We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem: friendly, well managed, beautiful surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villas Vista Arenal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villas Vista Arenal to your Saves list
Hotel Villas Vista Arenal
San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 3345, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
travelling
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“A real gem: friendly, well managed, beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's my very first all 5star-rating! (May be I've been a bit lucky, too.)

Nice cabins located in beautiful garden-like surroundings with perfect view to the volcano.
Animals, birds, hummingbirds passing by when you sit on your veranda and enjoy...
All cabins seem newly renovated, offer very clean room and bathroom, AC, fridge, TV, table and chairs on a little veranda.
The place also offers a free breakfast, a small pool, a cheap and basic restaurant onsite and good wireless connection in all cabins.
It's well professionally family run, what you will love as soon as you have a wish.
All this for small money (we've been here in low season), just slightly more than the hostels nearby

Only small cons:
Tours offered and the laundry service seems a bit more expensive than at competitors.
There could be more light in the room (only a small lightbulb)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We opted to not rent a car in Costa Rica and the location of this hotel was great - about a 7-10 minute walk to town meant that we could get food anytime we wanted but didn't have to deal with the traffic and noise that comes with La Fortuna. We even hiked all the way to the La Fortuna waterfall one day. Now, we are the kind of people that enjoy "rustic" accommodations, but I was not expecting to have a faucet with a broken hot water knob or pillows that felt like they were stuffed with newspaper. Breakfast was not memorable, though the tico-style breakfast was significantly better than the American one. I paid $65 cash and had asked for a larger cabin but was given a smaller one, so it seems like the room rates are assessed randomly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

What a find off the main road. I have not stayed in the area before so not sure how the hotel compares to others. Pro: Great price, view of volcano and lake from front deck of hotel. Friendly staff and owner. Hiking trail outside of room. Cons-Food is ok, but maybe it's just me.

Please drive the extra kilometers to enjoy the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I stayed here with a friend for spring break. We werent looking for a really wild spring break experience but this place was too quiet for us. There's no central lounge or hangout area. The rooms were fine but there were some ants. I will say that it was nice that the showers had pressure and were hot. The breakfast, which was included, was delicious and the front desk was pretty helpful if we had questions. All and all the accomodations were fine but too quiet.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Hudson Valley, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

With a nice view of the Arenal volcano and within a long walk to the town of La Fortuna (about 1/2 mile), the traveler has a choice of two cabins. The small one ($40 plus tax in March 2011, includes breakfast) and the large ($55 plus tax in March 2011, includes breakfast) both offer a good value for the money in the touristy town of La Fortuna. The larger, where my wife and I stayed featured a large bathroom, a TV and air conditioning. It was clean and comfortable and you can even drive your rented car right up to the cabin and park. The two separate beds were comforable and there was ample storage space. The home cooked breakfast in the outdoor cafe near the front was especially good. Recommended for the economical traveler.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in Cabin 3 and enjoyed our stay here. You cannot beat the location: ~5-10 minute walk from downtown La Fortuna. The staff was incredibly helpful, they booked tours for us and called taxis for us and explained to the drivers exactly where we wanted to go (we cannot speak Spanish). There is a small restaurant with a limited menu, but the food was delicious. The rooms contain air conditioning and television. The pool is nice and it has an incredible view of the volcano (although, it is not facing the side of the volcano that erupts). They have laundry service which is great- five shirts cost us ~$5. Our only complaint was the bathroom was a bit dirty, and when we ran the shower there was water spraying from the wall. All in all, great place in a great location at a great price.



REMEMBER: $45/night if you pay by cash, $55/night is you pay with credit. I knew this and forgot this information when checking in, and they could not refund the credit card transaction.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland Lake, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Decided to stay here after reading other TripAdvisor reviews. This place did not disappoint! For $45/night, including breakfast for two, it was a great deal. It was close enough to Town to walk (5-10 minutes) but far enough away to be tranquil. We stayed in one of the newer cabins in the back, so it was far enough from the road that we didn't hear much. The cabins were great, two big beds, AC, TV (not that we used it), shower/tub, small secluded patio, etc. Nice pool with a great volcano view. Entire staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to other travelers!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villas Vista Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vista Arenal

Address: San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 3345, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arenal! We have very naturistic log cabins that are private and in large open spaces. Beauty is all around us! Very close to the city center of fortuna, only 5 minute walk to the park. Very clean rooms that sleep 4 to 8 people people depending on size of the room you choose. Great American or Costa Rican breakfast included from 630am to 10am. Come experience Arenal with us and we can make your trip a great experience! See you soon.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villas Vista Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vista Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villas Vista Arenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.