We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
500 meters south of Super Kiki, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“An Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a fabulous experience with warm generous hosts and welcoming staff.The accommodation was lush, each cabin had spectacular views of Arenal Volcano. Our hosts organised a horse trek through the local areas and farmlands ,meeting the locals and sharing their culture. I loved it!! we learnt a great deal about the animals/ wildlife and history from the guides.There was also time to just relax if thats what you wanted. Nothing seemed to be a problem .Thanks

Room Tip: all rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    41
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
229
143
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a wonderful small retreat that is worth the extra drive to get to. Once there you will find wonderful people with spectacular views and all the activities you want, either on the property or a short drive to La Fortunate. The meals are fantastic. I will definitely be back, hopefully many times.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was a nine day trek on horseback. We have very beginners with us and they had not one issue. We still could gallop while they walked. We held a sloth on the very first day. We went swimming with our horses. This was great fun. Each day was a planed adventure. It never rained during the ride only at night!
The horses are the best well trained. They all went in the Doctor Cooks bit less bridle and that made it all the more special. Debbie and Steve the owners and the staff, guides, cooks. Take Te time you need. the service was wonderful. food was delicious. I will be going back again each time I see more of this beautiful country and its people. Thank you so much for this wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed there at end of Dec as part of a three week vacation in Costa Rica.

Make sure you have a 4x4 if you intend to drive there – we ordered one but ended up with a normal car which could barely cope with the easiest route in to L & L so every time you leave or go back was an ‘experience’ !

It is in a lovely place, well away from La Fortuna, which is rammed with tourists and pretty unattractive. Also would far rather have stayed here than some of the mass market offers in and around Arenal.

We stayed at Volcano Cabin, and the views of the Volcano (which revealed itself on Day 2) were quite simply awesome. The room itself is ok, certainly not luxurious, but basic and nice. There are quite a few bugs, but you are in the jungle! There are no curtains so you wake up at light (5.30am!) but it is worth it for when you wake up and the first thing you see is the volcano!

Debbie and Steve, the owners, are very helpful and very nice.

One thing we didn’t really get it the dinners, where you are grouped together with other people. Especially strange when the owners get to eat on their own table! I guess this may work better for families rather than couples....but that was enough to make us eat at other places for the remainder of our stay.

Its a lovely place for families, but not sure I would recommend for couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

So we just got back from costa rica and the leaves and lizards,congo villa was the highlight,debbie,steve and oscar know their stuff,if you want to milk a cow see nicolas.
great place just remember to rent a 4x4 car and engage it as you leave the highway then its a great 20 min drive.
thanks guys
Gary from Zimbabwe
Tiffany from Canada
Both now living in Key West Fl

Room Tip: congo room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Leaves & Lizzards was an experience. It is a long way off the paved road so can be somewhat nerve-racking as to whether you are lost or not. We stayed in the Hummingbird Hacienda for 3 nights between Christmas and New Year with my wife and I along with our 2 children 6 and 9. We got a great warm welcome from Oscar who gave a great introduction to the site. The Hacienda is the furthest away from the restaurant at the hotel and is quite a walk (we had elected not to hire a car in Costa Rica) especially in the rain which seemed to be hourly occurrence. The hotel was kind enough to offer us a ride back on several evenings when the rain was heavy.
The rooms were nice and would have been perfect had it not been for the ants. It is the jungle so there is little that you can do but it can be somewhat disconcerting having ant trails in the room. Some details were missing, we had 2 beers provided in our fridge for the first night although these were not present on subsequent nights. There is a small market on the way into the hotel and they did not sell beer which was disappointing and left you having to pay hotel prices for the beer. 2 ply toilet paper was in our room on the first night (a luxury in Costa Rica) although this disappeared on the second night and was replaced with the 1 ply. Very weird. Debbie and Steve the owners make their presence visible at meal times and they seemed to eat in the restaurant at their own table. It felt like a watchful eye to make sure that the children did not misbehave…
There are some significant redeeming features. Milking the cow at 7am every morning was an experience that the kids won’t forget. The tour guide Leo was fantastic and we had 2 extraordinary days with him, one in the Jungle and another going up a river close to Nicaragua.
I’m glad we went but I doubt we would go back.

Room Tip: Hummingbird Hacienda is the only one with a Kitchen. Don't go for the views of the volcano. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We are a family of 5 (2 adults and three kids - two 17-year old and an 18-year old). We travelled to Costa Rica from Dec 21-31, 2012. During this time, we stayed at Leaves and Lizards for 3 nights. We really enjoyed our stay at Leaves and Lizards. The owners are Debbie and Steve and they are wonderful hosts. Here is our review:
Room: we stayed at the Congo room; the room was very clean and spacious. We had two Queen size beds and a single. The room is very clean, we had everything we needed: towels, shampoo, conditioner, hair conditioner, a safe, flash flight, 2 ceiling fans, coffee maker, microwave, a few utensils/plates/mugs, even ear plugs were available for those who might need them, games, books and they have thought of everything. The room had huge windows, we have a great view of the rainforest and we can see the volcano if it was not so cloudy. There was a lot of privacy; we are surrounded by beautiful trees and plants. Also a beautiful balcony with chairs and hammocks for relaxation.
Foods:
Breakfast was the best meal of the day for $4 pp, there is a different menu each day from delicious blueberry pancakes to omelets to your liking, you had so much food and so delicious with fresh fruits and everything you ever want, I recommend that everyone needs to take advantage of this opportunity.
Dinner: Was also so delicious. We took advantage of the happy hour for discounted drinks. Debbie switched the table around so you will sit with new people and it’s a great way to meet other guests at the lodge.
Activities on site:
Farm visit: We enjoyed the 7AM visit at the farm where our kids get to milk a cow, hold baby pigs and pet horses. What a wonderful experience!
Horse riding adventure:
The hosts: Debbie & Steve: The best thing about Leaves and Lizards is the hospitality of the hosts. Debbie and Steve are wonderful people. They made us feel welcome even before we arrived. As soon as we arrived, they made us feel at home. They gave us advice on what to do and how to do it. They came to dinner each night to make sure all the guests have access to them in case they have questions or concerns. During our stay our two girls got a stomach flu, Debbie was so great; she gave us soup, 7-Up and crackers for the girls. She got her staff (Florie and Maria) to give them therapeutic massages as well as their special tea. On this trip we were also celebrating our 17-year old twins birthday. Debbie arranged to make two cakes complete with candles plus she got us to send her photos and put together a slide show for them. It was a nice surprise for them. Again, Debbie and Steve were so great getting everything ready to make sure that everything went smoothly. You can tell that they really want to please their guests; they definitely deserve A+ for customer service. This reflects on how quickly their lodge is booked up so if you are interested, you better book at least 8 months in advance otherwise you might not get a room particularly in high season.
The Staff: They are very polite and pleasant, great staff!
Laundry service: we are so thankful for this service as we have 3 kids with lots of dirty and wet clothes and we are so glad they have this service.

We would return to Leaves and Lizards and we highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a different experience in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Address: 500 meters south of Super Kiki, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat to your Saves list