We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle hideaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Save
You added Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat to your Saves list
500 meters south of Super Kiki, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
241
145
21
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

The last few km of 4x4 road are rough, but worth it to take you literally off the beaten (tourist) track. When we did pass through La Fortuna on our way to some tours, we were so glad we were staying at L&L. The privacy of and the views from the casitas are awesome. I would highly recommend the tour of local dairy farm. Our children, ages 6 & 8, had a fantastic day! The host family was very relaxed and accommodating (shielding sensitive 6 yo witness cleaning of tilapia we caught in their pond and then ate for lunch). The zip line, at ~15-20 feet in the air, was just enough to give the kids the thrill of a zip line. The horses, named Canelo (its color) and Perezoso (Spanish for sloth, and entirely appropriate) had a great demeanor for novice horsepeople. And of course, we saw the dairy barn, milked a cow and made fresh cheese, which we ate with tortillas that we also made (after instruction). If it seems pricey, just consider how much you would pay for horse riding at home... that plus all the other activities and knowing that you are supporting local families instead of the corporations that attract the majority of tourist dollars, make it money well spent. Pura Vida!

  • Liked — privacy, view, so many plantings and more to come that attract wildlife
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

I was lucky enough to spend two wonderful weeks at Leaves and Lizards. Every morning I awoke to birds singing, hummingbirds flitting about, toucans soaring past, and a wonderful direct view or the Arenal Volcano. Debbie and Steve were great hosts and made me feel like part of their family. Horsebackriding is onsite and the other tour options were about 40 minutes away. The rafting and the rappeling were my two favorites. I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Liked — The view, the hosts, the remoteness. It felt like "real Costa Rica"
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

What a wonderful friendly and accommodating couple! They are from Florida. They really try to meet all your needs to make your stay comfortable and memorable (they are relatively new and perfecting more all the time). We had fun conversations, a great breakfast each morning is included, beautiful views from the cabins, views of the valcano on a clear day, pillow top mattress bed (which was a complete blessing to have in central america), and plenty of activities to do. You can be as active in nature or as relaxed in your hammock enjoying nature's beauty, tucans, humming birds, monkeys, horses, etc. etc. Go visit, you will enjoy yourself!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

I had a great time. Everyone was extremely friendly. Debbie and Steve went out of their way to accomodate us in any way to make sure we were able to explore and do as much as we can on our trip. Leaves and Lizzards have many contacts for travel guides that know the best places to go. They have experienced many obstacles, such as repelling down waterfalls to hiking around the volcano, themselves, which allows them to show us the places worth our time.
Waking up to freshly cooked breakfast and fresh squeezed juice was a treat we looked forward to every morning, while waking up to a gorgeous view of the volcano. In my opinion, Leaves and Lizzards is the only way to go in Costa Rica.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — the rough roads leading up to Leaves and Lizzards... but its worth it!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

Our first stop on our two week trip in Costa Rica. This is a great place if you are looking for horseback riding and relaxation and you don't want to stay in La Fortuna. It is located approximately 40 minutes drive from La Fortuna in a town called Monterrey. Our hosts Debbie and Steve were very accomodating and the food was delicious and the cabins very clean. We enjoyed the Arenal area and stopped at Eco termales on our way to their house for hot springs and dinner which Debbie so kindly booked for us and it was amazing. Hiked Arenal
National Park and soaked at Tabacon the following day and had dinner with them that night and dinner was fantastic! If you are looking for a stay off the beaten path but is still fairly close to La Fortuna and the volcano than this is your destination. They also offer tours, reasonably priced massages on site and truly are great hosts. Just ensure you have a 4x4 vehicle as the gravel roads are crazy!!!.

  • Liked — remoteness and quiet
  • Disliked — bugs in the room at night if you have the light on but Debbie is buying netting so it should be fine for future visitors
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaRicaSteveandDeb, Owner at Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, responded to this review, April 29, 2007
Hey, thanks for the advice! Most of our guests enjoy reading at night. The new mosquito netting over the beds adds romance and a barrier for the moths that are attracted to the reading light. -Steve and Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2007

The stay we had with Steve and Debbie was great. We had just come from the humid Pacific coast and the weather at their place was breezy, cool at night and in the 70's during the day.

The cabins were new with modern bathrooms, large tile shower and exotic wood floors and a huge picture window looking out over the porch and a great view of the volcano.

Debbie suggested several things for us to do including the zip lines. ( it did not cure my fear of heights).
I personally had more fun riding their horses and visiting the waterfalls and jungles on the farms of their neighbors.
I was amazed at the trail that Orlando, their neighbor had created through the rainforest jungle on his farm. It was a mile long engineering marvel and he apparantly had built it all himself. We got photos of a white faced monkey, sloth, leaf cutter ants, huge jungle trees, poison dart frogs and lots of volcano photos.

They catered to our schedule, nothing was set in stone, the meals were great and the only regret we had was having to leave. Pura Vida!

G. Cross
Georgia, USA

  • Liked — see review
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Address: 500 meters south of Super Kiki, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.