small fridge and counter-top w/sink and in-room safe. Those kind of amenities are not often found in Costa Rica budget hotels. My room had a full-on view of the volcano too. Let me just say that while this might be a "budget hotel," it really isn't; it's certainly better than a Motel 6 !! Oh... and the staff is just wonderful! Costa Rica is a pretty noisy country and this hotel sits on the main road. So warning: it gets noisy, bring earplugs if you want to sleep in (which with the earplugs is quite easy since the hotel room has black-out curtains, yeah!).

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a (really) good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolf022, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about Regina Hotel, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Regina exceeded my expectations in every way. The hotel is right in town, with plenty of restaurants and grocery stores around. For $34, I had a huge, new-looking room with a wall-to-wall window facing the volcano, two comfortable queen-size beds (with high-quality sheets!), a little kitchen area with a sink and a fridge, a big, clean bathroom with a good shower and lots of hot water. The air conditioning was modern and efficient. Rocio (sp?) and Gigi at the desk seemed to actually care about my having a good time. Gigi was patient in helping me sort out my choices of attractions. (Note that this was in Spanish--I don't think she speaks English.) This is a hotel that I would expect to pay at least $150 per night for in Canada.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolf022, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We want to say thank you so much for taking the time to write about Regina Hotel, opinions like yours will help travelers., hopping to see you again. Regina Hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Peninsula, ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights and found it to be very clean, a great location and good value. The only thing I can say is that if you are a light sleeper, take earplugs because the main street (which all the rooms face) has quite a bit of traffic in the evenings and night and it can be loud.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolf022, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for staying at Regina Hotel and taking the time to write about the hotel. We really appreciate it.
We are very sorry about the traffic and I just wanted to clarify that not all rooms face to the street just the one with volcano view and Balcony. We also have rooms on the back side that are quieter.
We hope you visit us again and give us the opportunity to serve you as you deserve.

Thank you very much"
Regina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The main manager/receptionist Rocio was a absolutely fabulous. She was helpful with recommendations on what to do, where to go, and what to ask for. She also helped me confirm several reservations, and even practiced some Spanish with me. She'll be honest with you on what attractions are fun and when. The room is spacious, clean, comfortable, and very reasonable.

It was a fantastic stay.

Cars do come cruising by pretty fast and loud, but I sleep like a rock so it didn't bother me - is the only negative.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal A, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, this will help us to be better everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Four of us shared a room for one night after reading about it on tripadvisor. We arrived with no reservations but it was off season,(august) and had no trouble getting a room. There was plenty of room for two couples with a huge wrap around balcony which provided an awesome view of the volcano...and we were lucky because we had a clear day and could see the top! Loved how clean everything was. Every one there was most helpful, giving us information about the volcano and hot springs as well as providing us a coffee pot as we were leaving early the next morning. The price was right and I have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get the end room with the wrap around deck....great volcano view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolf022, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive hotel review referring to your recent stay.
We are delighted to read your review in TripAdvisor. We really appreciate that you have shared your comments with us and the Trip Advisor community. .
It is rewarding to know that our team members provided you with a great customer service experience.
Atte:
Rocio Vargas
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Address: 150 meters west of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#26 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel is centrally located, close to many restaurants, shops, adventures tours, banks, pharmacies, and other services. Each room has: cable TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, safe deposit box, private bathroom with hot water. Some of the rooms offer great views of the Arenal Volcano. We offer travelers safe, private, clean and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.