We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Queen of Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Regina Hotel to your Saves list
Regina Hotel
150 meters west of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Mechanicville, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Queen of Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Arenal/LaFortuna area is a hub of activity, and since we are travelers that like to immerse ourselves in the culture rather than stay at an isolated resort, the Regina Hotel was the perfect spot. This charming hotel had so many positive aspects it is hard to list them all in one review. Situated at the edge of town, Regina has the advantage of an unobstructed view of the magnificent Arenal, combined with being able to safely walk out-the-door into a vibrant, quaint, but all-inclusive Costa Rican town. LaFortuna has parks, library, banks, stores, churches, restaurants and cantinas. Although we could've sorted through all the wonderful options of restaurants, activities or adventures ourselves, instead we relied on the very experienced multi-lingual staff at the Regina who were extremely knowledgeable about a broad array of local options. The staff has actually experienced most “things to do”, and not only were they able to offer the best discounts, but more importantly they helped us pick the tour and level of activity that maximized our enjoyment. Every tour operator that picked us up at the Regina knew that the hotel staff would follow-up with them after every excursion to assure that we had the best experience. The queen of the Regina is the manager Rocio, who during our 10 day stay expertly guided us to adventure after adventure, and meal after meal that will provide us 10 years of memories. After learning of our joy of eating Tican food, she took us shopping for ingredients and graciously gave us a gourmet-level cooking class in her home. The room fridge kept our beverages wonderfully chilled, the air conditioner quickly took the humidity out of the air to make our immaculately clean room and surroundings an oasis after each day's activity. The around-the-clock staffing, always made this in-town hotel feel safe. In a comforting way, part of the charm, was the periodic bustling traffic sounds, combined with the staff attentiveness. We quickly became immersed in the community starting each morning with a delicious choice of typical or full-course breakfasts at the famous LaChoza restaurant next door, which is an highly recommended, inexpensive, room-rate add-on. Having local coffee craft-brewed at your table is a joyous start to any day. This was our third visit to this unique area, and our second stay at Regina. It will not be our last.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two rooms that have an unobstructed Volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
29
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed at Regina for 2 nights. I think the hotel is a good value. This is an independent locally owned place, not a part of an international chain.
The room was very clean. It had a fridge and adequate furnishings. Plumbing/bathroom was good by local standards, although coming from the US it seemed a bit iffy. The staff was helpful (arranged trips, helped with directions, phone calls, etc.) During the day/early evening I could use a computer in the lobby, which was handy. The hotel is located across the street from several good restaurants and within easy walking distance to the city center, shops, etc.
I agree with other reviews that noise from the street can be a problem. Personally, I did not have trouble sleeping, especially after all this hiking and zipping, but I can see how a light sleeper could have. The hotel is located on the main street and noise travels well. In the end you get used to it, though. I'd expect that most hotels on the main street have the same problem, given that they all seem to be constructed in a similar way.
In short, this is not a luxury hotel by any means, but if you are looking for a clean, safe, and conveniently located place for a low price I'd consider it.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper perhaps request a room away from the main street or look for a place o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

On traveling to La Fortuna And staying in the Regina Hotel my girl friend and I could not sleep because of the thin walls and the trafic 20 feet away on the street.The hotel is on a hill and trucks are VERY noisey. The girl at the desk, Rocio, was very friendly to me, flirtatious really untill she realized I was traveling with my girlfriend. I am not saying she was rude but she was cold to say the least. There is no hot water and the balcony is 3 feet wide and therefore unusable. I do not recomend this hotel

Room Tip: Walk down the street a little, there are better and cheaper hotels
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolf022, General Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Dear Sir Billy,

First of all I want to thank you for having stayed at the Regina Hotel and give a rating of 3, as in all the places there will be always more expensive and cheaper hotels.

Our rooms have a good price as it is difficult to find a room for $ 35 for 2 persons with maid service, security guard, parking, A / C, safety deposit boxes, cable TV, private bathroom with hot water, Internet in rooms and a computer at the reception for guests use, mini-bar, kitchenette and 2 QUEEN BEDS.

There are many cheaper places as you say, but their rooms do not compare with our rooms, and all the services that we provide, Our hotel is very safe and clean, also we have security cameras for our guest’s safety.

We are sorry that Regina hotel has not met your expectations. I think the balconies are comfortable and roomy enough, in that you have chairs/tables for use. It is not true that the rooms do not have hot water because all the rooms have hot water.

We try to provide the best service to our customers as you can see from the comments of other reviews. I'm sorry that you have mistaken kindness with flirtatious. I do not know on what basis you to make such a claim, but I'm 100% sure you are wrong and it was a misunderstanding on your part.
Thank you very much. Rocio V. Manager of Regina Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celebration, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

I just had my 2nd stay at the Regina Hotel in La Fortuna, near the Arenal Volcano. Not only is the hotel incredibly clean and functional, but the staff becomes your travel planner, only suggesting right fit tours for your situation, they cheer you on to do things you'll enjoy and make you feel at home every step of the way! From tracking lost water shoes, to planning excursions that fit my family's needs, to chasing down a tour provider who should have cancelled a tour due to rain, to teaching us how to cook Costa Rican food to finding a massage therapist who would do massages in a private cabana in the open air with the sound of rain and crickets, the staff there (especially Rocio) is incredible!!! When going to Costa Rica you are there to enjoy the adventures, beautiful surroundings, food and people and the Hotel Regina staff allows you to focus on what's important and gives you a reasonable and comfortable place to stay with a "welcome home" touch!

Room Tip: Try to get a volcano view and a room that's not on the main street as it gets noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Comfortable and clean, excellent location close to everything in La Fortuna.
Very helpful staff, especially Rocío at the front desk, she is the best!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Within walking distance to almost everything in La Fortuna.
If you're in La Fortuna stay here for a few..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were booked in a different hotel in La Fortuna for 4 nights but after the first night went to look around at other accomodations. Of the 10 places we visited, HR got the nod.
What a great decision, it was $10 less a night, cleaner, larger, better view, and the icing on the cake... The best service ever. (Rocio, we miss you)
They will make all the proper recommendations to let you get the most out of your trip to The Arenal Area and give you better prices than anywhere else.
This is not a swanky $250/night hotel for your typical rich tourists, but if you need a clean, nice place to stay for around $50/night, you cant do better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Address: 150 meters west of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#29 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel is centrally located, close to many restaurants, shops, adventures tours, banks, pharmacies, and other services. Each room has: cable TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, safe deposit box, private bathroom with hot water. Some of the rooms offer great views of the Arenal Volcano. We offer travelers safe, private, clean and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.