We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to it's reputation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Save Saved
You added Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat to your Saves list
500 meters south of Super Kiki, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Coppell, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lived up to it's reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Debbie and Steve and their staff have customer service down pat! We chose this retreat because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed eating breakfast and dinner in their Lava Lizard restaurant with other Leaves and Lizards guest. There are many things to do even with the volcano not active at this time. We enjoyed horse back riding to the waterfalls and swimming there too. Ours guides were non-stop information about the area animals, birds, and culture. We visited the Cano Negro with an excellent guide (Robert) and the boat guide too who spotted many animals in the river.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    41
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
237
146
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked a week of lodging and activities with Leaves and Lizards and had a blast! All of our activities, meals, and transportation were organized by them so we could just have a fun vacation without really worrying about logistics. In addition, they have a great restaurant where you can socialize with your cabin neighbors and get a taste of local food. I highly recommend the horseback ride to the waterfall and river rafting! I can't recommend this place enough, Debbie and Steve really have this hotel thing figured out!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The people who said Leaves and Lizards was the best part of their Costa Rica vacation were right!!! There is plenty to do in the Arenal area too. We could go back again and do all new things (except we would INSIST on doing the horseback riding tour with Enrique again). We did not rent a car--just paid for transportation--that was no problem for us. We loved watching the birds in all the bird feeders every morning at breakfast, and the dinners in the restaurant were spectacular. It was so much nicer than staying in a touristy town. Great for couples or families. I love what Steve and Debbie are doing to support the local Costa Rican families and ecosystems. We chose adventure tours most mornings and relaxing with a book in a rocking chair in the afternoons. Fabulous place with all the US conveniences you miss in many hotels in Costa Rica. Service is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a great place!! My wife and I found this spot while researching the Arenal Volcano area, looked at info on the internet, and booked three nights. We expected L and L to be pretty neat - boy were our expectations exceeded! First of all, I'll warn you that the road into the property is a bit rugged to say the least. 4 wheel drive is required. Also, I recommend arrival before dark as Costa Rican roads aren't well marked (understatement). However, quickly get past that and arrive in paradise. First of all, Debbie and Steve are great hosts - really cool people that fled the rat race in the U.S. We stayed in the Volcano cabin, one of the first they constructed when they started L and L, and it was awesome. The view of the volcano can't be beat - both from inside the cabin (picture window) and out on the large porch. I unwound immediately in that environment! The dining "hall" was a treat. It was open on one side overlooking the cloud forest / volcano with lots of birds gathering in the bushes nearby. The tables were arranged differently each night so you could get to know the other guests (and the owners) on a personal level. And the food - absolutely great!! Alot of the food is grown on the property and the dishes are tasty. The staff, all locals, were so kind and pleasant. I arrived with a pretty bad cold, and they prepared a special tea just for me and my cough. We ate both breakfast and dinner there every day and were not disappointed at all. Debbie also arranged two excursions for us. One was to a local hot springs site where we both had massages and access to the pools for the entire day..........and believe me it was a bargain. The other was to the Mundo Aventura (sp?) zip lines. Don't leave the area without doing this - what a rush and their staff was amazing too. Best of all, these excursions were billed to us through L and L, so it was hassle free. Bottom line this was an amazing experience as other reviewers have said, and WE WILL BE BACK!!

Room Tip: Stay in Volcano, Toucan or Monkey if you can - great cabins. Next time I want Toucan and that outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This vacation was to celebrate my daughters sweet sixteen! We had a wonderful experience! We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay! We loved having breakfast outside hearing the birds and taking in the scenery! The staff was great! We had the best 5 hour plus horseback excursion that was priceless! Enrique and chito were great guides. We saw a sloth,a family of howler monkeys, a poison dart frog and a toucan. Enjoyed lunch at a private waterfall and learned about the rain forest and the animals that live there! Milking the cow and seeing all of the farm animals was fun! We were lucky enough to be there when there was a litter of baby pigs! Far from the airport but close enough to soo many exciting things to do. His is a great place to go to leave your worries behind! Beds were comfy! Fresh milk and juice delivered each morning! Definitely a great destination spot off the beaten path!!!! For families or couples!

Room Tip: Great view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Returned from an AMAZING trip to Costa Rica and am still in awe at my experience. Leaves and Lizards was beyond my expectations, I have absolutely no complaints. Owners Debbie and Steve are an inspiration. They are unbelievable hosts and run an amazing resort. Some of my favorite things: views of the volcano right off your porch, hammocks, quiet atmosphere, exotic birds feasting on fruit as you eat breakfast, the FOOD!, the comfort and quality of the cabins, activities offered (I participated in an equine trek and would HIGHLY recommend it), and the wonderful, friendly local people. I hope to one day go back and bring my family to share in the beauty of Costa Rica. Its an absolute dream!!!

Room Tip: They're all amazing. I stayed in Coco Cabin and it was a really short walk to the dining lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Hard to find. Better have four wheel drive. Roads around it are horrible. Long winding road from SJO airport (3-4 hours). But the place is incredible. Great views of the volcano. Great 6 hour horseback ride to a beautiful private waterfall. Great breakfasts and dinners overlooking the volcano. Once in a lifetime experience. So much to do in the area

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Address: 500 meters south of Super Kiki, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.