We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What More Do You Need?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“What More Do You Need?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Simply put there is no reason to stay some place more expensive. This has all we could have asked for: great location, service, attention to detail and the food was pretty darn good, too!
Just a question, though the Hot Springs they have are wonderful, its 95 degrees outside??
We were here for 25th Anniversary with our 18 & 21 y.o children, who each brought a friend. We were all blown away!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    210
    30
    4
    3
See reviews for
447
587
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

For the price this place was excellent and surpassed all expectations. the spa was wonderful we were the only ones using it about 10 PM and volcano spit out some smoke and rumbled while were were in it . staff was very friendly. we went to town for dinner but should have just stayed there. Grounds were gorgeous and so well kept up

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We picked El Silencio del Campo based on other TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. For the price we paid (not cheap, but not super expensive), we were pleased with the facilities, the hot springs, and especially the spa services and free facial. The welcome drink was another nice touch. We both got spa treatments that were fantastic, and a great bargain.

While the hotel's service was exceptional on the surface, we did experience some issues booking tours. First, the hotel couldn't match the tour company's published prices, but after they told us about their commission structure and how they would get very little money booking us at the published price, we agreed to help them out and book anyway at a higher price. Then they still couldn't book us and asked us to book another day after we would already be gone. Finally, we were getting pretty frustrated and told the guy we would put a tip in the giant tip jar and just book it ourselves. He tapped the side of the tip jar and said that it would be fine. We ended up booking the tour ourselves online and had no problems booking the date we wanted.

While I genuinely believe the guy at the desk was trying to be helpful, and the tour company could have played a major role in our less-than-fantastic booking experience, it became very obvious to us (if we couldn't already tell from the giant fish bowl for tips on the counter) that some staff members were very driven by tips and tour commissions -- sometimes at the cost of service.

Other tour bookings were mostly smooth, but after a few more weird moments we really wished we had booked everything ourselves.

To be fair, we noticed some of the front desk staff members actually hid the tip jar behind the counter when they were working, and we had plenty of positive experiences with all of the staff members we encountered. Thanks to everyone at El Silencio del Campo who helped make our honeymoon in Costa Rica special!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at El Silenco for 2 nights in early June. We are in our early 30s. We were assigned room # 12, which has a perfect view of the volcano (although I imagine each bungalow had the same wonderful view). From the minute we arrived to when we left, the staff was warm and hospitable. Before booking the hotel, I emailed with staff from the hotel. They were so fast to respond and provided tons of helpful information so I can could book the hotel and activities. It made everything so much easier and gave me the impression that we would be taken care of during our stay. We weren't disappointed.

The reviews and photos posted here, as well as El Silencio's own website, do not do it justice. The grounds are peaceful and beautiful. The hot springs at the back of the property is a treat.

The spa is right near the hot springs and outdoors. We had massages both days we were there and the massages were divine. My husband's only complaint was that he needed more pressure, but he loved it as well. In comparison, we stayed at a much higher end hotel at Manuel Antonia and the massages there were atrocious. The 2 massage therapists at El Silencio were professional and soothing.

Our room was large, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom was also quite large. The only problem was that the lighting was very poor at night.

The restaurant was also lovely. Breakfast was included in the rate and we could order from a number of hot and cold options. And fresh fruit was always part of the meal as well. It was a pleasure to stay here and we are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Rita of Casa Bella Rita (http://www.casabellarita.com/), Santa Ana (Suburb of San Jose), highly recommended this place and we’re glad she did. It was simply beautiful and the staff was very courteous and inviting. We happened to arrive before check-in and the front desk worked aggressively to get our cabin ready and provide fresh tropical drinks while we waited. On short notice, the staff arranged for shuttle service and entry for the Sky Tram. The more adventurous can arrange for a zip line while there. It was truly a “rain forest” as we got drenched during our tour…but it was worth it! The cabanas are comfortable and modern and each has their very own front porch. The sinewy trails lead you through lush, green and tropical foliage. The hotel provides a hot springs swimming pool, outdoor bar, restaurant and spa treatment just to name a few of the amenities. We took advantage of a Swedish massage and it was wonderfully relaxing! Regrettably, we didn’t get to see the lava flow from Arenal Volcano; thankfully, the environment and amenities provided made up for it! We would definitely recommend staying here! (http://www.hotelsilenciodelcampo.com/)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is a really beautiful place to stay with private cabins, surrounded with lush plants, a swimming pool AND its own small hot springs. The small hot springs on site has a nice view of the volcano, and to be honest, for me, was a preferable experience to Tabacon because you have a sense of seclusion and quiet. There is also a swimming pool to cool off in. An outdoor spa area (housed in a tent, but really nicely done ambiance with candles and music and very private)

The rooms have a rustic feel (think log cabin) but modern amenities, high ceilings with fans and airconditioning, electronic safe, wifi, and tv.

Breakfast every morning is included and is delicious!! pancakes and tipico, the local bfast, were my favorites, but there were half a dozen other choices to rotate during your stay.

The staff are really friendly, speak English very well, and helpful in booking many activities (with applied discounts, including rafting trips, canyoning, ziplining as well local spas or their in-house spa), would recommend booking ahead of time if you can (ie, from the States). There's a small parking lot in the back that is secure as well.

HIghly recommended, and very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and we decided to stay at two hotels near La Fortuna. El Silencio del Campo was our "budget" hotel (we stayed at the more expensive Nayara as our "splurge" hotel). But although it cost less, our stay at El Silencio was very pleasant, and we would certainly stay there again. The best things about the hotel for us were the front desk staff (Elio especially was very helpful in answering all our questions and reserving activities for us) and the beautiful, relaxing hot springs. The room was fine; we had no complaints, although it lacked the luxury of Nayara. The grounds were beautiful, the restaurant provided a nice breakfast, and the location was perfect (close enough to town for a quick run to the store, but far enough out that you weren't right in the middle of the hustle and bustle). If you're looking for a beautiful, resort-like experience at a lower price, El Silencio del Campo is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.