We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Silencio del Campo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Amazing place, fantastic rooms, great Restaurant, but what really seperates this place from the pack is the amazing service provided by every single employee we encountered. Luis the owner has done a great job creating the perfect enviroment for travelers. We organized all our trips through them, and had an amazing time in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    900
    194
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
381
523
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Loved the place. the hot springs pool is nice, the grounds well kept. The owner and staff were excellent. Only negative is the hideous monstrosity built next door looking down on property. But, had EXCELLENT views of Arenal every day and from every part of the property.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

This hotel/resort is relaxing, beautiful, and close to so many activities. The cabins are great. If I had to do it over again, I wouldn't have visited any of the other hot springs, but just would have used the free ones at the hotel. The cabins were great, clean and spacious. The view of the volcano was great. Breakfast was amazing! And it was so fun to watch the tropical birds while eating.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights celebrating a 50th birthday. We knew that the Silencio was highly rated and we were not dissapointed in any way. It was immaculate, the bungalows are roomy, private and very comfortable. The grounds are fabulous and we greatly enjoyed the thermal pool that is on the property. the front desk staff are friendly, efficient and polite -- we enjoyed them immensly. The wait staff was attentive and the meals were very good. If we returnded to the Arenal area, we would definetly stay at the Hotel El Silncio del Campo again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Aain - not going to repeat all the good things that have already been discussed - other than to say a huge thank you to Elio - the receptionist who was the most attentive, pleasant and truly helpful hotel staff member I have ever met. He made everything about our trip to Arenal run smoothly and easily. He organised our trips and taxis at the drop of a hat and ensured that staying at this hotel with young children was very enjoyable. Loved having cocktails by the (almost always) empty hot spring. Tip - don't bother with Baldi Hot Springs - expensive and not as nice as the small hot spring at the hotel (I believe Eco Termales is much nicer). We went because we felt it was a 'must do' to visit the hot springs but found it quite an ugly place compared to the little hot spring at Silencio. Only nice thing was being surrounded by locals (it was the weekend) so no drunk tourists. Also if you are going to the waterfall go as soon as it opens and you will be treated to the place to yourself, by 10am you will be battling with other tourists to swim in the lagoon. The feeling of being the only people at the bottom of an amazing waterfall is worth getting up for. Last tip - have the brownies at Lava Lounge. Finally, thought the complimentary facial in the garden spa was fantastic - have a creamy cocktail by the hot spring after to fully pamper yourself.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at Hotel El Silencio for 2 nights in August and had a great time. Our cabin was comfortable with 2 double beds, a TV, refrigerator, and A/C, and the view of Arenal from our outdoor sitting area was spectacular. The grounds were very quiet, as it is a small hotel, and include a pool, hot spring, restaurant/bar areas, and a tented spa area. We were surprised that our stay included a complimentary mud facial - one that was found to be very relaxing. The front desk was helpful and always willing to answer our questions about area activities, despite our limited Spanish. Breakfast was good, and although dinner was available at the restaurant, we chose to eat at Hotel Linda Vista and a seafood restaurant in La Fortuna, which were both recommended by the front desk and were both excellent. We would definitely stay at Hotel El Silencio again. It was perfectly located between attractions in La Fortuna and Arenal. If you are considering going to Tabacon or The Springs for their hot springs, it's far cheaper to stay at Hotel El Silencio and visit with a day pass. That's what we did, and we were very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

There is not much more I can say about this property that hasn't been stated. Great little cabins tucked away off the main road a short way from downtown Fortuna. The only negative I can think of is that if you are bothered by road noise, you may want to request a cabin in the middle or back of the property.

We stayed in 4 different hotels while in Costa Rica, and this was our favorite. The cabins were roomy with lots of storage space, fridge, coffee maker, large bathroom with spacious shower, plenty of countertop space for all four of us. The best part was the air conditioning. Although I've read much on the forums that states you don't need air conditioning, we would disagree. The other hotels we visited were less comfortable because they lacked air.

The hot springs was a nice addition, saved us an expensive trip to one of the large springs in the area. There is a bar area adjacent to the springs to enjoy a beverage before/after your soak. Beyond the hot springs is a small spa that offered a free facial during our stay.

The made to order breakfast is fantastic. Not the typical premade buffet offerings like at many of the hotels in the area. We also had dinner there one evening as well, lots of choices and well prepared meals.

All of the staff members are friendly and helpful. The free wifi is a nice benefit as well. Although it is not available when the office is closed, so if you want internet after 9 pm or before 7 am, the connection will not work.

It's about a 5 minute cab ride to downtown, at a cost of $5.

I would highly recommend a combination of staying here as well as a few nights at Arenal Observatory Lodge to (hopefully) see lava...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side | 5km northwest from the Catholic Church on right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 98, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides offering amenities such as a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 20 individual villas with a great view of the volcano, surrounded by colorful and green gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Silencio del Campo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.